We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A peaceful getaway in a tropical paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana
Save
You added The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana to your Saves list
6776 Hana Highway, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Special Low Feb/Mar Rates
Ranked #1 of 12 Hana B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A peaceful getaway in a tropical paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The house exceeded our expectations.
Everything about it was beautiful. The lush
tropical forest provided an extra layer of privacy
and gave us the perfect escape from busy,
everyday life. The property is only conveniently located near all of the parks and beach attractions. (Black Sand Beach and the Bamboo Forest is amazing).

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
133
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

My new husband and I had an amazing time at the Hale Ulu Lulu Cottage aka Malanai. When we first arrived we were blown away by all the sweet touches that were added; flowers strewn about the cottage and beautiful Orchids in all the rooms. I felt the personal touch right away and could tell that this home really meant something to Chris and Leokane. The cottage is equipped with everything you could need, including spices! All you need is to bring your own food and your set. The home is extremely clean, which was very nice. The linen and towels were nice, fluffy, and soft. We loved our nightly visitors from the friendly Gecko's. The view from the front door is the best part. You are about 1 mile from the best beach in Hawaii! Hamoa Beach is visually stunning and so relaxing.
Chris and Leokane are great! I couldn't say enough positives about them. We lost our rental car keys on the beach and were stranded. Leokane came to our rescue and helped solve our problem. They really do care about their guest. We can't wait to return to Hana one day.

Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend trip at the Hale Ulu Lulu Cottage. This cottage is beautiful, well maintained, and has all the amenities of a home. The view out the front door is mesmerizing. Can't wait to return!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We loved this guest house. We reserved the 1 bedroom cottage. It was perfect. leokane and Chris have thought of everything a guest would need in this remote area. The cottage is decorated in a manner that reflects it's early Hawaiian origins. We love the color palate they selected that brightens up the interior. The location feels secluded despite the fact that we were only a few miles out of town. The only drawback is the distance from the water. It is a distant view from the cottage. Otherwise this lovely spot I'd definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We had a wonderful time staying at the Hale Ulu Lulu cottage for one night in April 2013. The cottage is very spacious and clean, and has a very comfortable tropical feel. Our only regret was that we did not stay longer!

Our first night we brought beach chairs and wine to nearby Hamoa beach. What a gorgeous beach! We were the last two on the beach and stayed until dusk. The next day we visited Haleakala National Park and hiked to Waimoku Falls. It was amazing and is not to be missed!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We couldn’t ask for a more romantic setting for our Hawaiian getaway. The Guest Houses at Malanai, nestled against Hana's lush tropical backdrop, are utterly charming. Our cottage was spacious, immaculate, and completely comfortable; so much better than anything a big resort could ever offer. After each full day of sightseeing (hiking at Haleakala National Park, swimming at Hamoa Beach and Venus Pool), it was a pleasure to return to our private paradise: full kitchen, comfortable bed, the works. Truly, a perfect experience. We’ll definitely be coming back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The only problem we had with our recent stay at the Guest Houses at Malanai was that we only had five nights. Our cottage, tucked privately away into a lush flower filled garden, made us feel as though we had stepped back in time to an earlier romantic era. Each piece of furniture and work of art seemed to be carefully chosen by someone who somehow knew our secret Hawaiian hideaway fantasy. Our sumptuous sliegh bed with unbelievably soft sheets was seconded only by our deep soaking tub. Usually, a place with this much character tends to lack in cleanliness, however everything was sparkling and fresh. We couldn't believe how ideal the location was: overlooking the oceanfront meadows between Hamoa Beach and Venus Pool. We are already plotting our next year's return to the magical Guest Houses at Malanai.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana

Address: 6776 Hana Highway, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two impeccably maintained, fully furnished, ocean view homes in one of Hana’s finest locations. We are directly across from the Maka’alae pasturelands and ocean and also situated within walking distance to world famous Hamoa Beach and Venus Pool. Each home is landscaped for privacy on our approximately two-acre property. We live in a separate home on the property, so you have the security of knowing that your rental is well maintained and though we honor your privacy, we make ourselves available to assist you when needed. Both of our guesthouses have stack washer/dryers, tub and shower combinations (a oversized claw foot tub in Hale Ulu Lulu and a spa tub in Hale Manu) and enjoy the convenience of “on the grid” wi-fi, electricity, free telephone to US/Canada, cable and water. We consistently receive rave reviews on our attention to detail and thoughtfully equipped homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Hotel Hana
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.