We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay In Hana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana
6776 Hana Highway, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Low July & August Rates!
Ranked #1 of 12 Hana B&B and Inns
Aurora, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay In Hana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We spent three nights in the Hale Ulu Lulu; the 1 BR 1 Bath guest house at the end of June. What an amazing time! This little house is located in one of the most beautiful places. When you look out the front windows of the cottage, or relax on the chairs in the front yard, you can enjoy an amazing view of the ocean through the coconut palms and lush greenery. The guest house is very comfortable and clean and has all the amenities you could possibly need. The owners do an amazing job of creating a magical place to vacation. It's also located close to all the Hana sites. Just keep in mind that you are visiting the rain forest. So it rains, it's humid, and there are some bugs. But Chris and Leokane go to great lengths to make sure your stay is clean, comfortable and memorable. We highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
127
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Very very clean--and we are picky. Very private cottage with one bedroom, plus kitchen and large living room with picture windows. Spacious. Very quiet. Beautiful flowers growing on property. Organized very well by owner--all on line. About 3 or 4 miles south of Hana with ocean views and huge green grass front yard. We spent one night in July. Fine without air conditioning. About 10 miles north of fabulous sacred pools area. Easy to find with owner directions.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We just returned from Maui and were fortunate enough to spend three of our nights at Hale Ulu Lulu. This gem of a place was exactly what we needed to catch the laid back, relaxing vibe of Hana. We walked to Waioka Pond (Venus Pool) and Hamoa Beach, and had both places virtually all to ourselves. It was so quiet there that we could hear the ocean waves crashing, even when inside the house.

The guest house itself is spotless, beautifully appointed, and full of thoughtful touches such as fresh flowers, Hawaiian music, beach equipment and comfy lounge chairs outside for enjoying the view.

It's a different Maui from the busy resorts of Lahaina, but it's the side of the island that I enjoyed most. Mahalo, Chris and Leokane, for providing such a wonderful place for us to experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Pasadena, CA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

My husband and I just spent 7 days here, we were visiting Hana for a family reunion. The house is in a terrific location, just down the road from beautiful Hamoa beach, and easily accessible from the Hana Hwy (this is a big selling point as many rentals are not). The house was spotlessly clean and the kitchen was beautifully equipped. The house is charmingly decorated with ocean views from each bedroom, and the large deck in front of the house. This is the perfect place if you want an off-the-grid vacation with all the comforts of home. If you do stay, don't miss Leokane's show with his group at the Hotel Hana. It was one of the highlights of our trip. If you are a bird watcher or gardening enthusiast, the grounds surrounding the house are great for strolling and trying to ID the many birds and plants.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

What can be better than relaxing in Hana? Relaxing in the properties at Malanai, lovingly cared for by Chris Harrington and Leokane Pryor.

My wife and I stayed at Hale Ulu Lulu for three nights in late May, 2012. We could not have been happier with our choice. Shortly after our arrival, Chris called to ask if anything was amiss and if we lacked anything. From him we learned that Leokane would be playing Hawai’ian music at the Hotel Hana Maui the following evening. His performance, along with that of his colleagues and their hula dancers, was a delight. We visited afterwards and learned of his family’s efforts to preserve Hana’s heritage and of his Great Uncle Sam’s connection with Charles Lindbergh.

The accommodations were tastefully decorated, the setting was perfect - blissfully quiet and relaxing - and we lacked for nothing. “Heavenly Hana ,“ is how the saying goes – stay at one of Chris and Leokane’s properties and you’ll understand why.
Glenn & Laurel Daly

Room Tip: Hale Ulu Lulu was perfect for the two of us. We met the two couples who were staying at Hale Manu an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

We arrived at the property early so we can drop our belongings off before heading to the sacred pools where we were graciously greeted by Leokane. He was more than accomadating even though he was still in the middle of cleaning up the place for our arrival. The property was beautiful and it felt just like home. Anything and everything is provided for you and the personal touches with the flowers throughout the home made it that much more special and created a personal touch that we really enjoyed. It's a perfect house that is secluded with a gorgeous view of the ocean. I really wish we could have stayed longer, but it was just a quick one night stop over before completing the roundtrip around the island. Also, they were more than gracious enough to let us stay there just one night. I'd much rather spend the money for a home rather than a hotel room and my girlfriend and I were completely satisfied with everything about the property. Thanks so much, it's an experience we'll never forget!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

The Guest Houses at Malanai is the perfect place in Hana. Laid back, unpretentious, and an amazing property that is so beautiful. If you're looking for a clean, comfortable, relaxing, and most important....affordable place to stay in Hana, this is it. The location is perfect and only 2 minute drive or 15 minute walk to the most popular beach. It has everything you need to feel at home. Great shower, Kitchen fully equipped, BBQ grill on an awesome patio, view of the ocean, and luscious trees and plants everywhere. Only 20 minutes from the National Park where you can swim in waterfalls. Also only 20 minutes away from two fun activities that we did which were the ONO Organic Farms where you can try over 20+ Organic Fruits as well as the Maui Stables which is a gorgeous Horse ride in untapped Hawaiian Wilderness. Hana is truly unique and in my opinion very underrated. On our 10 day stay in Maui where we stayed all over the Island, two of our favorite nights were at The Guest Houses at Malanai. Definitely worth it if you're staying in Hana. If you're doing the Drive to Hana, do yourself a favor and stay 2 nights and explore the area. Not many people do that and it's a mistake.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana

Address: 6776 Hana Highway, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer two impeccably maintained, fully furnished, ocean view homes in one of Hana’s finest locations. We are directly across from the Maka’alae pasturelands and ocean and also situated within walking distance to world famous Hamoa Beach and Venus Pool. Each home is landscaped for privacy on our approximately two-acre property. We live in a separate home on the property, so you have the security of knowing that your rental is well maintained and though we honor your privacy, we make ourselves available to assist you when needed. Both of our guesthouses have stack washer/dryers, tub and shower combinations (a oversized claw foot tub in Hale Ulu Lulu and a spa tub in Hale Manu) and enjoy the convenience of “on the grid” wi-fi, electricity, free telephone to US/Canada, cable and water. We consistently receive rave reviews on our attention to detail and thoughtfully equipped homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Hotel Hana
The Guest Houses At Malanai In Hana Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Guest Houses at Malanai in Hana to your Saves list