We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Luana Spa Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Luana Spa Retreat
Save
You added Luana Spa Retreat to your Saves list
5050 Uakea Road, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hana
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The yurt is a lovely place to stay, and love that outdoor shower. As part of a romantic trip on Maui for adventurists/ nature-lovers, this place is a must-stop. There are two reasons for this. The first is that it's pretty fun in its own right. The second is that if you're driving from west Maui, you'll probably want to stay a couple of nights in Hana which allows you to take your time enjoying swimming stops along Hana Highway, and a day to see the Sacred Pools past Hana.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
66
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Our first time in a yurt and we loved it ! it is like luxury camping. Expect canvas walls and screened open windows. There is a kitchenette with a microwave and hotplates ..
Delicious coffee beans are kept in the fridge so that you can grind and brew a fresh cup of coffee in the morning.
Great view. We stayed 2 nights, Could have stayed 3. The outdoor shower bathroom is very romantic with hot water ( no hot water in the yurt which makes it hard to do the dishes) but expect to share the premises with a few criters such as spiders. After all they were there before you! no snakes though. The numerous mangooses have eaten them ! There is also a hairdryer.
There is only one yurt so book in advance. We did not used any of the spa facilities which are in another yurt. We never met the owner , Nancy either, which paradoxally made us feel free. Hana is a real town not overtaken by turism . It means that restaurants or food shacks open when they want to. It is kind of hit or miss. The first morning we had hot dogs for breakfast from the local grocery stores. The second morning we went to the only luxury hotel. We preferred the hot dogs! We had a soft ball game for the whole week end from 8:00Am to 10:00PM ( no crowd noise , because no crowd) in the nearby sof ball field and it was fun meeting the people there (a place to get food too)
There is a delicious Thai food shack down the drive way with weird opening hours (closes at 4 except week ends... maybe...if they open.)
Dont miss the Anakalea National Park and a ranger led hike (usually 10:00am) to the waterfall. itself a let down of lack of water but the 3 miles hike trough bamboo forests was beautiful.and a dip in the 7 pools ( before 2:00pm if possible before the buses) By the way, Hana is rainy and cloudy but go 3 miles east of Hana and the weather is much better.
The yurt is also the best value in town.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in December 2012 and really enjoyed it. Best value for a place to stay in Hana. My wife was concerned about the toilet and shower being outside, but it proved to have all the privacy that we needed. Great views from its location on the hillside, great sounds of birds, wind and surf to bring on that relaxed feeling. The kitchenette had what we needed to handle the groceries that we bought locally. Nancy provided us with a very warm greeting and made us feel very welcome. Only issue my wife had was that we were sleeping on a futon, which she was not used to, although it did not bother me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This stay and experience in Hana was unforgettable. I highly recommend staying 2 nights or more. There is so much you have to see on the road to Hana, then you need to go over to the 7 pools and the huge waterfall and bamboo rainbow hike. You must stay at least 2 nights. The place was fantastic, the shower was perfect and her products were awesome! You get your own private oceanfront view, nobody around, private yet close to neighbors if needed. Sit at night and listen to the water sipping some refreshments with the tiki torches going.
Stay here!

Room Tip: Only one room to choose
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Hey, if you want to mix it up and talk story with real Hawaiians forget the Hana Maui hotel and their 5 figure rooms and head across the street to Luana Spa Retreat. You'll stay in a yurt perched atop of the cinder cone that is the top of Red Beach with a fantastic ocean view, all the massages you can take and good food all over. Baseball season is a big deal at the little ballpark across the street and the locals turn out with all their homemade foodstuffs like lau lau pork and spam musubi! Beats the heck out of the phony Hawaii experience.

Room Tip: There is only one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Thanks to the TripAdvisor reviews, we booked the Luana Retreat yurt for three nights this October. What a find! Hana is an expensive place to stay, and Luana Retreat is a great value here. The yurt is on Red Hill overlooking Hana Bay; such a gorgeous location and easy walking distance to the Red Sand Beach. The yurt is well equipped, with a kitchenette and an outdoor propane BBQ. The shower and toilet are in a separate adjacent building, but we did not find that to be a problem (we loved the outdoor shower). It is such a peaceful setting, and a great way to experience Hana. And be sure to have some Nutcharee's Thai food, which is at the bottom of the driveway. I highly recommend Luana Spa Retreat.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long Beach, California, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

This was the perfect place to stay overnight in Hana. It truly felt like an island vacation. This side of the island is truly amazing. The view of the yurt was postcard worthy. We were surrounded by a lush green hill. This was the most peaceful setting. I wish I would have stayed here for a couple more days. Since it is a single yurt, you have privacy. Showering outside was a memorable experience on its own.
We stayed over on a Friday and the locals were having movie night across the way at the ball park. This event was a good way to interact with the locals, which by the way, were very welcoming.
There was a lot of places to see that we're walking distance like the hasegawa store, Hana bay beach, and the red sand beach.

I would recommend this place in a heart beat!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Luana Spa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luana Spa Retreat

Address: 5050 Uakea Road, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hana
Number of rooms: 1
Also Known As:
Luana Spa Retreat Hotel Hana
Luana Spa Retreat Hana, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Luana Spa Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.