We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Accommodations

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hana Accommodations
Save
You added Hana Accommodations to your Saves list
PO Box 564, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hana
LA
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great value, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We planned to visit Hana but decided to stay there for one night instead of doing the all-day road trip from Ka'anapali. We chose this property because of its great value (we were only staying one night and needed a clean, comfy place vs. looking for luxe digs) as well as its location so close to the Venus Pool.

The Hideaway was cozy but provided what we needed for our brief stay. We weren't bothered by the noise at all from the road, which, as many reviewers have pointed out, quieted down by evening time. The private patio was nice but we didn't stay long enough to really take advantage of hanging out there, although the rest of the property was manicured and looked nice. The owner was helpful and welcomed us when we arrived. I think next time, I would opt for a detached unit. The Hideaway shares a wall with the "office," and we can hear voices and the TV, which wasn't too loud - it just made me aware that we talked loudly, our own conversations might be overheard.

I'd recommend this place if you'd like a place to stay in Hana. We'd return and try one of the other units. Staying overnight allowed us to drive to Hana in a more leisurely manner and to enjoy the various waterfalls, etc. without rushing. The next day, after watching the sun rise at the Venus Pool, we drove even farther down the highway (no other tourists in sight) to visit the Seven Sacred Pools and explored lots of other hidden gems, turning back around 36 mile marker (numbers descend).

Room Tip: The Hideaway faces the street so if you're sensitive to noise, then choose other units. We were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    27
    11
    6
    5
See reviews for
21
48
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a lovely spot. We only had one night in Hana - too bad.

Lani Too is a terrific cottage - on a lovely garden property. Nice views of the back side of Haleakala and also of the coast and the Island of Hawaii. The rooms are nicely appointed and there is a well equipped kitchen. There are two decks for enjoying outdoor eating.

This is on the 'far' side of hana a couple of miles - so it's handy for heading off to Oheo Gulch in the morning.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you do your research and look what other properties are charging, and take in to account that you can get a single night stay here and whats on offer - I don't know how you can't rate it excellent in that regard. We had a budget for a family for 4 travelling to Hana and the Lani II met it perfectly. I was clean, had everything you needed and comfortable beds. I'm not a particular heavy sleeper at all but heard no traffic noise and the curtains kept the light out. I read the website to understand it was a bath inside and only a outdoor shower, but this isn't the case there is a indoor shower also. Tom is great, friendly on arrival and then leaves you alone. No bugs either. Loved it, thank you Tom from the UK! PS he has a lovely garden worthy of a few photos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We loved the yellow Maka Kai house. Although it was just the two of us for two nights we enjoyed our 3 bedroom space immensely. Tom was great and we enjoyed the fact that we weren't bothered by anyone.
The street is directly in front of the house and there are cars coming and going starting at 5:30 am but it really didn't bother us. Internet was strong and it had all the amenities we wanted.

Room Tip: We slept in the back room with the queen bed. Helped with sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I was very pleased with this accommodation --- loved the porch out front, the simple cooking facilities, the fridge, the location, the sunrise, the proximity to Venus Pools (although there was almost no water in the pools when we went). And the price was great! Even though we were already paying for accommodations in Wailea, it was well worth the extra expense to spend the night in Hana, enjoy the ride, and the attractions beyond town, and not have to drive back in the same day. A good decision, and a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Rather difficult to find for us, but a good spot after the city of Hana. Perfect location to stay in Hana overnight, and continue further along the road past Hana on the following day. Once there, Tom provided us with a very handy map and plenty of advices to go about all the Hana's treasures. The B&B is close to town and right across from the Venus pool and the beautiful, secluded black sand beach. We stayed at the Lani Studio for our visit to Hana. The room/studio is overall in good shape although could use some updating. However, it is right on the street and the sun rises straight onto the room. With cars and sunlight, we couldn't sleep no longer and decided to made the better of the morning: early jog and swimming.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Hana hideaway during our Maui trip last November. It's located few miles past Hana, but right next to the trailhead to Venus pools. Staying here for a night gave as a early start for oheo gulch pool and other attractions past Hana. The host was nice and welcoming. The room is ok and may feel small if you've more luggage. Cooking is not possible in this room, but they have microwave and mini-refrigerator.
Overall, the room is perfect for 2 ppl and I would recommend it for the location and price of the place in Hana - if you're planning to spend 1 or 2 nights.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hana Accommodations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Accommodations

Address: PO Box 564, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hana Hotel Hana
Hana Accommodations Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Accommodations, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.