We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly staff, but way overpriced!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ka'uiki Dining Room @ Travaasa Hotel

Ka'uiki Dining Room @ Travaasa Hotel
5031 Hana Highway, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
855-868-7282
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 25 Restaurants in Hana
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Frisco, Texas, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very friendly staff, but way overpriced!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

First of all, I want to say that the staff here and all the people in Hana, for that matter, were the nicest people we met in Maui. We went on a Monday night so they had live music. We loved the two men performing and the women doing Hula. The ambiance was very nice. The food, however, was so-so. I ordered the Mahi and my friend ordered the steak. It was a VERY small portion and both were $40. Basically $40 for a very small piece of meat. I ordered a mai tai, also tasty but very average for the $15 price tag. But, it's Hana, and this is really the only fine dining restaurant in town. If we could do it over again, we would have prepared dinner beforehand on our own and had a few drinks here to enjoy the wonderful music.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    42
    34
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

The resort was awesome but the food at this restaurant was so so. Stick to the local fish and ingredients and try not to be so artistic with flavors. Some just don't go together.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Opted out.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We decided not to eat here after we saw the prices ($25.00+) a were going to be charged $10.00 to split an entree. Thought we would try the lounge for better pricing but it was the same menu. They seemto think they have a captive audience..

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

For our first night in Hana we thought we would treat ourselves to a nice dinner out at the Travaasa. Initialy our waiter was attentive. I asked for his opinion and he recommended the warm goat cheese salad. I ultimately chose this salad to go with my steak (I like to have my salad with my main instead of the standard veg). The salad consisted of 3 slices of tomato, 1 slice of goat cheese and a small tuft of micro greens (all $19 worth), hardly a nice complement to the steak. My husband and I both had the steaks and both were very overcooked. Once I indicated this to the waiter, he virtually disappeared until it was time to give us the bill. The manager did come over and agreed with our concerns and offered to have another cooked up for us. The service was slow to begin with, we we said no to the offer. On another note, the wines on the menu are very expensive - our choice was 4 times the price in the store. I expect to pay 2 - 3 tiimes the cost in a restaurant, but 4 times is a little much. If you want fine dining, wait til you get back to Kahului or elsewhere on the island.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in town - Chelsea was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

When you can find a killer breakfast, you definitely want to share it. We opted to avoid a road side stand for our morning meal, we ate outdoors the rest of our stay however. The hotel restaurant had great choices and generous portions at reasonable prices. We ate right when the restaurant opened at 7:30a. We were seated immediately and welcomed by Chelsea our server. She offered us coffee right away and I was happy to see they offered French press with local coffee. I did love that she asks how we took our coffee so she didn't waste cream if we didn't drink it. Everything was perfect when it arrived. We had the Eggs Benedict, subbing ham for smoked salmon, as offered on the menu. We also had second plate of 2 eggs, crisp thick cut bacon and there special take on home fries (yukon gold, fingerling potatoes with maui onions, seasoned to perfection. Toast was white, wheat or rye, which I chose. The bread was local and thick cut, served with butter and an offering of local jam on the side. Chelsea was extremely nice, knowledgeable and quick to delver the extras we asked for. Sitting in cozy chairs overlooking Hana bay was the icing on the scone.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ka'uiki Dining Room @ Travaasa Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Ka'uiki Dining Room @ Travaasa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ka'uiki Dining Room @ Travaasa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.