We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hana Palms Bungalow

Hana
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mkk900
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Location but.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the bungalow for 1 night on our way around Maui following the Road to Hana. The bungalow was nicely appointed, comfortable and in a very good location. It is a 10 minute walk along a trail to the Venus Pool which is directly across the street. It is also a couple of miles down the road from lovely Homoa Beach which is great for body surfing. It is also a 4 mile drive past the town of Hana so it is convenient to the few stores and eating establishments in the area. The grounds are lush and the TV is a plus to catch the weather report which was spot on. We appreciated being able to rent the bungalow for 1 night mid-week as there is usually a 2-night minimum.

We rated the bungalow average for the following reasons:

There was construction on the bridge right next to the bungalow which had been going on for at least a few weeks before our arrival and definitely before we booked but we were never advised of that fact. The construction woke us up at 6am to the sound of backhoes, trucks, workers, etc. Not a great way to wake-up in paradise.

There was no toaster or microwave. Not a big deal but advertising a full kitchen without these basics is somewhat misleading.

The bathtub and bathroom sink drains barely drained. The tub and sink filled quickly and took quite awhile to drain. This should have been discovered by the cleaning service who cleaned the bungalow before our arrival and should have been taken care of before we arrived. I suspect that it had been happening for awhile and not just before we arrived.
Also mold in a bathroom and especially a tub/shower is a pet peeve. There was mold in the tub which should not have been there had it been cleaned correctly. We even paid an extra $25 cleaning fee because we were only staying 1 night.

Try as we could, we could not locate the exterior lights that were supposedly under the bookcase. We looked under the shelves, moved the the case and could never find them. It is extremely dark in the front of the house and it would have been nice to be able to see. We needed to use a flashlight. The solar landscape lights just weren't enough. We also couldn't figure out who owned the cars parked along the side of the house that we there when we left for dinner but were gone when we came back.

While a lovely and convenient location, considering the price we paid for the 1-night, we expected more. Perhaps if the owner addressed these issues we would have a different opinion but then again, had we known about the construction we would have reserved elsewhere.

3 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 2 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: Location and view
Liked least: Construction noise and bathroom /kitchen issues
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
chicagoki...
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Peace of paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Great location, nice house. We enjoyed beautiful sunrises from our deck, walked to Hamoa beach (about 5 minutes). Views from hot tub are very nice. We only give 4 stars because the kitchen needs updating.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 2 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: oceanfront location
Liked least: outdated kitchen
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
oferamir
Kiryat Ono, Israel
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great house, quiet location, and so peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We spent two nights at this great house. We are a family of two parents and three teens (ages 12, 14, 17). The house is located just outside of Hana, and although the entrance to the house is right from the main road, it is secluded, quiet and totally private.
We came prepared with good meat, to make our own BBQ, so we didn't have to look for additional groceries in town. The kitchen was well prepared, and we could even plug our own Iphone to the stereo system, to play our own music.
The only two negative points were the bathroom and the sleeping arrangements. The shower had very weak water flow, so we had to disconnect the shower head, to get a decent water stream. Second, the house is not within walking distance from the ocean. We had a car though, so this was not a real issue for us.
Oh... one more thing - we came with three kids, and one had to sleep on the porch (or in the leaving room), since the place is arranged best for two adults and two children. Again, not a major issue.
Bottom line - We will be back :-)

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and feel of the place
Liked least: the fact that one kid had to sleep on the porch
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Pupple
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing relaxing Venus Pools Bungalow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
2
people found this review helpful

This property was a great find! I'm surprised there aren't more reviews. (When we were booking, we couldn't find any!) Right on Hana Highway, but set back far from the road in a tropical flower oasis, this place was perfect. The screened patio is amazing for enjoying your meals and sleeping out on the patio bed- the bedroom was beautiful with a large bed, but we didn't use it. There are also hammocks both in the front yard and in the back patio. The whole house is delightfully decorated and the skylight and full wall of glass doors fills the kitchen and indoor living area with natural light during the day- it's a great place to have the convenience of indoors if you love the outdoors :)

The location couldn't be more perfect for experiening all that Hana has to offer. Venus Pools is literally across the street. We didn't believe that at first, but you really can't get closer to the trail than this house. The town of Hana is just a short drive, so it's very accessible for food shopping, dining, and visiting the beautiful beaches- our favorite was red sand beach- isolated and visually stunning! Oheo Gulch and the Waimoku Falls hike is just a bit further south from this house, but the proximity definitely allows you to get there before the tour buses without having to wake up before the sun :) - enjoy the pools crowd-free and the moderate hike up to the falls is fun and definitely worth it. Waimoku is incredible- photos don't do it justice. I definitely recommend hiking boots- the path get wet/muddy at points.

The kitchen was clean and well-stocked with all of the utensils and equipment you need for cooking and eating. There were also a few basic food items provided like sugar, salt, and pepper- definitely thoughtful and much appreciated! There is also a gas grill- I recommend buying pineapple and steaks on your way down. The grilled pineapple we made was the best I've ever tasted! Eating a meal like that out on the patio table while listening to all of the sounds of nature is a great way to end a full day of hiking =)

A few minor nits on cleanliness, the shower curtain could really use to be changed and the shower could use a re-grouting. Aside from that, the place was perfect.

Beware all, you are in the jungle. You will see bugs and little critters- it's all part of the experience. We regularly saw little lizards inside and out. If this is something that bothers you, this may not the the right place for you. For us, it was a great surprise whenever we spotted a new little friend!

We were pleasantly surprised with this amazing little bungalow in its perfect location. We had a very hard time leaving! Thanks Rebecca and Albert for a wonderful experience- I can only hope to return again someday!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
eandresen
california
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A very nice house near Hana for a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed here for 3 days in July of 2011 with my wife and my 19 and 21 year old sons. The house was very nice and clean. The beds were comfortable. They had a nice stereo system and kitchen and the bathroom was fine. There is a front yard where kids can play. We especially enjoyed sitting on the enclosed front porch where we could eat or lay on the daybed. It is not close to the beach but you can easily see the ocean. The price was very reasonable.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The house was nice and the price was reasonable.
Liked least: Not much happening nearby.
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$235
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Rebecca B
8003278097
Speaks English
Listed since : Nov 2011
Response Rate: 95 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 11 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing