We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the road to Hana, don't miss it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Glen's

Coconut Glen's
Mile Marker 27 1/2 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI
808-248-4876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Takeout
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“On the road to Hana, don't miss it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

A unique place to get some rest on your way to Hana. You can enjoy their own ice cream served in a coconut shell, eaten with a piece of coconut instead of spoon! They also serve fresh coconut water. Very nice guys also.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank e m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Onancock, Virginia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“FUN AND DELICIOUS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

I don't do anything vegan . . . and I still loved this place. It is just too much fun to eat this ice cream (or whatever you call it since it's made with coconut milk instead of dairy) out of a coconut shell with a coconut shell spoon. I really wanted to try an exotic fruit flavor, but was encouraged to try the coffee-toffee with a sample, and it was to die for. Should have stopped there on the way to Hana as well so that I could have tried the fruit flavor too. The guy staffing the joint was very friendly and we got to watch him make the spoons with a machete. The whole experience (beautiful, rustic surroundings; pet dogs and cats running around; the whole "jungle" feel of it all) is not-to-be-missed. Also . . . try the candied coconut while you are there.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eddieswain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Must stop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Stop here for a cool experience and tasty treat.
We love interesting out of the way spots that are clean and unique.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenCanada2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Treats”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Coconut Glenn’s serves ice cream with a twist. It’s all dairy free and made with coconut milk instead of cream. I’ve had at least 3 different flavors and each have been delicious. I especially liked the curry flavor which was a unique twist on ice cream. The price at $5 isn’t bad, especially by Maui standards and you get a good amount in your cup which is a hollowed out coconut shell.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank RobynSmith42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent ice cream, made with coconut milk! served in a coconut!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Went here on our way to Hana, excellent way to cool down, nice service, unique experience. It was a little busy, but the line moved quick. I had macadamia nut chocolate and original, which was a quality combination. We almost stopped again on our way home! A real treat :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Glen's also viewed

 

Been to Coconut Glen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing