We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best ice cream on the planet!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Glen's

Coconut Glen's
Mile Marker 27 1/2 Hana Hwy, Hana, Maui, HI
808-248-4876
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 25 Restaurants in Hana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert, Ice Cream
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best ice cream on the planet!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This stop was probably one of the most unexpected little stands we have ever been too. We come to Maui often and have stopped at lots of the roadside stands on the Hana side of the island. Glen's is AMAZING to say the least.

He has coconuts, pours fresh water from the coconut, but the piece de resistance is the Vegan Coconut Ice Cream. It is all made with coconut water and no dairy and you would never guess that its not regular ice cream. This stuff rivals every premium ice cream out there. It is the best ice cream I have ever had and I love ice cream and have had it all over the world.

First off, you would never know its vegan. My honey is lactose intolerant so he usually can't eat ice cream and he loved it and had no issues. The texture is perfect, its nice and firm and solid and the flavor is wonderful. I got the chocolate chocolate, which is basically chocolate with tiny chocolate chips. You don't even taste the coconut in this flavor, but I also tasted the Lilikoi which was very refreshing and so good as well.

This guy needs to get set up with all the restaurants on the island, he kicks Lapperts booty.

They also have the best, again yes the best, coconut candy. Its not overly sweet like many are and is very addicting While we were there several people came in to get served and said this was their second and third trip that day!! I see why, we are planning on making repeat visits while we are here for sure.

Prices are fair, you get a good amount of ice cream served up in a half coconut, we had enough to share between us. One word of warning on the coconut water. They serve it out of the coconut they will offer you a can. This can is a community used giant coffee can, so you may want to bring a cup or just go fot it jungle style out of the coconut.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    31
    11
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great coconut ice cream”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Everything stood out, including this hut off the side of the road! Cute little hand painted parking signs, and hand painted store sign caught my attention. I pulled in and decided to try a little ice cream! WOW!!!! So many flavors rolling around in my mouth! I got pineapple coconut, my daughter loved it so much she got some too, my other daughter likes to try different things, so she got coffee toffee, it was great! The pineapple coconut had fresh pieces of pineapple in it and was soooooo creamy, the coffee toffee has ground up coffee beans and bits of toffee! Every bite was a delight! The only problem I had here was the portion! For 5 dollars and a little cup, it was disappointing. The shelled coconut bowl would defenanatly keep the hippie/gypsy genra going!
If you are looking for ice cream with milk, keep going, as it clearly states vegan on their sign. If not and you want to try something different and yummy, why not stop, it's worth a try!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“What a place...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the stops I wanted to make along the Hana trip...because I love coconut and I love a good story. Coconut Glen's story is pretty cool in fact. Look it up. Anyway, the vibe here is relaxed...I loved the eclectic decorations. I felt like we had stumbled upon a little piece of the movie "Wanderlust". See the movie, go here and you'll know what I mean.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome ice cream, we rang the dong!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Glen is a cool guy; started selling coconut's on the side of the road and ended up with this little business. The icecream is superb, we tried 6 flavors!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Vegan coconut icecream was yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The fact it had no milk but was still creamy was thrilling. So was the coconut cup and spoon. There was a huge lilikoi tree in the front and a lot of fruit fell on the ground. I got to pick many to make sure lilikoi flavored water with honey :-)

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconut Glen's also viewed

 

Been to Coconut Glen's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Glen's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.