We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat experience.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Clay Oven

The Clay Oven
Mile Marker 31, Hana, Maui, HI
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 23 restaurants in Hana
Cuisines: Pizza
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-clay-oven-hana Fantastic little pizza place set up in Hana, Maui.
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.yelp.com/biz/the-clay-oven-hana Fantastic little pizza place set up in Hana, Maui.
Jenison, Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Neat experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

A neat place to experience the Hana. Even though we had to wait almost two hours for our pizza it was fun to see what the locals do on the weekend. We really enjoyed our conversation with a Hana resident. The food was nothing great and the wait was aweful. If we were anywhere other than Hana we would have rated this a lot lower. The prices were good and we just wanted something to take back to our room. It was cool seeing how they wrapped the pizzas in palm branches for take out. The don't use pizza boxes.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    22
    5
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and Delicious Pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

As we were driving every day in Hana we were waiting in anticipation for these guys and gals to fire up that clay oven. The minute we pulled into the parking lot I can smell and almost taste what was about to come. Before even getting in we were greeted by some awesome locals that immediately walked us to the ordering area and suggested some nice pies. I got the hot and spicy and my fiancée got the pesto pie. The wait was pretty long but I took a little stroll and ran into the young lady who runs the farm that provides all of the produce. She told it is back breaking work but she loves it. If you are there when the sun goes down there is usually a bonfire in back with some nice people keeping warm and sharing stories. It really was an experience well worth the wait. Be sure to spray yourself down with some bug spray so you can just sit back and relax while your pie bakes. There is also a little farm stand that sells some tasty jellies and breads. I would like to thank everyone that works the clay oven for their warm hospitality.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was honestly the single best meal we ate all trip (excluding Mama's Fish House). Much better than Flatbreads in Paia. If you're in town on Friday or Saturday it's definitely worth it, especially considering the limited options.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gambrills
1 review
“What a great place - excellent pizza and super nice people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We were cruising around Maui and started the Road to Hana a little late. By the time we got to Hana, it was dark and we were starving and tired. We stopped a couple on the road and asked where to eat. They recommended this little pizza joint that had great pizza and lots of varieties of banana bread. Boy were they right! The pizza was the best we ever had and the chocolate banana bread was amazing.

On a side note, I lost a precious bracelet while changing in the banana field (that's another story) and left my contact details with them just in case they found it. A week later, I got a call that they found it. If I didn't love that place before then, I certainly loved them after it.

It was an adventure, a surprise and an almost surreal experience but I wouldn't go back and do anything differently if I could. If you run into it, stop, be open minded and enjoy the great outdoors while visiting with locals who know how to relax and have fun!

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“An Hawaiian Experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Only open twice a week, on Friday & Saturday, from 4 to 8 PM, we happened to be friday night and looking in the area for some place to eat, so we decided to stop by and ordered one half & half pizza. They warned us, though, that they were "heating" their oven, and that the wait would be an half an hour. It was around 6 PM.

So, while waiting, we bought some banana bread at the nice stand market right next to it... While waiting, we could see a lot of people coming and the place filled up quickly. There were some young men playing guitar, smoking (!), and having lots of fun at a table... But it was OK, it's all about the Hawaiian Experience and we thought it was pretty cool.

Our pizza was finally ready almost an hour later, only to find out they didn't make the right one. We ordered "Pesto" as the first half, and "Spicy" as the second half. The latter was rather "Day's Special". That was OK anyway nad the pizza was pretty good, although we had to eat it in our car since all the pic-nic tables were filled up with people.

Not everyone will like this kind of place, but you should go if you want to feel the Hawaiian atmosphere with people having fun cooking and, well... having fun!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Clay Oven also viewed

 

Been to The Clay Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Clay Oven, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.