We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy taste buds, after a ong drive” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Food By Pranee

Thai Food By Pranee
Across from Hana Ball Park in driveway of Luana Spa, 5050 Uakea Rd., Hana, Maui, HI
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 25 Restaurants in Hana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Canada
Top Contributor
185 reviews 185 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Happy taste buds, after a ong drive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

This was really good, our first seriously tasty
meal on Maui. Flavourful green papaya salad, nice curried ahi tuna
special. Nice outdoor setting, too, with a good view of tropical
plants. Not cheap, but not crazy. Fun staff, very laid back. Glad we went!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    65
    6
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of Authentic Thai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This place came highly recommended, and it did not disappoint. We would have driven right by the humble open-air picnic shelter had we not been looking for it. The staff was very friendly and accomodating of our requests, and the food was excellent. The prices were so reasonable I had to look twice: are we still on Maui? A few locals happily moved around to make room for our group of 10, and even our kids licked their plates clean. The view of Hana Park and the surrounding hillsides added to the ambience. Yummy!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great place in Hana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We stopped here after reading reviews prior to our stay in Hana. Does not disappoint. Loved it. Great pricing in a laid back environment.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ibbenbueren, Germany
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“great thai food :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012 via mobile

Today we did the scenic route to hana. Then after a swim a few meters further there is this Thai restaurant known as pranee. This restaurant has two chefs who divide the week in two and both use their own name. The name from the second chef is nutcharee. When this chef cooks the sign outside says nutcharee instead of pranee . When we where there the food was excellent, fresh ingredients, good cooking and perfect tasting dishes. A pleasure to eat there -)

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot in Hana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Recommended to us by a Chicago restauranteur who lives in Maui part-time, this place offers delicious Thai dishes at reasonable prices (especially considering the exotic location) !!
We had Tom Yum soup, tofu Pad Thai, Pad Kee Mao chicken (drunken noodles) and Seared Ahi with curry sauce-all were excellent.
Camp tent vibe and patio furniture really add to the laid back sensibility; service is friendly and informal. The photos provided by others here give a fair view of the "jungle setting".
Dishes are mild by our usual standards (no need to fear if you're unfamiliar with the cuisine) , and an array of spicy condiments are offered to kick up the heat if desired.
The road sign now reads NUTCHAREE Thai food, so don't be confused.
Plan to stop for a quick meal.
You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Food By Pranee also viewed

 

Been to Thai Food By Pranee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Food By Pranee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.