We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hana Sunrise House - Romantic Bali Designed Rental

View Out From Bamboo Couch
View Out From Bamboo Couch
View Out From Bamboo Couch
Romantic Bedroom With Big Ocean View
View Out From Kitchen
Oceanside East View
Balinese Flavor Throughout!
Hana
|
Rental Home – 
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
michelle...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A dream come true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I'm ashamed it has taken me this long to write a review of the Hana Sunrise House. My (now) husband and I stayed there for the last 4 nights of our Maui stay and truly couldn't have asked for anything more.

The house itself is stunning--beautiful wood design a *super* comfortable bed, a kitchen with more than everything you need (also a grill on the front porch). By far my favorite part of the house was the huge lanai and the numerous doors that open up out to it. During the day we explored Hana and made several trips to Hamao beach which is about a mile or two away. At night we could hear the waves of the ocean and the morning, well, you understand why it's called the "Sunrise" house--just gorgeous sunrises everyday. I can't remember being that relaxed in a long time and a big part of that was Ramaia--the owner operator. He was so perfectly chill and accommodating, giving us complete privacy while making sure we had everything we needed. I hope we can stay there again someday.

Tips:
#1. grab groceries (including beer/wine) on your way there as the grocery stores are few and far between in Hana. Although Hasegawa general store is like 3 miles away the selection is limited.
#2. if you want to do any surfing/paddle boarding at Hamao and don't own your own gear you'll need to rent it somewhere else in Maui since there aren't any rental places in Hana that I could fine (Hana hotel won't rent to non-guests).
#3. make sure your first trip to the Sunrise house is during day light. The last half mile of the drive would be scary in the dark--it is very steep and can only fit one car (luckily we never ended up on the road with a car coming the other direction). We had a sedan rental car and it was fine, but I would have rather had a truck or something with 4WD.

My deepest thanks to Ramaia for perfectly tranquil stay. And thanks also for the suggestion to take the southern side of Hana Highway--what an adventure!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 3, 2014
Thank you to Michelle for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It gives my wife Marlie and I great pleasure to see our guests enjoy Hana from a great place to stay.

Marlie is new to living in Hana and driving on the Hana Highway. It turns out for her that driving at night is her favorite and safest time to drive. There is hardly any traffic and you can see approaching cars headlights easily.

The last half mile coming up to the house is more adventurous at night the first time. Mostly because you don't know where you are going until you get there. It is all paved and a good road but there are to inclines where you need to go slow and just follow the main drag.

After driving the whole Hana Highway to get to the house, the last half mile will only take another 6 minutes. Once you have driven this road once it doesn't seem like a big deal any more. In fact it is a beautiful country road that you may grow to enjoy.

This response is from the owners, Ramaia and Marlie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Michael and Patty
New Mexico
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Fancie1
CA
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
4 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
DeniKritz...
Santa Clarita, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Clean and Beautiful With a World Class View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This is a beautifully decorated cottage in an incredible location in the most wonderful community on earth. Having lived in the Hāna for 17 years, we found ourselves to be as comfortable in this house as we could have hoped. Be sure to bring your sleeping goggles, as the sun WILL wake you up in the morning.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The view and the overall comfort were what we liked best.
Liked least: The long and bumby road up to the house, although worth it, is what we liked the least.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
JGotoh
Altadena, California, United States
1 review
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

If you are looking for beauty, peace and tranquility in Hana this is the perfect place. Each morning we watched the sunrise from our bed. The house is nicely furnished with plenty of kitchenware and a great chef's stove. The stay is better than a 5 star hotel.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: I can't think of anything.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
charchar3...
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to Stay in Hana- bring stuff for the grill!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

To echo all the reviews here, this is the perfect house for a couple. Bring groceries from Costco and plan to grill out using the BBQ or the fancy range. We did steaks, tuna, marlin, shrimp, veggies, made salads, sandwiches, breakfast, coffee, ate the papayas growing in the yard, and in general enjoyed ourselves thoroughly. (No oven or dishwasher but there's a toaster oven and drying rack.)

Comfortable bed and pillows which can be a dealbreaker for me. Although bring that eyemask! Eastern exposure means glorious sunsets but bright. Enjoyed coffee on the porch looking at the ocean.

Around mile marker 49, after Hana town but before Haleakala, so a great location.

Beach equipment, Netflix, toiletries, towels, and any kitchen equipment you need provided. Key box means you can get in at whatever time you arrive.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Comfort, ease, and allowed us to relax as you should do in Hana
Liked least: No dishwasher
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Cleo1117
Spring, TX
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Relaxing, The Perfect Spot in Hana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We have stayed in the Hana Sunrise House three years in a row. It is one of our favorite places. The house is secluded on the side of a hill. There is a beautiful view of the ocean in the distance and at night you can hear the water crashing on the rocks. The house is exceptionally clean with quality pots for cooking and quality dishware for dining. Only a small countertop oven is available, there is no large oven, but the cooktop is a gas and restaurant quality.

Ramone, the owner, provides your water needs: buggy boards, snorkel, umbrella, and beach chairs so no need to bring anything...not even a beach towel is needed since he also provides those.

Bring most of your food. There is very limited shopping in Hana. A farmer's market is available some days but still the selection is limited. We bring steaks for grilling (there is a gas grill), breakfast foods, and practically everything we think we will want. Fish is sometimes available for purchase on the beach if the fisherman is fishing. There are a few restaurants in Hana, but we like to stay in after dark and cook. The house is so enjoyable; we just love to be there.

You won't be disappointed with this rental. Ramone takes care of everything and if something needs attention, he has someone there within a reasonable time to take care of it. Ramone even provides a land line phone for your use because cell phones do not work.

The only negetative that I can say is that I wish he had a small dishwasher. I am concerned about the dishes being sanitary especially glasses and silverware. It takes extremely hot water to sanitize those items and so I always wash them then rinse with boiling water before we start using them.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and cleanliness.
Liked least: No dishwasher
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$265
/
Night
Week
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Richard C
18082682692
Speaks English
Listed since : Dec 2010
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 38 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing