We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simply the best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Adventure Maui Road to Hana Tour

Adventure Maui Road to Hana Tour
Hana, Maui, HI
808.661.8687
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
sydney
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we went on this August 2013 we had rented a car and thought about driving ourselves if we did we would know nothing and me driving wouldn't see much at all, so we decided pay the extra money and take this tour, with complimentary continental breakfast at the start and then lunch which you pay for chicken chicken or burger burger or combo was the order of the day which we pulled up and sat at a setup on the side of the road, glad we did our driver/guide (forgot his name) was excellent full of knowledge of everything flora and fauna, pointing out historical interest's along this ever so narrow and winding road left us to sit back and take in the lush tropical beauty and constantly changing vistas of the Hana coast with breathtaking views at nearly every bend in the road, hats off to the driving most of it's enough room for one vehicle let alone a small bus with a few moments to stop wherever their was a great photo shot if no-one was behind, we sat on the wrong side of the bus, the side of the driver is the best, you'll come away with fabulous photo's and lasting memories we did.
We viewed the town of Hana the Hasegawa General store, swim in the Ohe'o stream pools if you wanted then along to Tedesschi Winery at Ulupalakua where some of the wines are made from the best pineapples in the world, just a magical tour cascading waterfalls, lush rainforest fantastic landscape and experience the hidden side of Maui....awesome I say...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    5
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just beautiful !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

You can't go to Maui and not do this tour. It should be on top of your list. We chose not to drive (many advised us not to) and went with the Polynesian Adventure Tours Gray Line. Our guide/driver was Tom. He made this day memorable for everyone on the bus, courteous, enthusiastic, funny and respectful of hawaian culture and history. Tom kept telling us about all the things we saw, kept the long trip very exciting for us and took time to talk to each one of his guests. This tour is just amazing, you can see so many different breath taking sceneries going around the island. The vegetation keeps changing all the time, magnificient trees and flowers, waterfalls, small villages, farms, historical places, beautiful beaches. The road by itself is an adventure but we felt in good hands. We had plenty to drink and stopped for lunch in a nice place in the country. Tom took us to many great spots where we were able to take pictures and walk around. He even had some music ready for certain places to go with his many stories, keeping us smiling. He loves this place and it shows. Treat yourself and go on this tour, you won't regret it !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
“Polynesian Adventure Tour the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a long but fantastic tour, worth every one of the many hairpin curves. Our driver - Lehua, Polynesian Adventure Tours - was terrific. She really cared about her passengers. Some felt so safe with her driving that they even napped at time! I really like how Lehua not only shared lots of fascinating information about this side of the Island, but taught us a lot about Hawaiian culture. She even had us talking Hawaiian by the end of the tour. This tour is a must for anyone coming to Maui for the first time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I booked this tour during our honeymoon and all we can both say is WOW! It was a long day on a bus but it was worth it. The sights are absolutely breathtaking. I took over 200 pictures on that day. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A Long Day, But A Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

From the early morning pick-up at our resort to the return in the early evening, we spent about 11 hours on this tour - so it was a long day. But the bus trip was a great way to literally see a lot of Maui and to learn a lot along the way. For our vacation stay, the "dry side" of Maui was perfect, but this tour let us see the lush flora of the wet tropical side and that alone was a great addition to our experience on Maui. The various sites from the bus and at the various stops were beautiful - waterfalls, black beaches, and dramatic rugged coastlines. With the various stops, the time on the bus was broken-up enough to make the whole-day adventure quite enjoyable. Our driver/guide was personable and knowledgeable. We really felt we knew quite a bit more about Maui when the day was done and were glad to have made the trip even if a section of Hwy. 31 is unpaved, and even if there were a lot of hairpin turns and one-lane bridge! Our driver handle the sinuous highway well and always tried to give us as many photo-ops as he could. Getting to stop a the Maui Winery near the end of the trip was great - wine tasting is always fun even if some of the wine is made from pineapple and the historical display at the winery was an interesting story in and of itself. Getting to see an impressive rainbow was "lagniappe" (i.e., an extra bonus) during the tour, but just another reason we had a great time.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Adventure Maui Road to Hana Tour also viewed

 

Been to Adventure Maui Road to Hana Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adventure Maui Road to Hana Tour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.