We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discover Hawaii - Road to Hana Tours” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Road to Hana Tours

Road to Hana Tours
Hana, Hana, Maui, HI
(808) 661-8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 activities in Hana
Type: Tours
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Bradford West Gwillimbury, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Discover Hawaii - Road to Hana Tours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This company was great and they were recommended by our Concierge. Driver was knowledgeable, very friendly and had a great sense of humour. There are alot of very sharp turns and narrow places on the road (lots of backing up) so if you can do this tour with a tour company, I would recommend that instead of doing the drive yourself (Then you can also focus on sight seeing instead of driving)
Definately do not get caught on this road in the dark.
Stopped at some nice places along the way.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    28
    10
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Spokane, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Road to Hana and beyond”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have always made the drive ourselves in the past. This time we had six and a small car....so, we tried a discover hidden Hawaii tour. They picked us up from our Kaanapali hotel...super convenient! The van sat 12 or so, but we only had our six and two other people. We met our guide, Bjorn and he greeted us with plumeria for our hair. We picked up our pre-ordered lunch in a cute and yummy stop in pa'ia (quick breakfast). Bjorn was entertaining and informative. He gave us samples of sugar cane and sugared ginger. Bottled water on-board. The small van made this trip an excellent value...I would not have wanted to go on one of the larger bus-type trips. My only complaint was that our lunch stop at the black sand beach and cave swim was much too short...many of the later stops were closed so we could have stayed longer at the most important stop of the day.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Full day of amazing sights 10/10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Barry our driver was the best ever! Amazing sights and the road is crazy. (we were at the back of the bus ) Smaller shuttle type bus was more personal and better view when driving.
Lunch was good and yes bathroom stops were plentiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Road to Hana”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

A recent Road to Hana Tour with Polynesian Adventure Tours was a memorable experience and one that all visitors to Maui should do. The reason I rated it average instead of higher was the Transport. This is a day-long tour and the converted F Series was uncomfortable for a number of tourists particularly those with their knees around their ears because they were required to sit over the very high and intrusive rear wheel arches. The pre-paid lunch vouchers could have enabled a far quicker turn-a-round at that stop. The tour however was sensational, seeing a totally different aspect to the more popular tourist areas of the island and made even better by the highly knowledgable tour guide Tom. He was very entertaining whilst giving an educational commentary and was able to engage all passengers from various parts of the world.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“It was really "Ono" (good)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Our driver was awesome! His name is Dennis. We had a blast. You can really tell he knows the road like the back of his hand as well as the history and culture of the land. We were picked up at our condo an 6:40am precisely then we stopped to pick up a few other in different hotels. Mostly all of us on the bus were friendly people; we all introduced ourselves. And whenever we made a stop for shops or washrooms, scenic spots etc the last one back on the bus got a big applause. To which the person coming in last would do a little dance. Dennis got a kick out of this because it was just something that happened spontaneously. Dennis didn't just make the routine stops. He was well informed to the ins and outs of the real estate to the sugar cane plantation and the water issues on the island, as well as the plants and animals. He talked constantly teaching us different Hawaiian words like "ono". He never made us feel rushed. Even though the other drivers on the way were as he put it "fumigating" he always remained calm, though he seemed the sort who could lose it, he never did .I don't think he was feeling to well by the end of the trip so we were taken back to our condo by Mr Rosetti. A very nice driver as well. We didn't get back to our condo until 6:00pm that evening. It was a long day but it was so worth it. Mahalo Dennis and Road to HanaTours

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Road to Hana Tours also viewed

 

Been to Road to Hana Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Road to Hana Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Road to Hana Tours to your Saves list