We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for 1 night stay in Hana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Kai Maui

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hana Kai Maui
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hana
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Excellent for 1 night stay in Hana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent one night here in order to make our road to Hana experience last 2 days. We stayed in 106, which is the cheapest unit, and it was great for a one night stay. The unit was a complete studio apartment with a full kitchen, as well at dishware, a full size refrigerator, and some kitchen supplies. The main downside was that there was no air conditioning. It got rather hot and humid, but it did not disturb our sleep at all. There is a beautiful sunrise view in the morning. This is one of the few hotels in Hana that allows a one night stay (though there is a surcharge), so it is perfect for an overnight stay after driving the road to Hana.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

413 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    213
    146
    32
    15
    7
See reviews for
93
242
6
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

I chose room 202 on the second floor. The view from the balcony was the icing on the cake of my trip. It's so gorgeous...the beautiful blue water washing up against the black sand beach. The kitchen was very well equipped. Rooms are clean and well furnished.

Room Tip: for a larger room for a family or friends, choose room 101. Room 107 is more spacious but the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved this place and even without air-conditioning ( and maybe because there wasn't any!) I got my best night's sleep of the trip. The sound of the waves lulled me to sleep and we awakened to the most beautiful sunrise over Hana Bay.
Hana Kai is a perfect place for the self-sufficient traveler. There is a full kitchen with everything you might want including cooking spray, salt and pepper, aluminum foil and saran wrap! This was a first to find the kind of practical things you would really need if you were cooking while traveling. If this is a stop-over for you, they even have a laundry.
Stop at the local store, pick up something for the barbeque, cook outside and enjoy a relaxing dinner at your very own private beachfront. If it is raining, there is a large covered area where you can dine and party while the rain comes down. Then look for the rainbows...
Hana Kai has paid attention to all the little touches---in the decorating ( seashell curtain rings), fabulous body care products ( Ola), books for borrowing, Egyptian cotton sheets and towels, plenty of furniture ( bar stools, chairs, outdoor table and chairs), hair dryer, emergency lantern, games, and even umbrellas in the room.
Even though they don't have a 2-night minimum for most of the rooms, if you can stay more than one night, it makes the trip to Hana so very special, especially if you are with special friends or family.

Room Tip: From the best that I could tell, all rooms except 2 have an unobstructed view. The layout is such t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Great smaller hotel, perfect for relaxing after the windy trip to Hana. On a black sand beach, too. Very quiet, extremely clean unit with bedroom, living room, nice balcony and full kitchen. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights while visiting Hana. It was a great deal. Room 205 rents for about $220. a night. We were on the second floor of the back unit (recommended) if you don't pop for the Bay-Front rooms of the front unit (around $400.) There are no air-conditioned rooms in all of Hana so don't worry about that. "The Kai" supplies you with several fans to keep the air moving. The staff is friendly and the location, central. We watched the sunrise shine up from the koi ponds on our second morning here and that was magical. The room has a full kitchen for cooking and under the front unit there is an outside bar-b-que and picnic tables if you want to have a party of more than 4. There is also an outside cold shower if you take a dip in the bay. They have great Hawaiian coffee, fresh flowers, books, Foil and Pam supplied in the kitchen,. Egyptian cotton sheets on the beds and a lovely balcony in each unit. The layout is such that you can't see your neighbors, only smell their Paca Loco. We will come back here!!!!

Room Tip: Top floor back unit!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Fabulous place to stay! Very relaxing with a FULL kitchen -- everything you'd want (even though we didn't use it much, since we only stayed one night). Beautiful view from an oceanfront room; large lanai with table for eating & lounge chairs. Made me want to come back next time for longer. Room was more 'homey' than a regular hotel room, but very welcoming with books & games. (No TV or air conditioning -- didn't need it anyway with the ocean breeze; good internet access.) Staff friendly & helpful when we needed to switch our reservation due to Tropical Storm Flossie. (Hotel called to tell us road to Hana was closed due to storm, but they were very accommodating in making the changes.)

Room Tip: Lower building closer to water has lawn area abutting black sand beach. Upper building still has go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We decided to take it slow on the road to Hana, stay the night in Hana (at Hana Kai) and continue on around the "back side" the following day. Excellent decisions all around.
The condo is a loft unit that has plenty of space for a family of four. It was clean and well maintained (no, it was not like a brand new hotel room - if you want that, stay on Oahu). It had a unique charm and a relaxed, comfortable feel. The view from the lanai can't be described - simply magical. What a great place to have a quiet breakfast (pick up some local banana bread and fruit)!
What would improve it? Maybe air conditioning... but with three fans in the unit, that really is not an issue after an hour or two to air it out with the help of the ocean breezes. Yes, you may hear your neighbors, but at least on our stay, the place was amazingly peaceful. (I thought everybody went to sleep early to wake up for the sunrise... but morning was just as quiet.)
So, why will we never consider any other place in Hana?
We did have a couple of "weird" issues - totally random and not something that will happen again, not something that could have been foreseen or prevented. One lovely young lady on front desk staff (Pohai) stayed almost two hours after the end of her shift to ensure things were fully resolved, even despite the fact that another person was working on the issue and I told her to go home (multiple times!) Where do you find such dedication from an employee? The following morning, without us saying a word, the manager was fully updated on the issue, and volunteered to make things right! That is truly going above and beyond what's expected.
One perfect choice in Hana - Hana Kai Maui #202 - that's all.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana
Hana Kai Maui Hotel
Hana Kai Maui
Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Kai Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hana Kai Maui to your Saves list