We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical Paradise ~ Hana Kai 206” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hana Kai Maui to your Saves list
Hana Kai Maui
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Enumclaw, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tropical Paradise ~ Hana Kai 206”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We felt like we in Bali though we were in the US.
Shayla's condo #206 in Hana was gorgeous.
From our first step in the door we were treated like this was our personal home.
We opened the beautiful sliding door and were overcome by the noise of the surf we were so close. We listened to the soothing sound of the waves crashing over the black sand all night long.
I appreciated the espresso maker, wine in the fridge, and all condiments/spices needed for cooking.
Shayla was very quick to answer any and all questions we had prior to the trip. She also provided a guide of sights to visit/hike.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    160
    33
    16
    7
See reviews for
100
268
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waianae
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed in room 102 Kaumaka and it has the best ocean view on the property! The room was absolutely perfect overlooking the black sand beach with waves lapping on the shore. The room was well appointed including a fully stocked kitchen. We enjoyed breakfasts and dinners on the lanai to take in the beauty of the bay. We walked on the black sand beach every morning and watched the sunrise. We left the lanai doors open throughout the day and night to feel the cool island breeze and to listen to the sound of the waves. Hana's old-time hawaiian natural beauty and culture made our stay so inviting. The local people showed their aloha spirit to the max! Mahalo Susan and staff for a wonderful stay at Hana Kai Maui. We are Kamaaina's living in Nanakuli, Oahu and plan to come back one day soon! A Hui Hou! Hal & Brenda Levy

Room Tip: Full on ocean views are spectacular choices!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, MT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

After a long day exploring on the road to Hana with the family, we stayed a night at Hana Kai. The location is fantastic, with an incredible view. I would suggest requesting a high floor, corner room. The room we stayed in (204) was very well equipped. The beach isn't kid friendly and there is no TV, but my kids could have cared less...plenty of activities to take advantage of in the area (7 pools, Hamoa Beach, Lava Tube and numerous wayside parks to visit. We can't wait to go back and stay LONGER!

Room Tip: The walls are a bit thin...it wasn't noisy by any stretch, but you could hear conversations in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brawley, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a fabulous find! I finally stayed a couple of nights in Hana, and now I know why it's called "Heavenly Hana." We stayed in Unit #1 (ocean front, one-bedroom) and had an awesome view of the black sand beach and ocean. Sunrises and sunsets were breathtaking. The unit was well-equipped, nicely appointed and clean. If you need a television, a/c, nightlife, shopping and a hectic lifestyle, Hana is NOT for you. You need to head to west Maui with the million other people. I guess the units can be a little noisy depending on how heavy-footed your neighbors are, but it was very tolerable in our unit. There are house rules that ask noise to be kept to a minimum after 10:00 p.m. and before 8:00 a.m. Free wi-fi is available but no elevator. If you have physical limitations, you may have a little difficulty depending on which unit you decide to choose. There are two, small grocery stores nearby. People will complain about them being pricey, but why go to Hawaii if you can't afford a little extra here and there. There are "fruit stands" with fresh local fruits and some that also sell food, like garlic noodles with vegetables or scallops. Don't forget to try the banana bread with or without macadamia nuts. "Roadside restaurants" are also a good find. We had some great Thai food at one of them. There are a couple of restaurants in Hana, and I understand that both are owned by the folks from Longhi's. We never ate at the restaurants, but I've eaten at Longhi's in Lahaina and in Honolulu. The food is good. The staff at the Hana Kai are very friendly and helpful. Next time I'd like to just fly into Hana and stay at the Hana Kai for a few days. I'm already feeling relaxed!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We have stayed here twice now, once as a couple then most recently with all our family and friends! We rented out the whole property for our wedding and it was absolutely perfect. Great location, excellent group area downstairs, great amenities, and Hana is a wonderful rustic Hawaiian town. We will be returning many times!

Room Tip: The walls/ceilings are a little thin, so you may have less neighbor noise if you're on the top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is a gem in Hana and actually priced pretty reasonably compared with nearby accommodations.

Every suite has an ocean view and a sizable lanai within earshot of the Hana Bay waves. It's accessible to the beach with some small waves, but the rocks are pretty rough.

Decent size kitchen with a full frige stocked with a brita and utensils, stemware, and some great Maui coffee.

Plenty of closet space, some games and books in each unit, and contrary to some of the reviews, I found our bathroom to be quite modern and nice. Beach towel service from the front desk, and some high-end shampoo/conditioner/soap that's locally made.

Service staff was friendly and professional, booking was a breeze, as was checking in and out.

Parking is a bit tight and the noise carries given the amphitheater-like design, so please be courteous.

Also of note, there is no A/C, but I was never uncomfortable given the ventilation and ocean breeze.

Not sure if it's standard, but our unit (103) had an umbrella and styrofoam cooler that both came in handy. There's a small programmable safe for your valuables, and lots of closet space.

Kama'aina and military discounts available.

Room Tip: The Website has good descriptions, recommend reserving early as the rooms get booked up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

To say our wedding party took over Hana would be an understatement!
To my knowledge, our entire party stayed at Hana Kai for the week of our best friends wedding and it couldn't have been a more tranquil, easy & beautiful experience! From pot lucks in the common area outside, to peaceful strolls on the black rock beach, this location was top notch.

Make a stop at a market before taking the road to Hana & this splendid location, as every room has a very well appointed kitchen! Waking up to the sounds of the ocean & making breakfast to eat on the lanai was perfection.

Walking distance to Hana Bay, SUPER Thai food and Luana Spa for massages - it's a wonderful location. The staff was lovely, the units clean and the beds delightful! I think the last time I slept so well I was a child!

Thank you Hana Kai... we will most certainly be back again & again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Kai Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.