We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“We didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Kai Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hana Kai Maui to your Saves list
Hana Kai Maui
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
West Chester, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

First of all, let's get the bad out of the way. Parking is very tight and a huge pain. Their sign is miniscule and hard to read, and we had some trouble finding it.

OK, the rest is all good! We chose a room on an upper floor. It was actually a small condo rather than a room or suite. The kitchen is completely stocked with all the kitchenware that you could want. Our terrace was large, and the whole condo was spotless! We were in the building in the back, not in the oceanfront building, but due to our location on the second floor, we could see right over the front building to the black sand beach.

I think your enjoyment of this place will be greatly affected by which room you choose. I peeked into a room downstairs in our building, and although very nicely decorated, it had only a view of the building in front of us, and I would have found it depressing. We are not the type of travelers to hang around our hotel room, but we were in no hurry to leave this place in the mornings. We had coffee and breakfast on the terrace, enjoying the view. If we're ever in Hana again, we will stay here and in the same room!

Room Tip: Choose a room from the pics on their website - you'll want to spend a little more and get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    172
    33
    16
    8
See reviews for
111
295
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We were floored when we entered our room. It is modern, well equipped tastefully decorated for the island, and has a spectacular view. We were sad we didn't plan a longer stay. Very quiet, awesome sky at night. So dark there you feel like your in the Milky Way.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had been to Hana before but always a day trip. This year we decided to start our Maui vacation with a trip to Hana and a three night stay at the Hana Kai. The location is great and easily walkable to the handful of sites in town proper. The unit was well equiped and clean. No services at the hotel as it was more of a condo type setup. Nice black beach at the edge of the property. Nice lawn and a few chairs for relaxing in the sun. The balcony was very nice and the sounds of the waves, especially in the evening, was very relaxing. Be sure to stop for groceries in Kahului since there are limited options in Hana. Then relax and spend time exploring what most try to do in a day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I go to Hana a couple times a semester to see student teachers. I tried several places before trying the Hana Kai but now it is always my first choice. I always stay in 106 as it is the cheapest. It is always clean, in good repair and insect free. I really appreciate having a good kitchen so I can bring food to prepare. Keep in mind that you need to get reservations early because they usually fill up.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stopped by as part of our honeymoon in Maui / Oahu in September of 2011. We wanted take our time along the Road to Hana, as the guides we read mentioned a lot of "explorable" stops along the way. And the thought of driving that road at nighttime was not going to happen. =)

Again, we looked into this location based upon the good ratings on TripAdvisor and seemed the best value for money.

Hana is a sleepy town with two convenience stores and a few restaurants. But that sleepy nature just adds to the peaceful setting that this hotel was able to provide for us.

The unit that we stayed in was #204 Waiohinu, an Ocean View One-Bedroom Condominium.

We were greeted at the help desk and were politely attended to, with room keys and a visitor package (information on the hotel and policies).

The room was spacious with a full size living room and full kitchen for our use. Pots and pans were stored away, so we felt comfortable in this homely setting. The room was double-height in the living room area with the balcony and the view of the black sand beach in front.

The bedroom was fitted with some dresser space, but not enough floor space to bring your suitcases in. Those were left in the hallway storage area, where extra blankets and pillows could be found.

This stop was meant to be our base for travels deeper along to visit the Seven Sacred Pools and O'heo Gulch. As our travel distance was much shorter, we were given the freedom to spend more time at those destinations.

And to be able to return shortly from a full day of exploring to a well-furnished, relaxing room with a black sand beach view? Not much you can complain about that.

It was a pleasure to stay there and is somewhere we would go back to if we were ever in the area again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: get a full ocean-view room, not a partial. It is worth it to have that view when you wake up each mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hana Kai and had the most wonderful time! We are planning on going back and would refer this charming resort to anyone!
The condo we stayed in for 3 nights , #107, was extremely clean(I used to work in housekeeping), the sheets and towels smelled very fresh yet natural, the kingsize bed was super comfy and we slept sooo good every night. The sound of the ocean was soothing and the ocean view from the lanai was awesome! All the the staff was so very friendly and helpful, the grounds were impeccable and we explored the black sand beach with amazing movie set like settings and views and also Hana town and restaurants without getting in the car. What an exotic travel destination...
Thank God for Hana Kai Maui!

Room Tip: #107 was great and a little less than the other units, we will book it again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, KS
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hana Kai overnight after the drive on the Road to Hana. We were in room 105-studio with an ocean view. We were pleased with how well equipped and decorated these units are. The view over Hana Bay is spectacular. The kitchen had everything we needed and the bed was really comfortable with nice linens. This is a great place to stay in Hana. We expected a rustic cabin and found this place totally up-to-date with all the good stuff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Hana Kai Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Kai Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.