We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hana Kai Maui

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hana Kai Maui
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hana
West Chester, PA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“We didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

First of all, let's get the bad out of the way. Parking is very tight and a huge pain. Their sign is miniscule and hard to read, and we had some trouble finding it.

OK, the rest is all good! We chose a room on an upper floor. It was actually a small condo rather than a room or suite. The kitchen is completely stocked with all the kitchenware that you could want. Our terrace was large, and the whole condo was spotless! We were in the building in the back, not in the oceanfront building, but due to our location on the second floor, we could see right over the front building to the black sand beach.

I think your enjoyment of this place will be greatly affected by which room you choose. I peeked into a room downstairs in our building, and although very nicely decorated, it had only a view of the building in front of us, and I would have found it depressing. We are not the type of travelers to hang around our hotel room, but we were in no hurry to leave this place in the mornings. We had coffee and breakfast on the terrace, enjoying the view. If we're ever in Hana again, we will stay here and in the same room!

Room Tip: Choose a room from the pics on their website - you'll want to spend a little more and get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    226
    152
    32
    16
    7
See reviews for
97
254
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Tonawanda, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We were floored when we entered our room. It is modern, well equipped tastefully decorated for the island, and has a spectacular view. We were sad we didn't plan a longer stay. Very quiet, awesome sky at night. So dark there you feel like your in the Milky Way.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We had been to Hana before but always a day trip. This year we decided to start our Maui vacation with a trip to Hana and a three night stay at the Hana Kai. The location is great and easily walkable to the handful of sites in town proper. The unit was well equiped and clean. No services at the hotel as it was more of a condo type setup. Nice black beach at the edge of the property. Nice lawn and a few chairs for relaxing in the sun. The balcony was very nice and the sounds of the waves, especially in the evening, was very relaxing. Be sure to stop for groceries in Kahului since there are limited options in Hana. Then relax and spend time exploring what most try to do in a day.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kula
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

I go to Hana a couple times a semester to see student teachers. I tried several places before trying the Hana Kai but now it is always my first choice. I always stay in 106 as it is the cheapest. It is always clean, in good repair and insect free. I really appreciate having a good kitchen so I can bring food to prepare. Keep in mind that you need to get reservations early because they usually fill up.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stopped by as part of our honeymoon in Maui / Oahu in September of 2011. We wanted take our time along the Road to Hana, as the guides we read mentioned a lot of "explorable" stops along the way. And the thought of driving that road at nighttime was not going to happen. =)

Again, we looked into this location based upon the good ratings on TripAdvisor and seemed the best value for money.

Hana is a sleepy town with two convenience stores and a few restaurants. But that sleepy nature just adds to the peaceful setting that this hotel was able to provide for us.

The unit that we stayed in was #204 Waiohinu, an Ocean View One-Bedroom Condominium.

We were greeted at the help desk and were politely attended to, with room keys and a visitor package (information on the hotel and policies).

The room was spacious with a full size living room and full kitchen for our use. Pots and pans were stored away, so we felt comfortable in this homely setting. The room was double-height in the living room area with the balcony and the view of the black sand beach in front.

The bedroom was fitted with some dresser space, but not enough floor space to bring your suitcases in. Those were left in the hallway storage area, where extra blankets and pillows could be found.

This stop was meant to be our base for travels deeper along to visit the Seven Sacred Pools and O'heo Gulch. As our travel distance was much shorter, we were given the freedom to spend more time at those destinations.

And to be able to return shortly from a full day of exploring to a well-furnished, relaxing room with a black sand beach view? Not much you can complain about that.

It was a pleasure to stay there and is somewhere we would go back to if we were ever in the area again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: get a full ocean-view room, not a partial. It is worth it to have that view when you wake up each mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Hana Kai and had the most wonderful time! We are planning on going back and would refer this charming resort to anyone!
The condo we stayed in for 3 nights , #107, was extremely clean(I used to work in housekeeping), the sheets and towels smelled very fresh yet natural, the kingsize bed was super comfy and we slept sooo good every night. The sound of the ocean was soothing and the ocean view from the lanai was awesome! All the the staff was so very friendly and helpful, the grounds were impeccable and we explored the black sand beach with amazing movie set like settings and views and also Hana town and restaurants without getting in the car. What an exotic travel destination...
Thank God for Hana Kai Maui!

Room Tip: #107 was great and a little less than the other units, we will book it again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, KS
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hana Kai overnight after the drive on the Road to Hana. We were in room 105-studio with an ocean view. We were pleased with how well equipped and decorated these units are. The view over Hana Bay is spectacular. The kitchen had everything we needed and the bed was really comfortable with nice linens. This is a great place to stay in Hana. We expected a rustic cabin and found this place totally up-to-date with all the good stuff. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hana
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Travaasa Hotel Hana
Free internet...
Show More
27.8 mi away
Paia Inn Hotel
Paia Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Paia
5.0 of 5 stars 530 reviews
Romantic, Mid-r...
Show More
29.9 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 3 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Romantic...
Show More
30.0 mi away
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
30.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Free internet...
Show More
29.9 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Andaz Maui At Wailea
#2 of 7 in Wailea
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hana Kai Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hana Kai Maui

Address: 4865 Uakea Rd, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hana Kai Maui 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hana Kai Maui Resort welcomes you to our oceanfront condominium resort located on beautiful Hana Bay at Waikaloa Beach. We offer 18 first class studio and one bedroom accommodations that feature exquisite grounds, beachside barbeque, fully equipped kitchens, private lanais and free wireless internet service. Our resort has panoramic oceanfront views where you can experience incredible sunrises, moonlit nights and the gentle sound of the waves on the shore. Daily housekeeping service is provided. *We will gladly accept one night reservations although most people wish they had stayed for at least two. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hana Kai Maui Hotel Hana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hana Kai Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hana Kai Maui to your Saves list