We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travaasa Hotel Hana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Travaasa Hotel Hana to your Saves list
Travaasa Hotel Hana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maui, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

As soon as we got here we were greeted and the staff the entire time was beyond friendly. The rooms are very spacious. If I could change something about the room it would be the bed spreads; they looked really old and dirty. The screens leading into the rooms needed to be replaced; they were very hard to move. We also found three roaches in our room. We loved the many free activities the hotel offered. The entire area with the infinity pool by the cottages was gorgeous! We enjoyed our stay at this hotel however we are not sure it was worth the high price.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Aloha Coco H,

Let me begin by apologizing about the condition of your bedspread and the other issues in your room. We take our standards of service very serious and are disappointed with your unfortunate experience. We also have a very aggressive, yet environmentally friendly approach to pest control, but our location is in the middle of a tropical rain forest does have its challenges.

I hope you give us another opportunity to host you again. Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hana.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    145
    57
    38
    25
See reviews for
117
484
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Maui, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Travaasa Hotel is a hidden gem at the end of the road to Hana! Excellent accommodations with incredible views, and the staff is very engaging and attentive. Although a little expensive, the food was excellent. If you want a relaxing stay where you will be pampered, Travaasa Hana is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Aloha Charles072014,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay! It sounds like you had an incredible and memorable experience.

Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana and we look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

My wife and I just returned from getting married on Maui, followed by 4 nights at the Travaasa Hana. All in all, we really enjoyed our time in Hana. This hotel is far from perfect, but it still has a soft spot in our hearts. It’s hard to image a place more beautiful and peaceful place than Hana. Would we come back to the Travaasa? Hard to say – probably someday. Would we recommend to others? Yes, provided they know what they’re getting into and they get a good rate.

The initial Sea Ranch Cottage room that we were given had several issues that were not acceptable to us. Danny, the general manager, graciously offered to fix the problem by moving us to a newly renovated room, which greatly improved our stay.

The Good:

World-Class Location. Hana is an amazing place, far off the beaten track of most Hawaiian vacations. It’s absolutely gorgeous. The hotel grounds are also beautiful – the Sea Ranch side of the property is absolutely stunning.

Great Activities. We went horseback-riding one morning along the coast, which was really enjoyable. Morning yoga was also great. There were a lot of other experiential activities that were very appealing – wish we would have had more time for them.

Friendly People. The employees at the Travaasa were incredibly friendly.

Excellent Concept. We really love the idea of an experiential resort in a remote location without TVs or clocks in the rooms. The idea is really awesome.

The Not So Good:

Rooms. Most rooms are not renovated. We found it ridiculous that the asking rate for non-renovated rooms was higher than the Four Seasons. It’s not just that furnishings are old – it’s that walls are marked up (permanent stains?), there are scratches in the windows, linens are old, and there was an odd green stain in the bottom of the hot tub on the deck. We’d be OK with the non-renovated rooms if they were at a more reasonable price point.

Dining Room. We found the restaurant to be in need of help. We thought the food is very good with simple preparations and a menu heavy on local ingredients (fern salads – delicious!). The ambiance, however, is lacking. The dining room is really two areas – an indoor/outdoor terrace area where virtually all diners sit, and an inner open area that is largely empty. There is a separate bar in a different room. Our recommendation would be to relocate the bar into the inner area of the dining room, then convert the existing bar into a second dining concept with a different menu and lower price point. Hana really only has two restaurants (including the hotel dining room), with a number of other food venues operating out of tents and food trucks (you’ll understand after you visit) – it would be great if the hotel could provide more food options for guests.

The Beach Pavilion. The hotel runs a shuttle to Hamoa Beach, which is a really amazing beach. We really enjoyed spending time at this beach. The hotel also has a pavilion at the beach with an employee who has towels and beach chairs for hotel guests. All of this is good, as long as you don’t have to use the bathroom at the beach pavilion…… The bathrooms were disgusting beyond belief – like something out of a horror film. The hotel desperately needs to renovate these bathrooms.

Model Room Recommendations:
We really enjoyed the recently renovated room – definitely an upgrade from the non-renovated rooms. However, we have some recommendations before these furnishings are deployed throughout the property:

- The couch is too big and not comfortable, and also cuts off the view from the bed to the ocean. We’d recommend a smaller couch placed against the same wall as the bed, with two arm chairs across the coffee table.

- The dining table with chrome legs is too flashy and incongruent with the Hana vibe – replace this table with something a little classier – perhaps all wood table or a marble-top table.

- The coffee maker is too cheap and has a bad spout. It’s nearly impossible to pour coffee from it without spilling everywhere.

- Bedside lamps are no good. They feature a button that glows blue when the lights are turned off – this creates a blue glow around the bed area at night. We had to unplug the lights to sleep.

- LED lights behind the bed. These looks a little too flashy – consider replacing with something that feels a little more at home in Hana.

- Art. It feels a little generic, like something from a Marriott. Consider replacing with photography from the Hana area.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Aloha Nelsonjj,

It was great having the opportunity meeting you the both of you, unfortunately not under the right circumstances. I’m very happy to hear you enjoyed our unique location, our numerous guest activities and most of all the team, that really makes everything happen. As for the model/concept room you stayed in, is just that, a concept. 99% of the furniture in the room will be replaced with a more contemporary Hawaiian design with the artwork to go along with it. I hope you have the opportunity to come out again to experience the finished product, which I’m sure you’ll agree with.

Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We just got back from 3 wonderful days at the Travaasa Hana. The rooms were very spacious and the accommodations were wonderful. The activity schedule has lots of things to do, and the staff is very helpful and courteous.

We did the "Total Travaasa" package which included all meals and spa/activity credits. The spa services were very relaxing and up to par with any spa services received elsewhere (my wife and I got the "Couples Package" and our kids (18 year old twins) got massages).

The food was good. The salads and fruits were the best part. Most of that produce comes from local or other Hawaii providers, so it is fresh and tasty. The entrees were typically locally sourced, and nicely prepared, although not as good as the menu price would warrant.

The hotel has access to beach chairs and umbrellas at Hamoa Beach, which is about 2-3 miles away and a "Hawaiian beach" straight from the glossy tour guide books. The waves crash constantly, providing great body surfing, and the beach is lined with palms and other trees. We were there on a Saturday afternoon, and even with the weekend, the beach was lightly populated.

While there you are disconnected -- no TVs, or clocks, and the only wi-fi is in the lobby.

My wife and I are already making plans to go back to the Travaasa by ourselves for our next milestone anniversary in a few years.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Aloha Bob O,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments. I’m very pleased to hear you enjoyed the benefits of the Total Travaasa package, which is perfect for those wanting that care free vacation.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hana and we look forward to welcoming the both of you back to Hana.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband and I have stayed at this place a couple of times! Best place on Maui in terms of location, size of rooms, activities, views, etc. Hana and the hotel has so much in the way of natural beauty but admittedly lacks food options which is only thing missing in Hana. Even though we consider ourselves foodies, we will keep coming back! We love this place hands down and think that says it all!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Aloha Smrh88,

I would like to thank you for your continued loyalty to Travaasa Hana over the years. I’m very pleased you enjoy our plethora of complimentary activities, our rooms, our unique location, etc.

We offer three dining options here on property, Kauiki dining room, Paniolo Lounge and Hana Ranch Restaurant. If you are looking for additional options, please check out Tripadvisor for eateries in the Hana area.

Thank you again for choosing Travaasa Hana and we look forward to hosting you again.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed at room no 14 , Check in 5th July.

I had a very bad experience in the restaurant of this hotel . This hotel is situated at a place where very few dining options are available, at a remote Maui location away from the city. We reached there feeling excited about the awesome looking property with picture perfect views and lawns.

We were surprised to see freshly cooked food straight from the kitchen being kept next to a thrash bin ready to be served to the guests, with flies kissing and tasting the food. I bought that to the notice of the waitress who did not seem to care . Went up to the front desk and complained to the restaurant manager who was apologetic . Attaching pics of the fly kissed food next to the thrash.

Room wise : No AC which is sad.

Pools look awesome , the setting is great.

Beach : Awesome.

Staff : Polite.

Room Tip: Pack your food before you reach there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Aloha anshul86,

Please accept my apologies for your sub-standard dining experience. I have since shared your unfortunate experience with our restaurant operators and our recycle receptacles have been removed from the area.

I’m pleased you enjoyed our team members, the pools and Hamoa Beach. Our rooms are purposely without AC, radios, television, clocks, which is part of what makes Hana’s experience very authentic to those sugar cane era plantation homes circa early 1900’s that once dotted the land on East Maui. Our rooms are equipped with ceiling fans, numerous windows and sliding doors to take full advantage of the cooler tradewinds.

I hope you give us another opportunity to host you again in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Fantastic stay at Sea Cottages at Travassa. The infinity pool is amazing, the grounds and location are truly a million dollar view. The staff are very welcoming. We took a hike to the seven sacred pools which is a must. Horses are outside our cottage and the hotel coffee is delicious, I am a coffee lover. We ate at both restaurants and they are quite pricey, keep in mind they are the only two restaurants for dinner. I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Aloha SanFranciscoMarie,

I am very pleased to hear you had an amazing stay! Our Sea Ranch Cottages are a one of a kind Hawaiian experience with sweeping views of the Pacific. Thank you for mentioning the Travaasa team members and the wonderful memories they provided you.

Thank you for choosing Travaasa Hana and we too can’t wait for your return.

Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travaasa Hotel Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hotel Hana

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hotel Hana 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Hotel Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hotel Hana Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travaasa Hotel Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.