We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid back luxury” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travaasa Hotel Hana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travaasa Hotel Hana to your Saves list
Travaasa Hotel Hana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Laid back luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We are New Zealanders, and a great Kiwi holiday for us consists of a "Bach" by the beach (a simple cabin). For us, there is novelty value in staying in a big resort like you will find in Ka'anapali - but a real holiday is no TV, no shopping mall, no bustle. It's waking to the sound of birds, eating local and passing the time by playing board games in the sun.
If that all sounds like what you're after you can do no better than Travaasa. The charm is both Hana itself (half the adventure is getting there) but also the laid back staff, who instantly take you to the space I have described.
We woke early, and beat the crowds to Waimoko Falls (a two hour walk - take plenty of water), then met the Travaasa van at Hamoa Bay where we had a fantastic picnic delivered to us. It was a truly wonderful and memorable day.
It's a little pricey, but worth it - especially if you'd like to break up the trip to Hana to enjoy over two or three days.
The only thing that made us sorry was having to leave!

Room Tip: Decide if you want a sea cottage - the is a short walk to the amenities if you do - but the advantag...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Aloha! Sounds like you experienced what many of our previous guests discovered during their stay, and that is once Hana gets a hold of you, you have no choice but to dial it down, relax and enjoy the beauty of the surrounding area. Author James Michener called Hamoa Beach “the most beautiful in the Pacific”. We hope to welcome you back in the future and mahalo for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    126
    51
    34
    25
See reviews for
112
435
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on our honeymoon and unfortunately it was only for one night, not the whole trip. This place is amazing and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The extras - yoga, boot camp and Pilates were great too. I love this place. The room was fantastic and the grounds are beautiful.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Aloha and congratulations on your marriage. It is an honor that you chose Travaasa Hana to spend such a special occasion. We look forward to welcoming you back on your first anniversary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed three nights in a Sea Ranch Cottage. Everything was perfect. It's pure bliss. Probably the most romantic and relaxing three days we've spent in ages. Before booking, I read all the negative reviews here (as I always do). None of them rang true during our stay. The service was perfect, the cottage was well maintained and clean and very private with mesmerizing views, the food in the restaurant was amaze (I really liked the fact that not only was it tasty, but that calories were included). Also, the fact that the Sea Ranch Cottage section is adults-only means that you can relax at the pool and really relax. As others have noted, there are no TVs in the rooms, no clocks. That was one of the best parts. And Hana is still Hana... quiet, off the grid, beautiful. We drove into Hana and flew out from the local airport. One thing I would like to see is a better and bigger fitness room, but the resort is undergoing further renovation under the new owners and I'm hoping they'll upgrade it.

Room Tip: Even if you stay just one night, treat yourself to an ocean front Sea Ranch Cottage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Aloha and Mahalo for such a wonderful review of your stay. I’m delighted you had such an exciting and memorable experience. Thank for pointing out what Travaasa Hana celebrates and that is no televisions, clocks or internet in our rooms, which leaves you to discover the tranquility of Hana and reconnecting with loved ones and family.
The Kauiki and Hana Ranch Restaurants has long been a place that always provided great food, great service and a wonderful atmosphere. Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

probably the most relaxing hotel I have ever stayed in: the garden, pool and hot tub - everything is astonishingly beautiful. I think this would be the perfect place to recover from a burn out or something. What I didn't get though is why a hotel that praises itself on the lack of electronic suppliances in the rooms which is indeed relaxing, uses the noisiest albeit empty fridges. It was dead silent except for this. The coffee grinder in the kitchen was a nice touch. We checked in late (9 pm) and I found it a little disappointing that dispite this late arrival and my birthday we did not get a late check out. We did not receive a lei as a welcome nor any kind of recognition that it was my birthday. that was a little disappointing, but other than that the staff was helpful and kind. So I would say this is a really recommandable place, I will try to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hana! We’re very pleased that you enjoyed the beauty and tranquility of Travaasa Hana. And you are correct, this is the perfect place to get away from it all and recharge yourself. I apologize for us not greeting you appropriately and your birthday recognition oversight. I hope you give us another chance to make your next visit a more memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sparta, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ghat a great experience. Stayed in a sea cottage which had a beautiful view of the ocean, beautiful big room with all amenities ( except tv but they tell you that upfront on the site). Ate at the restaurant which was outstanding. Staff bent over backwards to help. Is a little expensive but worth it. Gratuities are included except for restaurant so no tipping!! Plan o do road to Hana then stat overnight at Travaasa and re energize for a morning trip to seven sacred pools!!!

Room Tip: Plan to stay overnight here after long day on road to Hana. Early start the next morning to seven sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Mahalo for your comments. Glad to hear you enjoyed yourselves in our Sea Ranch Cottages with those great views of the Pacific Ocean and the Big Island. I have to agree with your outstanding experience at our restaurant!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed in several places on Maui and travasa hana was theonly place worth remembering. It was peaceful and relaxing. Exactly what we needed. Dawn the concierge was extremely helpful and one of the sweetest people we met during our whole trip! I can't believe one review mentioned anything different! Then again that whole review was extremely negative. Gabriel was a nice young man who took my family to the restraunt across the street from the hotel. He answered all the millions of questions my boys threw at him with a smile. In fact everyone we met had a friendly smile. This is a wonderful place to stay. We will visit again. :)


  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Aloha and mahalo for the great comments. Dawn, Gabriel and the rest of our staff are authentic, attentive and very friendly to all of our guests, thank you for recognizing that! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Needs updating. Awesome location. Great food but the same menu daily. No room service and no food or drinks at the pool? A few people complained about termites. If you don't do all inclusive the food is costly.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danny M, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Mahalo for choosing Travaasa Hotel Hana and taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us. The concerns you pointed out will be addressed this summer with our room upgrades, which will consist of new furniture, upgraded bathroom, fixtures, paint, etc. We do have a stringent and successful pest control program on property, but being in a tropical environment has it challenges from time to time. Sorry we missed you at our pool side service, which is opened daily from 1pm to 6pm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travaasa Hotel Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hotel Hana

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hotel Hana 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Hotel Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hotel Hana Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travaasa Hotel Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.