We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to stay here!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travaasa Hotel Hana

Save Saved
You added Travaasa Hotel Hana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Travaasa Hotel Hana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hana
Calabash, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“You need to stay here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed here three nights and thoroughly enjoyed it. To begin with, the restaurant was terrific. All meals were excellent and the wait staff only added to the pleasure of the food(and wine). All staff at the hotel are well trained and will assist you with any help you require. While there, we enjoyed the hour long horse ride on hotel property along the ocean. In addition, my wife and I enjoyed the hot rock massage and she also had a facial. Everyone associated with the spa was very professional. We stayed in a Sea Cottage facing the ocean. The view was terrific. The cottages do show their age but we were told they are planning to begin renovations later this year. And finally, the drive to Hana is hard to describe but is a grand part of the entire trip.

Room Tip: The Sea Cottages are worth the extra dollars for the serenity and view they provide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for writing and or making Travaasa Hana part of your Maui vacation. It sounds like your favorable impressions of dining, spa and your Coastal Horseback ride might warrant a return trip?
Hope to see you in the very near future!
With aloha,
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    114
    45
    31
    25
See reviews for
102
379
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Exlisstar
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night at Travaasa for a friend's wedding. We were in Garden View room #11. I assumed we would not have views of the ocean, but I was pleasantly surprised to have a lanae that looked out over a beautifully manicured lawn and onto the ocean. Quite lovely. When we checked in we were greeted by friendly staff, cool towels, and fresh juice. Then we recevied a tour of the grounds (by golf cart). Our room wasn't anything to get terribly excited about, but the bed was comfortable, and the views were spectacular. I took a yoga class the next morning and was impressed. We were there such a short time, we weren't able to take advantage of the pool or other ammenities, but they all seemed high quality. The staff was excellent and so friendly.

I had read previous reviews expressing disappointment with the restaurant, and we had a similar experience. It took us 35 minutes just to get our drinks (we ordered orange juice and a mimosa) and the food itself was overpriced and uninspired. The waiter was kind enough to comp our drinks because they took so long to arrive.

Overall, I wish we could have stayed at least two nights to be able to enjoy more of the resort ammenities. We would stay at the Travassa again. However, we would avoid the restaurant and eat at the cheaper and tastier roadside food locals in Hana.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay in the Garden View suites, ask to see a map of the grounds first. There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for writing! We are in the process of addressing your concerns regarding our food and beverage operations. Thank you for your honest feedback.
On a positive note, I’m glad that you were able to enjoy some of our activities during your short visit. As you mentioned a longer stay, on a future visit, will allow you the opportunity to experience more of what Travaasa Hana has to offer.
We look forward to seeing you in the very near future.
A hui hou (until then….),
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

The beaches were to picture perfect. We are going back. Mr Blue was great to us and so was Pat. Everyone is loving and really care about you!We are making Hana a place we can stay to really get away. Everything we ate was fresh and made with love.It was food from heaven. You will have to try the coconut sryup with the bannanas and pancakes. Wonderful in the morning with one of the finest cup of coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thanks for writing! I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. There is nothing like gearing up for your day, with the breakfast items that you mention. Pancakes with coconut syrup on the lanai at our Kauikiki Dining Room = Heaven! Please come back to see us again soon!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We got married here a few years ago and We have been back here twice and look forward to many more times. It is the most amazing place on Earth!! We love the whole experience!!
This place is a way to have the time of your life with the one you love! I can't Wait to be back!

Room Tip: The Ranch Cottages are my favorite with a Spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Mahalo for spending your recent anniversary with us. We are always delighted when couples return to Hana to create memories. Travaasa Hana is proud to have been selected as TravelAge West Editor's Pick: Best Resort for Couples, Hawaii.
Thanks for writing, and we will see you again soon!

Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We booked the Travaasa looking to find a quite place to relax and reconnect as a couple. The hotel property is unique and rustic and nicely provides a large area of rooms where children are not allowed. The adult pool and room area helps to keep the noise to a minimum. There are no TV's in the room, which we liked. The resort experience isn't cheap and I advise you to pay very close attention to the actual costs as opposed to what is featured on the website. We had a surprise on our bill that the hotel customer service folks weren't willing to address with us at first. After a bit of discussion, the hotel owner himself came in and made everything right, which we greatly appreciated. We will be back when we next need to unplug and unwind.

P.S. AT&T cell service is pretty good at the property.

P.P.S., there is a wonderful hidden secret beach about 10 minutes walk along a coastline trail from the resort. We didn't find it until the last day. We wished we knew about it before. Be advised that the beach does appear to be informally clothing option - which just adds to the experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Mahalo for visiting! It is especially nice to hear from our Kamaaina guests! I’m glad to learn that your bill was resolved to your satisfaction, and I apologize for any inconvenience. It sounds like you were able to embrace our seasonal ‘adults only’ experience. Thanks for your positive comments.
A hui hou,
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We only spent one night, but would highly recommend a longer stay. Travaasa Hotel Hana is beautiful and one night is not enough to enjoy the amenities. It is so relaxing we didn't want to leave. The cottage was clean and comfortable, and the staff were wonderful. Definitely a first class experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage #206. The sound of the waves and cool night air is wonderful for sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thanks for writing! I am happy to learn that your short visit was a pleasant one, but am sorry to hear that you didn’t have enough time to fully enjoy all that Travaasa Hana has to offer. I hope that you can arrange for a longer visit next time. Your Sea Ranch Cottage, along with the rest of the staff, will be waiting for you.
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redlands california
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Treated my wife to a spa day for her birthday in Heavenly Hana at the Travaasa Hotel Hana. We both enjoyed the experience. Very peaceful and serene. Exquisite location overlooking the ocean in Hana. The massages were outstanding and the spa facilities were very classy and upscale in an understated way to blend in with the serenity of the surroundings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Mahalo for visiting The Spa at Travaasa on your wife’s special day! It sounds like your experience was both calming and rejuvenating and I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. I hope to welcome you back in the very near future.
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travaasa Hotel Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hotel Hana

Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Hotel Hana Maui
Travaasa Hotel Hana Maui
Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hotel Hana 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Hotel Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travaasa Hotel Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.