We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Peaceful Retreat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travaasa Hotel Hana

Save Saved
You added Travaasa Hotel Hana to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Travaasa Hotel Hana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hana
St. Thomas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A Peaceful Retreat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We just wrapped up our 3 night stay at the Travaasa and I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone that is looking for a true retreat. This is a place that anyone who wants to reconnect with themselves, their family and/or their natural surrounding should visit. It's a very peaceful, tranquil place to stay. We stayed in one of the cottages, which provided for a beautiful room including a spacious bathroom, kitchenette, sitting area and porch. It was an open floor plan with wood floors and vaulted ceilings. However, it did not include air conditioning or a TV. Regardless, we were very comfortable without AC as the atmosphere was temperate while we were there. It's a bit of a walk from the cottages to the reception area and dining room. However, the grounds are well manicured and quite nice to walk through. I would suggest requesting a cottage down by the waterfront. Even though its a longer walk to reception, it's worth it for the view of the water, sound of the waves and sunrises. You may even catch sight if a few whales like we did! One down side to the cottages is that you can hear everything that the person in the room next to you is saying and doing. Our cottage consisted of 2 rooms including ours and the noise from the people next to us was disruptive. We got the sense that the hotel was somewhat empty so it was disappointing that they kept booking the room right next to us rather than spreading us out. You may want to ask the hotel not to do this if they are slow. The hotel offers a number of activities at no cost including, yoga, Pilates, boot camp, etc. They also have a lovely pool and provide service at a gorgeous public beach just 10 minutes away. We loved our time at this hotel, and I didn't want to leave when it was time to go. I'd really like to go back someday. Hana is a special place.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Aloha and thanks for visiting! Your description of Hana as a ‘special place’ touched a chord. I am glad that you were able to take part in our activities and that you enjoyed your time with us. Seeing the whales must have been a thrill too! Come see us again soon!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    114
    45
    31
    25
See reviews for
102
377
15
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

The drive is harrowing, the views spectacular, the local shops a throw-back and the destination paradise. A quick visit to see friends in Lahaina allowed for a drive to Hana on the East coast of Maui. It was heaven, despite the motion sickness! Check-in was delightful, with fresh fruit juice and a warm towel waiting. Golf carts deliver you and your bags to (in our case) a charming Sea Ranch Cottage. I never wanted to leave. The cottage was airy, open, large, with small kitchen, very large bath, deck with ocean view and horses grazing on the other side of the fence. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, although service a bit slow. Lounge entertainment was authentic Hawa'iian music performed by two gifted musicians and lovely, graceful dancers. This place puts a spell over you that's hard to shake. Our second day had us lounging as if in a coma, walking the lovely grounds, visiting the excellent art gallery and enjoying another wonderful meal. This is one of those places that takes a hold of you and you know you'll return again for a much longer visit the next time. Can't recommend it highly enough. Aloha!

Room Tip: Be advised the only area with TV, cellphone or internet service is the hotel library. No coverage i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Aloha and thanks for writing!
Providing an ‘authentic Hawaii experience’ is one of our greatest strengths, and one that each and every staff member embraces fully. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed our gallery and dining options as well.
I hope to see you again in the very near future.
A hui hou (until then),
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I think it all depends what you are looking for. If you seek excitement and people, this is not your place. If you seek peace and tranquility with natural Hawaii - you can't beat it. For us this was perfection, heaven on earth.

The location can no be beat - glorious ocean views, sounds of the birds and crashing waves - it was all so perfect, it was a little surreal.

The staff was also fantastic. every single person we interacted with had a huge smile and was extremely helpful. Most of the employees have lived in Hana most of their lives and they have a lot of pride in their town and resort.

The grounds were immaculate and perfectly designed. we enjoyed our time at the pool, the spa, the restaurant, our balcony. really everywhere.

The spa was the best - I believe I was the first husband to ever outspend his wife at the spa and she is a huge spa connoisseur. I went to the spa everyday of our trip

The restaurant was also excellent. Very fresh, perfect portion sizes. excellent taste.

a final note we were on the "total travaasa" package which means our meals and spa (125/day) were included. this is obviously more expensive, but we found it to be very liberating. we enjoyed our spa and meals so much more because it was money we had already spent. In the end we probably ate way less, and enjoyed it far more.

all in all we had a great vacation and left saying 358 days to go until we come back

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Mahalo for you review! Our Total Travaasa package was designed to allow our guests the flexibility with the daily meals, activities and spa treatments that you and your wife experienced. I am glad that your stay with us was as spontaneous and carefree as you describe. Come back soon, the Spa is waiting for you!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Whenever my wife and I want to get away from it all, we think no farther than Travaasa Hana. It is a magical place augmented by the fact there is no cellphone coverage (at least if you're a T-Mobile customer), no TVs, and no Internet in the rooms. And that's the way we like it. The grounds are lovely, the staff is the best, the local beaches are incredible, the spa is one of the best we've been to, and the list goes on. While some may not appreciate the isolation, that's something you must anticipate and make the most of before arrival. We normally stop at Costco in Kahului to pick up snacks, wine, etc., to carry us past Hana's limited dining options.

Room Tip: Strongly recommend the Sea Ranch Cottages. Perfectly quiet, comfortable, and situated in the middle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Aloha – Thank you for coming back to visit and for appreciating all that Hana has to offer. I am thrilled that you were able to spend a few days ‘off the grid’ with us in Hana! I hope to see you on a return visit!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We enjoyed the property much more than the Ritz in Kapalua, Maui. The Hana staff really treated you like welcome guests, and I loved the no tipping policy. We enjoyed the many activities on property. The only issue we had was the limited choices for dinner near the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks for writing! The hospitality of our staff is one of the main reasons why our guests return to Hana and Travaasa Hana. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful experience!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Our family stayed three nights at the Travaasa in Hana. While elements of the property were a bit tired (tennis courts especially), overall it was a beautifully run resort in a gorgeous setting. There are lots of quality activities available to guests, including early morning yoga while you look out at the whales, and you are not far from the state park and some stunning hikes. We'll definitely go back.

Room Tip: Our room was considered a garden suite but happily it look onto the ocean as well (see photo).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
I’m happy to learn that you had a great time during your stay with us. Watching the humpback whales at play is one of my favorite things to do, and I’m glad that you could see it first-hand. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Maui.
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Travaasa Hana is a magical place. We have been here twice, once before it was owned by Travassa and once since. We will be back for sure.

This resort is unlike anything you have ever experienced. The grounds are beautiful and the location is wonderful. It is the most peaceful place I have ever been to. The hotel is broken up into two areas, the regular rooms and the Sea Ranch Cottages. We have stayed in both.

The regular rooms are closer to the main areas of the resort, the dining ares, the spa etc. The Sea Ranch Cottages are on the other side of the resort.

Part of what makes this resort so special is that is a lot more old Hawaii style than most. It is not all brand new and modern, it is very authentic Hawaiian and a little bit rustic. It is beautifully charming. The regular rooms are large and have a dining area and kitchenette. Ours had a king bed. There is no air conditioning in any of the rooms here. You don't need it, the resort is right on the ocean so you get great trade winds and all the windows can be left open in your room. There are shutters for privacy even with everything open and their are ceiling fans. The rooms have very large bathrooms as well, separate tub and shower, toilet closet and large vanity. Each room has a kitchenette where they provide a small frige, coffee maker, tea pot, coffee beans and a grinder. All kinds of glass where as well. We brought some goodies for the room and our own alcohol as well so we could just hang in the room and have nice time.

On our most recent visit we stayed in the Sea Ranch cottages with a private jaccuzzi. This is really the way to go, it is only a tiny bit more expensive, but so worth it. You get a cottage with a large deck and outdoor jacuzzi. We had one they call an ocean view, vs the ocean front. Ours was about 100 yards from the ocean with dead on views. The Sea Ranch area is great, its like a little community of cottages spread out, very quiet and private. There are two pools, one near the rooms and the other near the cottages, the yoga classes are also done near the cottages. The cottage has a large living area, sleeping are, dining area and kitchenette. We hung out on the deck most of our stay, it was so wonderful.

What strikes you most about Travaasa Hana is that you feel as if you are the only guest most of the time. When we were here the hotel was more than half booked, but we rarely saw another guest. Even at the pool, there was one person, when you walk around you don't see anyone, it is wonderful. The staff said it is always like this even when fully booked. Many people who come here, go hiking, hangs out on their decks etc, so you rarely see anyone. It really amazing how private and quiet it is here.

I read the other reviews before going and was shocked to hear what people have said. I think that people must come here with expectations of a fancy modern resort or something. That is easily found all over Maui, but coming to Hana is a very different type of vacation for sure. Hana is a sleepy little town of about 1200 people. There are two, maybe three places to eat dinner in the whole town, two are owned by the hotel, and all shut their doors by 8:30pm. You have more options for lunch, check out yelp. com for tips on outside eating, our favorite place was the little Thai place down the block. Everything is within walking distance or you can get bikes from the hotel. This is a place to relax, unwind and literally do nothing, or just be with nature.

Our stay here was wonderful, the room was very clean, no issues with bugs as reported by other reviewers, food was great in main dining room at the hotel as well. Keep in mind that you are in the middle of a jungle rain forest, this is a place where there are all kinds of creatures in the outdoors so if one happens to get into your room its kind of expected.

The hotel staff is great, and everything is tended to immediately. Since the cottages are a little farther from the main area you can call for ice or anything and they come right to your door with what you want. The staff runs around by golf cart and they will transport you as well if you wish. Its about a 5-7 minute leisurely walk to the front desk and dining area. You cal also walk to the Hana Ranch Market and restaurant in the same amount of time. If you do stay at the Sea Ranch Cottages, make sure to park in the lower lot, its a lot closer to the room.

The resort has all kinds of fun things to do, classes and activities, its really meant as an all inclusive type of stay. There have pools, tennis, a mini golf course, yoga and other workout classes, hiking excursions, horseback riding and the list goes on. There is always something to do if you want it.

There is also a full service spa. They offer a pretty great selection of services from facials, body treatments and massages. They have an aqua treatment that sounds interesting where you are pulled and pushed in a warm bath of water, I was not able to get this one, but would have like to try it.

They have a small waiting area just off the locker room with with cold water, not your usual quiet room, you would only want to hang here for a few minutes, nothing to read or do. Locker room has full size locker with fluffy robes and spa slippers. There is a cold plunge pool in the private patio of the ladies locker, steam room and showers. The jacuzzi/spa is outside and shared so swim suits are required. All the treatment rooms are accessed from the outdoor walkway.

I went for the Reflexology treatment 60 minutes of foot and hand reflexology. This was a great treatment for anyone who really enjoys real reflexology. Most places basically just give you a foot massage, but here they do it right. They use a small stick to press and push on the reflexology spots all over you feet, and they do get in there deep, sometimes a little uncomfortable, but that is what this type of treatment is about, releasing tension and aiding in the healing of your body. They begin with a dry brushing of your legs and feet, then the reflexology, followed by a wonderful and relaxing massage of your feet. You are then wrapped in hot blankets and they move on to your hands with a similar routine. I went in and out of sleep through the whole thing and it was heavenly.

Basically Travaasa Hana is a magical place that I can't wait to return to. It is a wonderful spot to really unwind and let the mainland leave you, while you soak up Hana for all its glory.

Room Tip: Stay in the Sea Ranch Cottages and visit the spa!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Wow, Elizabeth! It sounds like your experience from start to finish was terrific. Thank you for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor. We look forward to your third visit, and hope to see you again soon!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Travaasa Hotel Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hotel Hana

Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Hotel Hana Maui
Travaasa Hotel Hana Maui
Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hotel Hana 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Hotel Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travaasa Hotel Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.