We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW location! Beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Travaasa Hotel Hana

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Travaasa Hotel Hana to your Saves list
Travaasa Hotel Hana
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Certificate of Excellence
Del Mar, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“WOW location! Beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We loved our few days here at Travaasa. So glad that we did not drive to and from Hana in the same day. We sprung for the ocean view and could not have been happier. Food at the hotel was ok, less expensive option is the lounge, but you have to know the happy hour hours. That menu was much simpler than the main dining room and we would have been happier with that menu than the dining room. I purchased a facial for myself, which was great. And photography lesson for my husband, which he thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Definitely the ocean front cottage. And Sunrise right outside is phenomenal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Mahalo (thank you) for your positive comments regarding your recent stay with us. It sounds like you were able to capture the essence of Hana during your stay and I hope that you left feeling refreshed and energized. I look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    153
    63
    40
    27
See reviews for
128
508
18
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hotel Hana Maui WAS a five star family experience. What the new owners are doing is taking away one of the greatest family places and turning it into a joke and putting a huge price tag on it. Give me a break, "net fishing" and "two step lessons" - no ultra rich fool cares about that. Stop putting a price tag on something and try and turn it into a cold "four seasons" experience. Hana is about family - even the name Hana means "beloved home or house", although I bet Travaasa has never looked that up yet.

I hope the new owners fail and the treasure goes back into a family that cares about the town and people of Hana first and the family visitors as well.

As a kid I was lucky enough to ride the horses, surf the waves, etc. I got married on Hamoa Beach. I played soccer with the locals and go to their pot luck fundraisers. I'm sure Travaasa hasn't put this in the brochure because, God Forbid, a child steps near their ocean suites.

The cows that used to roam those fields wouldn't let kids in either. But at least, they were protecting the Hana way of life, not the fake spa and nurture facilities... You're turning this into a Hollywood re-hab center with the B.S.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha JimS
I am sorry to hear that our property did not meet your expectations. As you can see from the hundreds of positive reviews we strongly feel that we offer a unique boutique hotel experience at a great value. I have personally spoken to hundreds of delighted guests that commented very favorably on our amenities, the beautiful setting and warm service of our staff. Although we were not able to meet your standards during your visit we truly hope that you enjoyed your vacation and visit to the beautiful island of Maui.
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed five nights in one of their cottages with an ocean view. It was large, private, clean, and comfortable. The food in the restaurant was very good, and the grounds were beautiful. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved watching the waves crash on boulders along the shore. There were a few minor problems with the cottage (nonfunctioning vent fan in the bathroom, low-wattage light bulbs that made reading a challenge at night). We really liked their no-tipping policy. We would stay there again if it weren't for the 3-hour, narrow, winding road from the airport at Kahului. The plus side of this drive was that there weren't many people in this part of Maui, making driving tours once we got to Hana a lot more pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha – Mahalo for your post. Our recent partnership with Mokulele Airlines now gives our guests an option to fly to Hana. Rental cars will be available for day excursions. Perhaps you can give that a try on your next visit?
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

When u contemplate staying at the Travaasa Hana you are also biting off the "road to Hana". We did the full circle with its hairpin turns requiring a horn honk since the road and bridges can be totally blind which add to the experience, a bit laborious, and unbeknownst to us we were out of compliance with our rental car contract. We were celebrating our 4th anniversay and they graciously sent a bottle of Sparkling wine and a loaf of banana bread to go with our delicious coffee in the am. Since, we are "I Prefer" members they upgraded us to an OV cottage for our two night stay, which by the way was the perfect length of stay. The panaramic view of the grounds and ocean was gorgeous. The sea view cottage was clean, serene and rustically simple but hasn't changed since my husband was their several years ago. The garden cottages across the street are a LONG way from the ocean. The Spa which has been rated the "best in Hawaii" was not. We chose to dine early and take advantage of the ocean vistas and really enjoyed taking in the live local Hawaiin music by "CJ". The seafood was fresh and the local grass fed beef was delicious. I highly recommend this trek once!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay less than ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L D, Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Aloha Sandy C.
Mahalo (thank you) for visiting Travaasa Hana, and for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that our facilities, staff and especially our entertainment and culinary offerings exceeded your expectations, and will be sure to share your positive comments with our staff and management team.
It would be my pleasure to personally assist you with any future inquiries.
I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Hana in the very near future.
A hui hou (until then).

Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was one of the finest hotels I have stayed in. With a staff that was excellent and the perfect spot to get away from it all. The ocean front room were out of this world and watching the horses i the morning grazing with the ocean in the background spectacular. Love Love Love this place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L D, Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Aloha Igal45,
Mahalo (thank you) for visiting Travaasa Hana, and for taking the time to write this review on Trip Advisor.
We are delighted that our facilities and staff exceeded your expectations, and will be sure to share your positive comments with our staff and management team.
It would be my pleasure to personally assist you with any future inquiries.
I hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to Hana in the very near future. A hui hou (until then).
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed Dec10-17 2012 in pricey sea ranch cottage. Location,pools,grounds beautiful, however placed us in a cottage way at the back overlooking a field, ocean view only if you leaned out and craned your neck. They moved us to a better view room yet the blinds were broken, towels dirty and coffee maker took 20 minutes to clean out, Yuk. Asked to move again, this time got amazing view and clean room. Staff were great about it all. The only issue we had was with the waitress in the Paniolo Lounge. She needs to be fired. We arrived to eat about 45 minutes before closing. She asked us to eat in the main dining room since they had the same menu. The dining room is cavernous,we'd be the only 2 in there so we wanted to stay in her Lounge with the other patrons. Her eyes rolled and took our order. She spent the whole time with her boyfriend who was waiting for her to get off work, he sat a table near the bar. We had to beg for coffee, dessert menu and the bill. She just wanted us out of there. The boyfriend we met the next day, he runs the Travaasa beach facility at Hamoa beach, she was visiting him while he tried to do his job there. It's not the only place to stay in Hana so I would not stay again for the $$$ charged and they need to know about that staff in the Lounge, shame on her.

Room Tip: If you pay for a sea ranch cottage, get the ocean "front" rooms, the ocean "view"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha – Thank you for writing! We are in the process of addressing your concerns regarding our guest room product and are planning a complete room renovation at the end of this month. As you pointed out the hotel has a great overall feel with the openness of the lobby breathtaking pool and beautiful grounds. We are committed to improving all guest amenities and hopefully will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Danny Mynar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahaina, Hawaii
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Completely agree with Craig's review. He hit it spot on. Love the grounds and zen, dining is good food and lovely views. Accommodations and service are mediocre at best. Friendly, just not the level of service a hotel with these rates call for. The Sea Cottages are dates but clean. Very 'old Hawaiian' style. No one is over eager to provide service but always willing. Kind folks, just Hana speed.

Room Tip: I wouldn't hesitate to try the standard garden rooms, as the sea cottages did nothing for me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DMynarHana, General Manager at Travaasa Hotel Hana, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Aloha – Thank you for writing! We are in the process of addressing your concerns regarding our guest room product a complete room renovation at the end of this month. As you pointed out the hotel has a great overall feel with the openness of the lobby and the beautiful grounds. We are committed to improving all guest amenities and hopefully will be able to welcome you again in the future.
Danny Mynar
General Manager
808-270-3257
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Travaasa Hotel Hana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travaasa Hotel Hana

Address: 5031 Hana Hwy, PO Box 9, Hana, Maui, HI 96713 (Formerly Hotel Hana Maui)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Travaasa Hotel Hana 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Expedia, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Travaasa Hotel Hana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Hana Maui And Honua
Travaasa Hotel Hana Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travaasa Hotel Hana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.