We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Space” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ekena

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ekena
Off Hana Highway, P.O. Box 728, Hana, Maui, HI 96713   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hana B&B and Inns
Blue Lake, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Amazing Space”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

We stayed in the downstairs portion of the house and fortunately no one was upstairs. The care takers do live in the other side of the house, but it wasn't weird. Robyn was super nice and helpful. The downstairs was large, open floor plan with an awesome deck for views. I read other reviews where people called this a B&B, it is not a B&B it is a house rental. They provide a few things but don't pull out all the stops. Overall it's a very nice spot but beware you may be sharing the property with who ever is renting above or below you and the care takers will for sure be there. If you want total privacy, this isn't the spot for you. Oh, also, there are pets (2 dogs 1 cat), who we totally loved and Razz (the dog) would walk with us, they've been in this place though so if you have pet allergies... Loved Razz the dog though it was fun to have a dog hanging out with us while we were on vacation:)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    6
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
26
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2011

We arrived from "The Road to Hana" adventure a couple hours earlier that our 3 PM check-in time due to the rain which limited our out-of-car experiences. Robin welcomed us with a friendly greeting and indicated our place was ready. For the next few hours, my wife and I sat on the deck soaking up an incredible view. With the 150 degree oceanview and the lush mountainside vegetation, we couldn't get enough. Perhaps, the "no visitor" policy stems from abuse of a great room and view that invites a party. (Another Hana B & B owner experienced a similar situation.) Although we were aware of the need to bring food supplies to Hana, we didn't anticipate the number 4 rated "B&B and Inns" would not have coffee or a continental breakfast. Also, only hand soap was provided. We would agree with a previous review that cited a need for curtains on the parking lot side of the house. Being owners of a house in the tropics, we are well aware of the constant need for maintenance (e.g.deck doors did not lock.) Ekena is showing its age.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed here to celebrate our 1 year wedding anniversary. This place is beautiful, breathtaking. We were in awe when we saw the floor-to-ceiling windows and doors that all opened to the most gorgeous and lush view. We loved having a glass of wine and watching the rain fall from our lanai. A hammock hung there would be wonderful!
Ekena was one of two places we stayed in Hana. We do have a couple of aspects that would make us probably not choose to stay there again. One is privacy. There really isn't any. The caretaker lives next door and is always around; we felt sort of like we were celebrating our anniversary with our mom and dad. Second, there are no blinds to pull at night. While none are needed on most windows, one on the kitchen window that faces the parking lot and where the caretaker is often wandering around would be nice. We didn't feel like the place was really "ours" while we stayed there. We felt like we had to keep our voices low and couldn't really relax and take it all in. We were also given a small pamphlet to read "at our leisure." We excitedly took it out to the lanai to read and found that it was basically a rule book; such as "no visitors allowed." They did also have a piece of paper on the counter listing local sites which was nice. We saw that another reviewer described the caretaker as "brusque." We have to say that we agree. While she is perfectly polite it does seem a bit forced and her parting words to us were a semi-nasty comment regarding tourists; we drove away with a "hmmm" feeling.
It is truly a beautiful place and nice as an option given that there are not a ton of places to stay in Hana, but not entirely for us.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isetorp, Manager at Ekena, responded to this review, November 27, 2011
Aloha, and thank you for taking the time to review us. We certainly do appreciate your 4 star rating and are always happy to see guests’ faces when they walk in and see that incredible view open up in front of them. We are sorry that you felt that the house was not as private as you hoped it would be. I could list the many ways that we are one of the most private homes in Hana, but the bottom line is you did not feel that while you were here, and I am sorry that you were disappointed with any aspect of the property. Your stay was very brief so I must have been very busy the one day that you were here. Fortunately, I know that your gorgeous ocean view across the front of the house was not interrupted since no one can walk on that side of the house as the land drops off steeply just below the balcony. I am sorry if you felt I was anything but welcoming. I actually remember that, amongst other things, we briefly talked about the beautiful part of Idaho that you live in. It is always my goal to have happy guests that leave here feeling thrilled with their choice of accommodations and looking forward to coming back. Your last comment about a “semi-nasty comment regarding tourists” left me totally bewildered. We have met and hosted thousands of people over the past 20 years from all over the world and without a doubt, the vast majority of them have enriched our lives and touched us in so many ways. We are very appreciative of the people who choose to stay here and I am sorry if you did not feel our appreciation. Again, thank you for acknowledging the beauty of Ekena. Mahalo, Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This is the place to stay in Hana. First of all, if you are considering staying in Hana, DO! This is a very special part of Maui and this place at Ekena really is special. The view is so beautiful and just surrounds you, with lush green. There is just a feeling of endless space and peace. I loved just gazing off the balcony. We rented Jasmine house and would love to try and see the next level up, but maybe next time. We were very happy with Jasmine. There were 4 of us and we all felt like we had enough space and what a lovely kitchen and dining area for our evening meals. I have no complaints whatsoever and Robin and Gaylord are very accomodating and available, yet there is not a feeling of invasion whatsoever. We did think occasionally that the couch could be a bit more comfortable, and some of the furniture a little dated, but that is not really important to the overall feel of this home. I am still closing my eyes and imagining the view that we experienced for 3 days. It is a place one could stay and have a retreat, but it is also the perfect place to just meander and explore Hana and area. Expect it to be buggy, humid and tropical and let yourself to be open to the benefits of staying here. Rent this house and enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ORLANDO, FL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011 via mobile

First, I have to say that if you are debating renting this home, debate no further. It is far better than the hotel in the area. Not to say that the Travassa hotel is subpar, but this home is amazing. From our arrival at the home and greeting from the mgrs dog Raz, to Gaylord, the house mgrs conversation and accommodating attitude, we loved every minute. The home has breathtaking views, is spotless and fully stocked w everything you could need. If I could give it more than 5 stars, I would. We spent the last few days of our honeymoon here and it was like heaven.. floor to ceiling Windows all around and a massive deck w gorgeous sunrises and sunsets. Rent this house.

Mike and Claire

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We highly recommend staying at Ekena (we had the Jasmine house) if you are staying overnight in Hana. It is a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay, and the views of the hillside and ocean below are gorgeous. The house is spacious, has every convenience, and immaculately kept. The owners and their pets are very friendly. You will wake to birdsong and greet the morning on your own deck looking out at the water and clouds. Be sure to do your grocery shopping in Kahului or Paia first. Good for couples and also families.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

We were looking for an out-of-the-way place to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We were referred to a different property in Hana by some friends who had stayed there, but that place wasn't available during our time frame. The owner referred us to Ekena, and we're so glad she did. This place was perfect! We had a 180-degree view of the ocean as well as a mountain behind us. You can see the ocean from almost anywhere in the house because nearly the entire back is made of sliding glass doors. The caretakers were friendly and welcoming. They maintained a low profile but were always there when we had questions or needed something. Razz their dog was our best friend during our visit to Hana.

The house was immaculate and well appointed. We brought our own food and cooked all our meals there. The kitchen was fully equipped and met all our cooking needs.

Hana is the perfect place to go if you want to see beautiful sights but don't care to be around crowds of people. We had multiple outings where an hour or more went by without seeing anyone else. The rugged beauty of Hana and the surrounding area will take your breath away.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
isetorp, Manager at Ekena, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Aloha and thank you for sharing your enjoyment of Ekena and Hana. They are special places and we never tire of hearing how much people enjoy their time in Hana and this peaceful home. We congratulate you on 25 years together and hope that you can celebrate many more special occasions here at Ekena. Mahalo, Robin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ekena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ekena

Address: Off Hana Highway, P.O. Box 728, Hana, Maui, HI 96713
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Hana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Also Known As:
Ekena Hana, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ekena, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ekena to your Saves list