We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Ocean Breezes

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maui Ocean Breezes to your Saves list
Maui Ocean Breezes
240 North Holokai Road, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save $$'s = visit our site.
Ranked #2 of 10 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“3rd time back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Our third stay at Maui Ocean Breezes. This is the real Hawaii – lush grounds, ocean views, cool trade winds and peace and quiet and a great retreat from the crowds. The pool is an added bonus for the kids. Although it is slightly off the “beaten track” it is very close to Haiku and Paia which are both quirky and have great restaurants, shops and coffee - Colleens at Haiku has the best burgers and the coffee is great at Paia Bay Coffee. We stayed in the Hibiscus Hideaway which has a great verandah looking across the lawn to the ocean.

Casey was again a great host and is always there if you need something but respects your privacy. Apart from the regular supply of fresh fruit, this time she excelled with freshly baked banana bread, meringue pie and sparklers for the kids.
Also available are beach towels, guest laundry and snorkelling gear.

The pictures on the website are exactly how the place looks.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    21
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
94
129
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Man.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Just got back from a 2 week stay on Maui at the Maui Ocean Breezes. We stayed in the Studio and it was perfect for two people. The king size bed was comfortable, the whole place was clean, the ocean breezes kept the Studio at a comfortable temperature, great for sleeping. Although it is off the “beaten track” it was closed enough to several essential sites (beaches, shopping, restaurants, etc). The pictures on their website are exactly how the place looks.

Casey was a sweet-heart, she ensured we had everything we needed, even brought us coffee, milk and sugar on our first morning as we didn’t get to stop to pick up anything. She made us special treats to help us celebrate our anniversary. The grounds are lovely, even though is was ‘winter’ so not the usual amount of fresh fruit available, Casey provided us with bananas, limes, lemons, coconuts and tomatoes she has grown in her garden. We had access to beach towels, beach chairs, and there is even a guest laundry facility so you can do washing if need be. The whole experience was wonderful, thanks especially to Casey. If you want to be away from the crowds, yet close enough to some interesting small towns to make getting supplies easy, this is the place for you.

We ate at Colleen’s in Haiku, excellent breakfast and lunch, didn’t get a chance to try supper. We tried Paia Fish Market a couple time for lunch, excellent food but very busy and sometimes hard to get a seat at the communal tables. Another good Paia restaurant is the Flatbread Company, good pizza, they use lots of local ingredients. If you want something special, try Mama’s Fish House, very good food, nice setting especially if you get a table close to the front, however very expensive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Our family will never forget our amazing stay here. The grounds are beautifully enchanting with hidden treasures around each corner. The owner is, I believe, an artist and there are beautiful pieces of art at the base of a palm or in the lawn etc..so fun to explore and find. We loved our stay in the cottage...which is painted so beautifully inside. We were up early and used the meditation room, hit the beach and slept soundly on their very very cushy beds. We will be back! oxxoxo

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed in the Hibiscus Hideaway for two nights in April 2013. We had spent five days in the Lahaina area and then one week in Kihei. We finished off our trip at the Maui Ocean Breezes so we would be closer to the Hana highway as we explored that side of Maui.

We enjoyed our stay in this unique setting. This property features a studio and apartment on ground level with the main residence above. There's also a separate cottage. The Hibiscus Hideway is the one bedroom apartment which has a curtained-off bedroom, bathroom, kitchen with table and small area with a futon and two chairs. There is also a very nice covered lanai where we enjoyed drinking our coffee and watching the sunrise.

The kitchen was adequately stocked for our needs, but we didn't cook much. There is no dishwasher, but they do supply dishwashing liquid and a dish drainer. The bathroom featured a jetted tub, but be careful when taking a shower in it because both my husband and I noticed it was very slippery.

The caretaker, KC, was very friendly and checked in with us everyday to see if we needed anything. She supplied us with papaya, limes, bananas, kiwis and tomatoes picked from the property which was a nice touch.

We particularly enjoyed the quiet surroundings and the nightly view of the stars against a very black sky.

I can think of only one drawback that may be an issue for SOME. Since they choose not to spray pesticides on their property, you may have to contend with Hawaiian cockroaches, spiders and centipedes. They have an information sheet in the apartment describing this. But that's the price you pay for being surrounded by orchards and lush greenery! During our stay, we had a small gecko in residence with us that enjoyed chirping occasionally in the night. We also saw one cockroach in our bedroom and a couple of small spiders.

Anjali (one of the owners) was very easy to work with. She responded to emails promptly and answered all our questions.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I stayed at the Maui Ocean Breezes with a friend for my first trip to Maui and couldn't have wished for a better place to come home to after long days of exploring the island. The property is just beautiful, with an amazing view of the ocean and a big lush yard surrounding it. It's perfect for anyone looking for some peace and quiet away from the tourist hustle, yet it's close to a variety of shopping and dining options in nearby Paia town, and right near the Road to Hana and other beautiful places to explore.
The acoomodations were just as perfect as the location, I really loved the cute decorations everywhere (inside and outside), it made the whole place seem so warm and inviting. Everything was very clean, and nice and cool as well. The pool (with a little waterfall!) looked great too, and I wish we had found the time to try it. Next time, hopefully, I would definitely love to come back for a longer stay. Thanks so much to our amazing hosts!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I spent a week in the studio apartment. I've been to Maui a number of times and this stay was definitely one of the best. Anjali ,Ken and Casey are terrific hosts. Beautiful clean accommodations. Quiet grounds with a great view of the ocean. They have a very nice mediation hut that is also set up for yoga practice. There is also a Bikram Yoga studio 15 minutes away.
I hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We couldn't have found a more perfect fit for our stay in Maui. Our host, KC went out of her way to provide a lovely experience for our family. One day it was fresh baked banana bread..still warm out of the oven. Another day fresh squeezed lemonade, fresh lemons, limes, bananas and during our stay she even cracked open a coconut for us with her machete. We all enjoyed the fresh coconut water and meat. The views were spectacular, the meditation hut was serene and having total privacy and no crowds made for a complete paradise haven when we returned from the beach, hikes, paia, hana, etc. We had access to beach towels, cooler, body boards and snorkel equipment that made going to the beach very easy. The pool was perfect for our 5 year old daughter and we enjoyed playing in the waterfall together. We highly recommend this cottage/ohana if you are looking for the real hawaiian experience, less touristy, quiet and filled with aloha!! Huge mahalos to Anjali and KC, who made the business part of the vacation lodging seamless and stress free.

Room Tip: The cottage provided ample privacy, peace and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Ocean Breezes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Ocean Breezes

Address: 240 North Holokai Road, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embraced by the views of the Pacific in front, the dormant volcano in the back, the accommodations are set in organic tropical gardens with fruits, flowers and two baby goats. A Perfect " Home away from Home " for couples as well as families with small children. Offering 4 accommodation choices, each with ocean views, kitchen , ensuite bath, high speed WiFi, cableTV, Shared guest laundry, 40 ft salt water pool and a meditation/yoga hut. 15 miles from the airport on the ocean side of the road to Hana and close to cafes, shopping, beaches, waterfalls in the towns of Haiku, Paia and Makawao. A convenient location for exploring most of Maui's attractions. We are eco friendly and do not use artificial scents or harsh chemicals. Our electricity is powered by the sun. The year round temperature between 65 to 85 degrees Fahrenheit and ocean breezes eliminate the need for air conditioning, All rooms have fans and two windows bringing in pristine air. It can rain at night or in early morning which freshens up the air. There are always rainbows after the rain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Maui Ocean Breezes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Ocean Breezes Hotel Haiku
Maui Ocean Breezes Haiku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Ocean Breezes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.