We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point
Save
You added Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point to your Saves list
Box 1095, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Haiku B&B and Inns
Mannheim, Germany
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Relaxing!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

Cliff´s Edge is a perfect place to escape Maui’s crowds. Far away from mass tourism, you’ll find a quiet, clean and very cozy B&B to wind down and relax. The property overall is divided in a main house and two adjacent bungalows. Altogether only four individual guest units guarantee maximum privacy to enjoy nice gardens, a wonderful refreshing salt water pool or just the view. Location at North Shore is certainly impressing, but not unique and we felt sometimes much more somewhere at the rugged European Atlantic coastlines in Galicia or southwest Portugal than on Maui. Breakfast was simple, but good. Room (penthouse suite) was really spacious, clean, with a fantastic Ocean view from bed, bathroom and balcony, equipped with skylights to watch the stars and decorated with tropical flowers. Unfortunately ‘Kitchenette’ had neither cooker nor kitchen sink, mattress was US-like oversoft and tacky plastic furniture on balcony is not adequate in a so-called ‘Luxury accommodation’. Besides that petty critique and even if regular rates appear slightly overpriced, Cliff´s Edge with its very pleasant hosts is a highly recommended accommodation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
41
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
east aurora, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

We were looking for an "off the beaten path" B&B. Cliff's edge on the north shore of Maui was just perfect for us. We arrived after dark and when we woke the next morning, sat up in the very comfy king bed & looked out the sliding screened door in front of us -there was the Pacific ocean! Perched on a 300 ft. cliff, the view is one we will never forget! The grounds are tropical, the rooms were clean and comfortable. Very spacious bathroom. We stayed in the Penthouse suite. Jon left our breakfast tray outside our room every morning. We watched humpback whales & turtles from our private lani. The pool area w/jacuzzi is also private and comfortable. A hammock is perfectly placed for the view. We took the road to Hana- crazy road! but much to experince along the way. We had a wonderful lunch at the Hana Hotel. If you can, take the road all the way around as the other side is spectacular too! Don't miss the ride up to the volcano, but forget about riding a bike down, as some brochures suggest- you will surely die!! lol but you will see what I mean.
Cliff's Edge is a perfect B&B if you want to be away from the commercial area. But don't miss driving to see all the beautiful island has to offer! Not recommended for children. If you can afford a little more their Bali suite is incredible, Jon took us in to see it and he did a marvelous job with the ambiance of the room!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Commerce Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2009

All B and B's have their own flavor, and this one was delicious! The hosts, John and Susan, were sweet, lovely people--very down to earth and warm. The King's suite was spacious, clean, and beautifully decorated. The furniture was good quality, and it was Very clean.
The breakfast of fresh fruit, juice, and pastry was always promptly delivered so we could eat it on our own schedule. With the coffee maker in the room, we never had to wait for coffee.
We stayed in a B and B on the big island before coming here, and this place blew it out of the water.
We had unbelievable privacy, and full use of a salt water pool, inground hot tub, and lounge chairs with a gorgeous view of cliffs, ocean waves, and the occasional whale.
If you want to hang out with a crowd of tourists, this is not the place for you. But if you value quiet, nature, and serenity, you can't go wrong with Cliff's Edge.
Jill and Alan Witucki, Michigan

  • Liked — remote location
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing!
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

We stayed in the Bali Cottage for several days at the end of October. I cannot say enough about the property and what an amazing time we had. I wouldn't have changed a thing - other than staying longer!

Cliff's Edge is conveniently located past Paia so you can get a really great head start for the Road to Hana. It is (relatively) close to some wonderful restaurants and amazing scenery - much better than any other part of the island (ahem, Wailea, etc.). Trust Susan and Jon's recommendations - they won't lead you astray. Seriously, staying anywhere else on the island was inconvenient compared to our location at Cliff's Edge.

Waking up to the bay and the cliffs every morning may be the highlight of my entire trip. We grilled out almost every night and enjoyed the view and hung out in the hot tub late into the evening. Jon and Susan were always nearby, but never stopped by to check in on us - totally welcome for this honeymooning couple.

Side note - we LOVED the bumpy road on the way to the property. It is exactly what it is supposed to be. You feel like you are really privileged to be accessing such an exclusive part of the island. It's all part of the charm.

I cannot recommend the Cliff's Edge with any more enthusiasm. It was wonderful and we really look forward to coming back for ALL of our anniversaries.

  • Liked — The views... the seclusion...
  • Disliked — We loved it all.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anna maria island
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2008

The stars were in alignment this year because we discovered Cliff's Edge. Like many of you who will be reading this, we have worked so hard this year, and desperately needed somewhere to rest, relax, and heal. We didn't even realize how much, until we arrived at Cliff's Edge. We love Maui, and have been here several times - always on the east side... It's not an easy or inexpensive trip for us. We live in Florida, and have middle income jobs. We plan well in advance how to make this trip work within our budget, and how to best take advantage of the limited time we have. We actually fill out a calendar with “must do” activities for each day. Out of the 20 or so “must do” activities we had for this year, we actually accomplished around 3. Thank you for that - Lucy, “Rainbow”, Susan & Jon. Although we love all the area has to offer – hiking, biking, surfing, shopping, we found that along with the occasional run into Paia or Makawao, it’s hard to beat just hanging out at the Seaside Cottage with its incredible views and ambiance. The cottage is laid out perfectly. The decor is comfortable and inviting – it felt like “home.” Our itinerary of driving & shopping was replaced with

• watching for sea turtles & rainbows
• making friends with the local “wildlife” aka lucy & “rainbow”
• grilling
• massages outside on the deck by hilda
• wine in the jacuzzi overlooking the cliff and the ocean
• listening to the surf & rain (& the hawaiian satellite radio station :)
• playing guitar
• taking photos
• picking fresh fruit

We actually forgot about work, and the rest of the world melted away. There are times in your life when the right thing happens at the right time, Cliff’s Edge will always be that for us.

Mahalo Nui Loa ~ Dara & Chuck

ps – we’ve posted a few photos to TripAdvisor – if you want to see more, copy & paste this link to your browser - [-]

  • Liked — It was a retreat in paradise.
  • Disliked — leaving it :)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

Our 8-day stay in September was our second stay at Cliff's Edge in three years, and it was as beautiful and peaceful as ever. As spectacular as many of the posted pictures are, they almost don't do justice to the natural beauty of the place. The rooms are elegant and understated, and the warmth and charm of our hosts, John and Susan, makes returning a pleasure. It's true that you will navigate a mile or so of rough road to get to CE, but in our minds it helped us feel like we were leaving the rest of the world behind, which is the point of coming here in the first place. I feel somewhat obligated to contest some things mentioned in a few of the other posts: during our stays, the rooms were very clean and mosquitoes barely in evidence, the towels weren't an issue whatsoever, and the ceiling fans kept the rooms in the penthouse breezy and cool. We have also stayed at the Sheraton at Black Rock, a beautiful hotel and beach, but that's simply a very different kind of experience. Stay at Cliff's Edge, hang out in Paia, eat at the Fish Market, get groceries at Mana Foods, bike up-country, and you'll come to LOVE this side of Maui.

  • Liked — Privacy, but close enough to everything we love about Maui.
  • Disliked — We had to leave at the end of our stay...
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlett, IL
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

My husband and I stayed in 4 places on our Maui trip, and we agreed this one was the best! One of our goals for our trip (our ten year anniversary) was to be PART of Maui, not there to just use it, and this b and b fit the bill perfectly! I did not know what to expect as I had never stayed at a b and b before, but my expectations were exceeded. I thought the room was nicer than what the picture showed from their website, but the hammock overlooking the amazing view, pool, and very private grounds were the star attractions. We looooved picking the star fruit from the trees for our lunch later as we headed out for Hana. Susan was very informative on the ins and outs of Maui. She recommended a horseback ride up the side of Haleakala that we really enjoyed, and I think we ate at the Paia FishMarket she recommended about four times on our trip (with an awesome gelato store across the street!) it was so good. All in all, I can only say good things about Cliff's Edge, and would definitely recommend it for anyone looking for quiet, relaxed, and private.

  • Stayed August 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point

Address: Box 1095, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Cliff`s Edge At Huelo Point Hotel Haiku
Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point Maui/Haiku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.