We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible setting, a few rough edges” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point
Box 1095, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Haiku B&B and Inns
Taos, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Incredible setting, a few rough edges”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Like everybody else who stayed there, we were attracted to the incredible setting of Cliff's Edge and thus chose the Penthouse Suite for a 3 night stay. Cliff's Edge was a great start for our 12 day Maui vacation: we just like rugged coast line and secluded places much more than the beach scene.
To get to the place is really not difficult, just a few bends on a dirt road, maybe 5 minutes to get to it from the main road. Some people were put off by that, I found it no big deal at all, and would not let that discourage me from choosing Cliff's Edge.
The Penthouse suite, top level of the house, is rather spacious. What I liked best about it is the great shower and the lanai/ balcony, overlooking the incredible coat line.
But because of the dark, outdated furniture and high ceilings, the place is rather functional and misses out in coziness or a "homey" feeling. The lighting is rather "cold" and doesn't help in that respect either .
One knows beforehand that there is no kitchen: so there is a refrigerator, a very small, oldish, coffee maker, a micro wave and a cup board with a few dishes. No place to wash dishes, just one sink, the bathroom sink.
I guess because of the no kitchen issue, Jon, the owner, provides a very modest breakfast: early in the morning, you'll find a plate with fruit and one plain croissant in front of the door. Me being a major breakfast person missed a kitchen right then and there! How about some butter, jelly, another croissant, maybe some hard boiled eggs?
Jon is a cool, easy going guy . We had a nice chat with him when we arrived, but didn't see him after that, or when we left. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at his place, but we would have totally loved it if there were a little more fix up and care expended on some of the details I mentioned.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    7
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
3
36
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

LIke the other reviewers, we were amazed and thrilled by the view that greets you when you arrive at Cliff's Edge. It is truly a place of serenity. Of course, you can rarely find a view like this or true serenity without making a trek. Prepare yourself for the challenging ride in and out of the property; I got used to it and actually grew to like it, but the first time was somewhat daunting. The place is just a little rough around the edges, but the view more than makes up for that. This is a great place to begin or end your ride on the Hana Highway (after staying in Hana, which we are glad we did), just know that Cliff's Edge's beauty depends on its remoteness.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

What a great place! Jon and Susan did a great job in building the place up (literally). We stayed at the Bali Cottage which had a nice private lanai which was perfect for relaxing in peace. But you cannot beat the view. Even though we were a bit worried about there not being curtains for the windows, what a great way to wake up in the morning to the beating waves. It's also not far from the town of Paia which has great little shops and restaurants. We didn't have the fortune of meeting Susan but Jon was there if we needed him and he's very laid back and approachable.

We took advantage of the jacuzzi on our lanai which was also a nice way to wind down in the evening :) There's also a BBQ gas grill that you can utilize. But the best part, of course, was Maile (pronounced Miley) the friendliest dog. We're both pet lovers and have dogs so it was nice to have her around. She also loves to swim with you, but be careful as she likes to jump into the pool on top of you.

Tips:
-Keep the doors and windows open at night (use the screen doors of course) for the cross breeze. There is no AC but there isn't a need for one as this side of the island is breezy.
-The housekeeper they have is also a masseuse and she does in room massage for a very reasonable price (I believe it was around $35).
-You obviously need to rent a car. But be careful when driving down because it becomes gravel roads on the way down to the property.

If any of you are interested in buying property in Maui, the place next door is on the market!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

We stayed at the guest cottage for a week. The accommodations were excellent, and you can't beat that view. It was a little rainy, but the place is in the middle of a rainforest, so that's to be expected. The Hana Highway is just a hop, skip and a jump away.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012 via mobile

We called the Cliff's Edge to see if the King Suite was available for our dates, because that was the only room we could really afford. He told us that it was not, but that he would give us thePenthouse Suite for the same price. This was just the beginning of the owner's incredible hospitality. As we were arriving, I called to see if early check in would be possible, and he said he would upgrade us to the Bali Cottage because it was already ready, and the couple in our suite wanted a late check out. He went out of his way to accommodate us both, and we were now staying in a private cottage with a full kitchen! As a teacher, this was way more than I could have afforded, and was a wonderful gift.
Jon continued to be helpful throughout our stay, answering all of our questions and giving all the insider knowledge we needed. He is very laid back and approachable. Their dog, Maile, is so sweet and she is allowed to come in the cottage if you are OK with that. Both owners are very sensitive to their guests and make sure she doesn't bother anyone who may not want her around, but I LOVED sitting out on our deck overlooking the ocean and petting that sweet dog. It felt like home!
The cottage was gorgeous, clean and luxurious, with beautiful marble floors, tile, and tropical blue walls. I never wanted to leave! Even if we hadn't been upgraded, the entire property is beautiful and every room has its own porch with amazing views of the ocean. I would have been happy in any room here. You must visit!,

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is a late review but if you're looking for a quiet place for honeymoon or just chilling in Maui far from civilization this is the place to go!
Although it's not very near of any "big city" (40-45 min for the airport if I remember...) it is quite convenient as you will hire a car in Maui anyway.
Beautiful ocean view, very nice pool and Susan is always there to answer your questions...
We stayed in the Penthouse Suite where you can appreciate an open view on the ocean, no noise, just the sound of the waves...
The only thing i regret in that room is that there is no stove, just a microwave.

Anyway I will definitely go back there.

If you sell the place one day Susan, please give me a call! :)

Room Tip: Penthouse Suite is lovely. Think about what you'll have for lunch/dinner as it's quite remo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed in both the King Suite and the Bali Cottage during our 4 nights at Cliff's Edge. Jon was an amazing host, ever helpful and on call to answer our questions or just chat about life on the island.

Both apartments were well appointed with everything you'd need to cater for yourselves and beautifully decorated, nothing has been forgotten.

The views from the property are stunning, we spent countless hours just watching and listening to the waves crash against the rocks. The grounds are also meticulously kept and (weather permitting) would be great to lounge around in.

We're looking forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: The Bali Cottage is absolutely stunning if you can make it work
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point

Also Known As:
Cliff`s Edge At Huelo Point Hotel
Cliff`s Edge At Huelo Point Hotel Haiku
Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point Maui/Haiku
Address: Box 1095, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cliff's Edge At Huelo Point to your Saves list