We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bamboo Valley Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Bamboo Valley Inn to your Saves list
Bamboo Valley Inn
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   W. Kuiaha Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Haiku B&B and Inns
Lewisville, Texas
1 review
“Awesome Place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

My son and I stayed at Bamboo Valley Inn in the 2 bedroom unit. It was absolutely wonderful. I think I slept like a baby and everything was perfect. It was so peaceful out of the crowds but close enough to everything. Laundry facility was even available with supplies.I would rent again on returning to Maui. Thanks for a great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Tom and Vicki have an amazing place in this breathtaking Maui paradise away from all the resorts. We've stayed in Wailea, Kihei, and Lahaina during past vacations. None of them compare to our latest stay in Haiku. The Bamboo Valley Inn is the perfect hub to get to the countryside places such as Paia, Makawao, and Kula and the beaches of Lahaina and Kihei. Tom and Vicki have though of everything you need for a vacation rental, I mean everything! Fully loaded kitchen, good-sized bedrooms, WIFI, Satellite TV, foosball and air hockey, beach chairs and toys for the kids. We stayed in the Bamboo View suite and it was perfect for the 4 of us. Definitely going back!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Tom and Vicki are knowledgeable, professional and personable. Everything you could want in an Inn keeper. We enjoyed their knowledge of the area and things to do and see. We had the Bamboo View Suite and a view it was. Every evening we sat on the porch and listened to the minor birds come to roost in the nearby tree. They had everything you need to be comfortable. We only stayed 5 days and wished we had stayed longer. The bed was so nice with quality linens. The porch was my favorite with a nice grill. The kitchen had everything i needed including some extra food items. The breakfast basket was an especially nice touch. We loved everything about it.
Thank you Vicki & Tom!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This was our first time in Maui so we had no idea which area to stay in that would be central to everything, so when we found the Bamboo Valley Inn, we were happy that it was very close to everything. We were 15 minutes from Pa'ia and 30 minutes to the other side of the island where we went shore diving.

BV Inn is exquisite...it's a beautiful house with everything sparkling new. My son loved the foosball and air hockey. The kitchen was luxurious! We recommend this location to all. Tom & Vicky were super nice. We'll come back again, if you'll have us!

Thanks for a lovely stay!

Room Tip: The wifi and cell phone reception was kinda weak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooch00, Owner at Bamboo Valley Inn, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
We have installed a new high speed internet DSL since this Family stayed with us. The old internet service was not working well .
We appreciate their response and very nice review. We really enjoyed their visit with us and we hope they come back to visit us again !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Aloha - Spent a week in the Haleakala suite (ground floor) with another couple. The accomodation was lovely, well appointed, huge fireplace (not sure when you would use it, as we were there in January and the weather was warm!), smallish kitchen, and a not bad bathroom. Spotlessly clean, and well supplied with staples. The huge breakfast/snack basket is a nice addition. Bamboo Valley Inn is also a bargain spot to stay.

If you do not want/caare for, the resort scene, this is the placefor you. Away from the coast in the middle of the rainforest, this is a very relaxing spot. You will wake with the sounds of roosters crowing (sometimes VERY early!), along with many other tropical birds...wonderful! Just off the Road to Hana, you'll already be well on your way when you start out.

Quite close by, we ate at Flatbread Pizza in Paia, which was excellent. Also ate at Colleen's in Haiku also excellent!

Have a wonderful time if you stay here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

This is a B & B NOT a hotel!

This is simply paradise. Stonking good value and a lovely place to relax. This is a big house with three staying areas, although in fact, it only advertises two. Ours was the Bamboo Suite; one bedroom, which is huge. A four poster king size bed which is really comfortable. A large single, almost double bath with Jacuzzi. A separate walk in shower. A lovely kitchen lounge, dining area with a bar and stools, plus large table and chairs and couches everywhere. There is a separate toilet, and an office area too in a separate room. There are three A/C window units; two in the lounge and one in the bedroom. You have a shared patio with the other first floor people, and a separate B-B-Q grill on another small patio.
There is a large cool box for you to use. A big fridge with cold iced running water and a choice of ice or crushed cubes. Two large televisions in the main bedroom and lounge areas, and can be synchronized if you wish, or used separately. The T.V cable has loads of music stations too which we enjoyed. There is free wi-fi that worked very well.
Simply, we could live here, it was that good. Vicki and Tom, the owners live a few yards away and are on the spot if you need them. As you approach, don’t be put off by the drive down to the house from the road. It is quite easy to navigate!

All 3 room areas share a washer and dryer, and there is an outside shower too!
Vicki and Tom are lovely folks. This place is ideal to ‘do’ the whole island from.
There is a great general store/gas station about 3 miles up the road. They have everything you could need including wine and spirits.
It is very remote and quiet here. If you don’t wind down and relax here, you need to see a psychiatrist, and quick!

Room Tip: There are three rooms to choose from. Talk to the owners first to see which is best for you. They ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

We spent two weeks at the Bamboo Valley Inn. Staying in Haiku was perfect. We were far enough from the resorts that everything was quiet and close enough that we were only a short drive from anywhere we wanted to go. It was about 30 minutes to Kihei, 45 to Lahaina, and 10 to Makawao and Paia. The inn itself is lovely. It is very well decorated, quiet, and private. We spent one week in a one bedroom suite on the second floor and another week in the two bedroom suite (they did not have availability in either one for the full time). I will say that the one bedroom was much nicer - very luxurious - huge bathroom and it had a fully functional kitchen. The two bedroom was nice, but very cramped. The bathroom was tiny. The living room was very well done, but there was a foozball table and a one other large game table (can't remember what it was) stuffed in there taking up a ton of room. There is another suite on the ground floor that we did not see. I would definitely recommend the one bedroom, but would think long and hard about the two bedroom - especially if you are planning on using both bedrooms - you will be on top of each other in this place especially if you are going for a good chunk of time and bringing large suitcases. There is no where to store them. The kitchen is nice and was fine for our needs. There is a refrigerator/freezer, dishwasher, coffee pot, and a hot plate. In the one bedroom there is a full oven/stove.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Bamboo Valley Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bamboo Valley Inn

Address: W. Kuiaha Rd, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bamboo Valley Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Bamboo Valley Inn: Nestled in a hidden tropical valley on Maui's North Shore where all you will hear are the sounds of nature and warm tropical breezes dancing through the bamboo. Located on a very private, quiet, gated, multi-acre property with a bamboo forest and a running stream. Just 10 minutes from world famous Ho'okipa and Baldwin Beach Parks. Each 2 bedroom suite has granite counters, its own private bath, fully equipped private entertainment room, wood burning fireplace, covered lanai with gas BBQ and its own kitchen, containing everything you would need to prepare any meal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Bamboo Valley Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bamboo Valley Inn Maui/Haiku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bamboo Valley Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.