We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of a kind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windward Garden B&B

Save Saved
You added Windward Garden B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windward Garden B&B
435 Hoolawa Road, Huelo, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Ocean View Rooms, $150/nt
Ranked #3 of 10 Haiku B&B and Inns
CO
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of a kind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of our honeymoon, and we LOVED it. We wished that we had a third night. Susan and Chris were kind and welcoming. They gave us our privacy, but had recommendations and good stories if we initiated conversation. The breakfast was fresh and filling (fresh fruit with yogurt, and quiche, for example). The house and the grounds are just beautiful. The room was elegant, clean, and comfortable. We were told that we could use the kitchen if desired. All of the rooms in the house are rented, and Susan and Chris live in a separate area. This keeps the house very quiet compared to other B&Bs.

Many of the other reviews surprised me! This is an out of the way place for guests who are seeking a quiet stay. Perhaps guests need to do a little more research before booking a stay. Do a Google map search to see exactly where it is located. Yes, it is a ways from a town and requires a drive down a long narrow road through tall grass. It is located in a very private and secluded area. I found this to be exciting, but I had expected it after carefully choosing where I wanted to stay! We drove the road at night, and it is not a problem as long as you know where you are going (keep the directions with you).

Geckos, ants, and being asked to remove your shoes upon entering will be found throughout Hawaii. Just embrace it and enjoy!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    4
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
14
73
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Minnetonka, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

A great choice if you don't want to do the mega resorts thing in Maui. Susan and Chris were very friendly with great suggestions on how to enjoy what the island has to offer. Each of the three rooms were very comfortable (I stayed in two of them due to earlier reservations by others). Chris makes a mean breakfast and it was very enjoyable to have breakfast on the front porch with the breezes hitting your face. Yes, they asked you to take your shoes off, but that is common practice in many Hawaiian homes. The property is well off the main road (the road that goes to Hana) and the first couple of times you take the 1.5 mile winding road, it seems like forever before you get there... but that is part of the charm of the place. I would go back there in a heartbeat!!! Thanks Susan and Chris for helping make my visit to Maui a meaningful and rewarding one.

Room Tip: All accommodations are on the second floor. The Master Suite has its own bath. The other two suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

A very nice B&B with charm, seclusion and character. We stayed in the August room for two nights during the middle of May, enjoyed our large room with a balcony, received excellent wifi service in our room, and shared two bath areas with one other room. The TV is in the central living room. Shoes must be removed before entering the B&B (a custom that was practiced at all the B&Bs we stayed at in Hawaii and Maui). Chis and Susan Gebb, the owners, were gracious friendly people who shared facts and stories about the area. The establishment was clean and inviting. The breakfast were served at 8:00 a.m. and were superb – the best we had at any of the B&Bs.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
96 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
207 helpful votes 207 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I am sorry I need to temper somewhat the enthusiasm of the many raving reviews posted on TA. I really was expecting to love this place. But although everything the other reviews describe is true, I believe that they only show part of the story.

So let's start with the good stuff. Yes, the house is beautiful, the rooms are spacious and pretty, the tropical gardens are gorgeous. The place is as quiet as one would imagine, on the beginning of the Road to Hana. The Lanai is great, with views of the beautiful Pacific Ocean in the distance. This place is sort of one of a kind.

But here's the downside. Let's put away the small geckos we found in the house- I liked them, even if I know that others may be disturbed by them. But what really disturbed me is the set of "rules of the house" which get imposed upon guests here. I'm past the age of youth hostels and school trips. So the many rules like "no shoes in the house", “no food in the rooms unless packaged”, "no long showers allowed", "no lights at night", "rinse cans and bottles and dispose of them in the garbage can at the back of the house" or "you may use the fridge to store a FEW LITTLE items" were really too much for me.

Understandably part of those rules are dictated by the fact that this place is totally off the grid and autonomous in terms of water and electricity supply. But this very fact has a direct impact on the guest’s comfort. Water consumption is limited and the house has no air conditioning whatsoever. The very dim lighting of the whole house after sunset renders it rather spooky, in my opinion.

Add to this that the place is EXTREMELY isolated so unless you feel brave enough to drive at night in the middle of this tropical jungle, you're forced to eat your own stuff at the house for dinner. In which case you may need to store a bit more than “few little items” in the fridge and may want a little bit of an ambiance in the house. So we never really managed to feel comfortable here.

Another aspect which only few reviews did highlight is that, while the master suite has a private bathroom, the Ariel and August suites do share a common bathroom, which in addition is located on a different floor. In our case, as we had booked both suites, it wasn't too much of a problem. But had we booked a single of those rooms we would have found this simply unacceptable, as we do expect some privacy.

Regarding the rooms we had booked - the Ariel Suite is slightly bigger than the August Suite but is very hot during the day and does not have a safe, while the smaller August suite is a bit cooler and has a safe. Neither the rooms nor bathrooms were serviced during our stay.

I must also add the following anecdote. We had booked the two suites many months in advance, and had been requested to make a full payment immediately through Paypal. The day before our arrival we wanted to call Susan to make sure everything was in order, as we hadn't heard from her for a very long time. We called multiple times, trying both the land line and mobile numbers but each time we got an answering machine and ended up paying horrendous international call fees as we were calling from our European mobiles. We had left a voicemail though, asking Susan to call us back. Which she eventually said she didn't because SHE couldn't afford an international call!


All in all, this COULD be the sort of little paradise that many reviews seem to describe, but alas, it didn’t really meet all of our expectations. It may take people with greater sensitivity to ecological aspects to really love this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WindwardGardenB-B, Owner at Windward Garden B&B, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
We would like to respond to this review as it is misleading. We have placed a page of "guidelines" in the notebooks in the rooms to answer any questions guests may have when we are not present to answer them. And we are off-the-grid, so there are some small inconveniences such as no air conditioning. But we have listened as well, and have expanded the solar array considerably to allow many more conveniences, such as hair dryers, fans and much more lighting. Our guests have always had free run of the house and can store food in the kitchen, cook, barbeque, watch television, play videos, and play music on the guitar, piano and ukulele. We do strive to provide "sustainable hospitality"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Windward Garden is a beautiful, quiet retreat on Maui's north coast. I always aim to stay at B&Bs when I travel, and this is one of the nicest I've seen. We stayed in the spacious Master Suite because the others were booked. Very comfortable & clean, with all the nice little extras (lotion, chocolates, bottled water, etc).

The B&B is a large 3-bedroom house, and guests have the run of the place - the owners Chris and Susan live in the cottage next door. It's a couple miles down a twisty dirt road, but reasonably convenient for driving the road to Hana and exploring Haleakala and upcountry. The garden setting is private and beautiful. Chris and Susan are fantastic hosts and long-time Maui residents. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast each morning while Chris shared travel tips and local history. They helped us plan our itinerary and even loaned us a pile of warm clothes for Haleakala. Snorkel equipment is also available for guests to borrow.

If you're looking for something a little more authentic and restful than the tourist norm, you will love Windward Garden B&B!

Room Tip: Master suite is large with in-suite bathroom. The two smaller rooms have the (distant) ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prior Lake, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed 4 nights April 2013 as a family vacation, 2 adults 4 kids (17, 17, 15, 13). Rented the entire house so we made all of the meals on our own. Exceptional house and exceptional property. We love Maui and enjoy taking day trips to different parts of the island and this was a great location to get to all parts of the island and a great place to enjoy restful time in the morning and at night. The house is all that you can ask for: spacious, comfortable, extremely well stocked with everything you need. We appreciated the well stocked beach items: surfboards, chairs, umbrellas, boogie baords, snorkel stuff. Awesome outdoor spaces (visual and comfortable) to sit and read a book. The property is immaculate and the house is extremely well maintained (well done Susan and Chris). We stayed 4 days in a nice place in Kapalua as well and Windward Gardens and it's proximity to Upcountry and Paia was the best part of our trip. The half mile walk to the cliffs is a great walk for sunset and sunrise, stunning ocean surf. Even though the house is set among tress and gardens, no problem with bugs or geckos at all. Loved the numerous large doors and windows to allow the breezes in. Susan and Chris were ideal hosts. A few new things we picked up on this trip: Mana Food store in Paia is a great grocery and reasonably priced, visit Makawao for a few hours and have dinner or lunch (neat little town), Rodeo General Store in Makawao is great for deli stuff/morning coffee/pastries, Makena Beach is our new favorite, Paia Beach is fun to hang with the locals when the surf is up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roskilde, Denmark
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is a small (not in room size though) quiet B&B with a perfect location for those who plan to drive The road to Hana.
We stayed for two nights at this wonderful B&B.
This is the kind of place you go to relax and unwind. The location is about one mile down a small gravel road at the beginning of the Hana Highway.
We loved the breakfast and our room.
Our hosts where also great.
In other words, there is nothing bad to say about this B&B, I can highly recommend it to everyone wishing to stay in that part of the island who enjoy peace and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Windward Garden B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windward Garden B&B

Address: 435 Hoolawa Road, Huelo, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded Plantation-style Estate with great ocean views and luxurious amenities. Wander the spacious grounds and survey the 4 acres of palms, tropicals and orchids or sit on any one of 4 ocean-view decks and enjoy the breeze. Top-notch breakfast served every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Windward Garden B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windward Garden B&B Maui/Haiku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windward Garden B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.