We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best part of our honeymoon!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Tradewinds

Save Saved
You added Maui Tradewinds to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maui Tradewinds
4320 Une Place, Haiku, Maui, HI   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 10 Haiku B&B and Inns
Lithgow, NSW
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best part of our honeymoon!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed in the Starwind Cottage for five nights from May 12- 16. My husband and I arrived around 7:30 pm after a long flight from Sydney and connecting flight from Oahu. We were welcomed by Bev, who was kind enough to stand in the middle of downpour with umbrellas for us as we exited the car.
She showed us around briefly, knowing we were tired and then came back the next morning to give us a thorough tour. Bev and David were never intrusive as hosts, but if needed, were only a phone call away.
Waking up the next morning to the view was heavenly, and we enjoyed it while having our breakfast of sweet bread and jams, fresh tropical fruit and fantastic coffee.
The accommodation is excellent, our bed was so, so comfortable. There is an outdoor shower which is fantastic, and it was so nice to come 'home' after sightseeing and watch the sunset from the Jacuzzi on the deck. The kitchen is well equipped and it was nice being able to cook for ourselves when we wanted.
The Tradewinds is a short drive to the Haiku shops (for groceries and restaurants), to the start of the famous Road to Hana, and to nearby Pa'ia, which has little boutique shops and cool cafés and restaurants.
The tradewinds truly is an escape, and we only wish we had ended our honeymoon here because the accommodation on the next two islands had a lot to live up to (and was nothing like Starwind Cottage).
Thank you David and Bev, we had a fantastic time, thank you for your hospitality!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    138
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
110
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

As you drive up the driveway, the first thing you see are all the beautiful hawaiian flowers and all of the pineapple plants growing along the driveway. As you round the bend of the driveway you see banana's growing (and are they delicious). When you reach the carport you know you are in Maui. There is a warm welcome from David and Bev, your hosts. True Aloha. If you are in doubt you are in Maui, as you enter the Tradewinds Suite, the first things you see, hear, feel are soft hawaiian music, the sun reflecting on the shining floor, fresh, beautiful flowers and a basket of fresh fruits on the table. Suddenly, your cares and stress disappear.This is just the beginning of a wonderful adventure. Everything you could ever need is supplied. Hot tub, sauna, tiki torches, hammock, supplies for the barbeque, attractive surroundings and many gorgeous views. Warm, attentive hosts that respect your privacy,but are available if needed and can advise about the many activities in the area. A true jewel. David & Bev are warm, kind and have thought of everything. We would never stay anywhere else.

Room Tip: The cottage has two bedrooms and the suite has one bedroom. They are all adequate and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I arrived in Maui on a late Saturday night and got to the Tradewinds (staying in the Starwind cottage) well after "business hours". Beverly still greeted us and gave us a quick tour, and came back in the morning to go over everything in daylight.

Indeed there are many dry goods for breakfast/snacking. We appreciated those and took a few on our various roadtrips around the island; we also knew this was not a B&B where we would be served hot breakfasts every morning - and that's not really what we were looking for at this point in the trip anyway so we were totally fine with that. We enjoyed the comfy bed, fully stocked kitchen, nice dining table to eat at (or unload hundreds of digital pictures from your camera at!) The "backyard" of the Starwind has a barbeque which the husband grilled on one night. We took advantage of the laundry room provided and washed some clothes! We showered in the outdoor shower – cool! (there is a nice indoor bathroom too, if outdoor cleaning isn’t your thing!). We also indulged in the hot tub one night –what a fantastic deck the Starwind has!

The Tradewinds is a GREAT location if you're going to do a little "do-it-yourself" exploring of Maui, which was what the first part of our honeymoon entailed. Pretty much right at the start of the Hana Highway, very close to local towns Paia and Haiku, and not far from Kahului. As previously mentioned, close to nothing but not too far from anywhere! We enjoyed activity-filled days around the island and loved coming back to the cottage at the end of the day. For purposes of being as objective as possible, I'm not sure we needed to spend $300+ a night for a place we did not spend all too many waking hours in and may have perhaps been fine in the Tradewinds Suite or even a less nice place in Paia or Haiku, as the cottage had more than enough space for 2 adults (we didn’t even use the second bedroom at all) but heck, it was the first stop of the honeymoon and decided to indulge. That being said, this would be a perfect, more-than-affordable place of lodging if there were 2 couples sharing the cottage on a trip, and we thought would also be great for a family with a pair of children. Then you’d really get the best use of all the space provided!

So all in all, an amazing place with zero “cons” to report from us. We loved it and enjoyed the hospitality provided by the owners! Interactions with Bev made it obvious to us that she takes a lot of pride in her property and respects the beauty and nature around her. You’ll surely have a peaceful, beautiful time staying here. Mahalo! (photos to be added shortly!)


A few pieces of advice/comments:
- May be obvious, but if you're going to stay here, you probably already know you need a car!
- A good local eat - Colleen's in Haiku. Yummy, and only 10-minute drive away!
- Tradewinds provides a pretty good starting point for the drive up to Haleakala National Park - if you can get up early enough, make the drive up there to see the sun rise. We did it our last morning before checking out - it was amazing!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Aloha from upstate New York! We enjoyed our stay at Maui Tradewinds. It is everything you could ask for and then some. The perfect honeymoon spot. " Thanks Bev for showing us around when we arrived ~ it was thoughtful of you." David and Bev have a way of never intruding on your privacy but yet whenever you need them they are right there.
A few of highlights were relaxing in the spa and watching the tiki torches after a long day. Also all the fresh local food they had there, we enjoyed all of it. Try a shave ice at the nearby stand its definitely worth it. It hits the spot on a warm day. For anyone looking for the perfect honeymoon getaway look no farther than the Tradewinds! Mahalo, Eugene & Carol H.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Maui Tradewinds surpassed our expectations. If you are looking for quiet and privacy, Tradewinds is the place for you. Bev and David have thought of everything to make your stay a stress free vacation paradise. We so enjoyed our day trips away from the property, knowing that when we returned, the hot tub and quiet calm would be waiting for us. We definitely plan to return to Maui and will stay at Maui Tradewinds, our home away from home.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

We think that Bev and David are making this place even better. If you are looking for a beautiful spot, tranquility, and privacy, then this is it. I do not think that we have previously stayed in a place of this type where everything works!!!! It is great.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This wonderful B&B is secluded and relaxing to the max. If you want privacy and beautiful views this place is the best. Beverly and David have made an oasis in one of the most heavenly places on earth. It is in the hills and not on the beach which adds to the relaxation for me. No crowds or noise. We stayed in the cottage so we were totally self contained. The cottage is beautiful, spacious and spotless. Beverly and David were there any time we needed them but left us alone to enjoy our stay. Even though it is not in a tourist area, it is still close to everything. I would highly recommend the Maui Tradewinds to everyone and anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maui Tradewinds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Tradewinds

Address: 4320 Une Place, Haiku, Maui, HI
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A romantic honeymoon/vacation retreat on Maui's beautiful north shore. Have the best of both worlds by staying away from crowds and commercialized development, yet conveniently situated for exploring the entire island. A rare combination of gracious island lifestyle, unspoiled natural beauty, and privacy. Experience breathtaking views, brilliant rainbows, sunsets over the ocean, and your exclusive Jacuzzi, tropical garden, kitchen, and luxurious sauna/bath. Free, self-catered continental breakfast. Free WiFi and long-distance calls to U.S. mainland and Canada. Free parking. Highest ratings by respected travel authors, including Frommer's and Best Places to Kiss. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Maui Tradewinds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maui Tradewinds Haiku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Tradewinds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.