We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maui Eco Retreat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haiku
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Maui Eco Retreat
Save
You added Maui Eco Retreat to your Saves list
610 Huelo Road, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Haiku B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

We found the Maui Retreat quite by accident, simply by surfing the internet. We had never been to maui before and had no idea about the differences between one side of the island or another. We so lucked out, I still cannot believe it. Rather than staying at one of those beach resorts that looks exactly like beach resorts around the world, we stayed at the most beautiful setting imaginable. We were on the side of the island where, at least in march, it rained a lot--but if we were in search of sun and beach, we just got in the car and drove to a beach on the other side of the island. But staying in the middle of the rain forest landscape, in a room (the Lotus room) that looked out on a lotus pond (with full privacy for us), where we could go walking about the property to waterfalls and fresh water ponds and around the cliff tops to look out on the ocean--this was heaven. And, by the way, it was also significantly cheaper than any of the internationally owned artificial beach resorts! Significantly! The house staff were volunteers with whom we quickly made friends. And then there was the great massage...and Kutira's and Rafael's music...

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    7
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
43
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bragg Creek, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

The Maui Retreat is a paradise. Our stay was inspiring, the beautiful setting of the land, the character of the Eco Thai Hale cottage and the attention to the details were a delight for all the family.Finally we found a real fully furnished kitchen. The morning yoga looking at the ocean was inspiring.
Our teenage kids loved it too, and enjoyed very much the walk to the fresh water pools, and the adventure on the trail to the ocean.
We all relaxed and felt pampered by the beautiful nature.
we , as a couple, enjoyed the romantic setting of our cozy bedroom, the space for meditation, and the possibility of enjoying a romantic walk.
Kutira is a wonderful host.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

This is a great place to stay for anyone who wants truly experience the beauty and fundamental nature of being on a tropical island. As you approach the retreat, you get hit with a positive flow of energy and you begin to feel your hear charka open. We stayed at the bamboo temple and the dolphin room, both of which were very relaxing. Hiking to the top of the waterfall was something one can only dream of. It's a blessing for such wonderful people, Kutira and Raphael, to allow us in their space that they so delicately created out of love and peace!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2011

If you're looking for your typical predictable island resort hotel with a pool and room service you're not going to find it here, but unlike any resort this place is rich in history and spirit.

The rooms are thoughtfully adorned and the land is cared for with great love and reverance - and that is priceless. There's a challenging trail down to a lava rock beach with a breath-taking view and a more leisurely waterfall trail to a small pool at the mouth of a 200-foot waterfall - it's like being in Jurassic Park, I was just waiting for the dinosaurs to come running out of the valley!

The place is off-the-grid about 20 minutes toward Hana from Paia on the north shore. It's got a totally unique ever-changing community of friendly student interns and fascinating guests and my short time there was a period of growth and transformation I will never, ever forget.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Our experience of Maui Retreat was a heart dive into Maui's magical tropical embrace.
It was so healing to get away from the tourist zone and to be in a place of such lovliness and care. We were able to slowly relax into the beauty, slow pace, and peace.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

We felt a part of the family at Maui Retreat center as soon as we arrived, when we arrived it was late and one of the owners graciously walked us down to our desitnation temple ''Bamboo Temple" when we stepped thru the door of the temple it took our breath away, more than we expected.... very dreamy and heavenly, nothing we had ever experienced before. He went over the map of the grounds with us a shared some personal insights with us as well. When we awoke in the morning.. Wow I cant say enough about the view, thru the picturesque window of the Bamboo Temple, as you lay in bed you could see the whales jumping splashing and playing, again a one of a kind Treat!! Very private and lovely grounds, very soothing. We always felt very serene... truly a place for retreating into your heart. Our temple was fully equipped kitchen and very spacious thru out, our bed was comfortable and a unique bamboo canopy style. Our outside shower was private and gorgeous, we always had plenty of hot water. I loved the idea that we were partaking in preserving and conserving Mother Earth, partaking, and living in a sustainable living community setting is a dream in our hearts. The retreat grounds are breath taking, so much love and generosity put into this whole heavenly place. They offer you so much beautiful music to choose from in your room and main house as well, the musice Temple is great and unique! We didnt mind the 15 min drive to town, we did not leave very much as we felt no desire to leave, we spent the majority of our 5 days on the grounds, truly and Ecstatic experience, Joufully
walking the trails and sitting on our deck viewing the ocean, breathing in the beauty and serenity.
The trail to the pond/swimming hole and waterfall is an amazing hike and a beautiful experience.
The trail to the ocean is an amazing experience as well, Breath taking views. So much beauty filling your soul up to the brim!! We found that everyone we greeted and visited with to be kind hearted and ready to be of service in any way. Truly a paradise to behold. the flowers the Trees the birds the Ocean the atmosphere, as I expressed is Divine.... We will certainly be back, we plan to spend as much time at Maui retreat/kahua institute as we possibly can. As I expressed in One sentence review above, will and is in our Hearts and Souls Forever....Heavenly!!! Kutira and Raphael are an inspiration and truly lovely Human beings, we hope you choose to stay and be with them and there Woofer family!! One of a kind Heavenly Place!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
byron bay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2010

It is now two weeks since we left the Maui Eco Retreat and all I can think about is how soon I can return. It was a life changing experience for me. Raphael and Kutira are the most loving and inspiring hosts, and what this property offers is far beyond "accommodation". The people who only see the veneer have missed what is on offer here. This is the old Hawaii. xxxxx

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haiku
18.1 mi away
Travaasa Hotel Hana
10.8 mi away
Paia Inn Hotel
Paia Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Paia
5.0 of 5 stars 603 reviews
19.7 mi away
Maui Coast Hotel
Maui Coast Hotel
#1 of 2 in Kihei
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
29.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 174 reviews
8.6 mi away
Lumeria Maui Retreat
Lumeria Maui Retreat
#1 of 2 in Makawao
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
1.7 mi away
Windward Garden B&B
Windward Garden B&B
#3 of 10 in Haiku
5.0 of 5 stars 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maui Eco Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maui Eco Retreat

Address: 610 Huelo Road, Haiku, Maui, HI 96708
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Haiku
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Haiku
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For over 25 years we have tended to this land and respected the Hawaiian nature and ancient way of living in harmony with Mother Earth. We are proud of our achievements in the past 25 years consciously carving and creating out of raw jungle a template for future sustainable living. Are you ready to embark on a journey off the beaten path and discover the elegance of sustainable living? Permitted since 2009 # BBPH/0003 This extraordinary place is full of genuine Hawaiian Mana which means blessings. It can be felt the moment you set foot on our lush green land. Whether you are seeking sanctuary, looking to write the next chapter of your life, or are simply on vacation, come explore sustainable living on Maui's 5-star certified Eco-Retreat, voted 'The Greenest Spot on Maui' and the proud recipient of the 'Platinum Green Leadership Award 2013' Maui Retreat is a 10-acre, secluded oceanfront property with amazing waterfall trails ending at a lagoon for swimming. We are completely off-grid and you'll enjoy: solar power, delicious well water, temples to meditate, create or relax in. It is simply a very romantic setting. We offer luxurious and unique accommodations. Organic coconuts on-site and tropical fruits are available when in season. Choosing our place means you automatically lower your carbon footprint. Yes, when staying with us, you are contributing to the sustainable green living movement, that is expanding daily. Escape the tourist-filled places. Yes, this is the old Hawaii you have been looking for: exotic, wild, waterfalls, hiking trails, lush bamboo forests next to the ocean, and yet only 15 min drive away from Haiku shopping centers and restaurants, and 25 minutes from Pa'ia. Note to Parents: We are not the perfect place for small children. Children older than 5 years enjoy learning 'living ecologically safe' and we welcome their participation in the garden. OPUA GUEST HOUSE The Opua Guest house contains 4 uniquely appointed and curated bedrooms. The shared fully appointed kitchen and dining space provides our guests a unique meeting place to sit and talk about their experiences while cooking or sharing delicious food. The kitchen bar is handcrafted from beautiful bamboo material and the large bamboo dining table hosts 8 people comfortably. LOTUS ROOM Our ground floor master bedroom is a spacious room with stunning ocean views, floor-to-ceiling windows that overlook a lotus pond. This room includes private bathroom with shower, and a large in-room closet. Sliding glass doors open to a large deck for sunning and meditation. DOLPHIN ROOM Our Dolphin Room, located on the first floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Sliding glass doors open to a stunning Brazilian pepper tree, with views of the lotus pond and ocean. The uniquely designed bamboo canopy bed is perfect for couples or singles. INDIAN ROOM Our Indian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. With windows on both sides, providing views of the Haleakala crater, the ocean, and our jungle-like garden. The room is tastefully decorated with offerings from India and Tibet. HAWAIIAN ROOM Our Hawaiian Room, located on the second floor of the Opua House, utilizes a shared bathroom and shower. Celebrating the spirit of the islands with Hawaiian art and exotic wood flooring, and a large private deck with spectacular ocean and crater views. How to find our Maui Retreat: We are only located 15 miles from Kahului airport on the North Shore near the towns of Haiku and Twin Falls. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Maui Retreat Hotel Haiku
Maui Eco Retreat Haiku

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maui Eco Retreat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.