We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch- even at 50% occupancy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$2000 Resort Credit!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Top notch- even at 50% occupancy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This property is closing for a major overhaul in June 2015 so some comments in this review will reflect that.

On that note, when we booked our vacation back in October, the FS surely knew the Lodge (the other FS property on Lanai) would be closed during our stay at Manele Bay (that's where all their change team is housed during all the renovations). We were not informed of that and probably would've waited to book. That eliminated horse back riding and several restaurant choices for us at the Lodge- a definite disappointment. The hotel managers did accommodate us with credits and plenty of apologies.

The resort was lovely- even with 50% occupancy (50% rooms renovated, remaining 50% was happening while we were there- some construction noise and construction fences, equipment, etc). All restaurants were open- and amazing! It's the best food of any FS property we've visited. Nobu is wonderful of course. Service was great all
around.

Pool- outdated but in great shape and service was top notch. No trouble getting chairs and never had to look far for service.

Beach- beautiful but a bit of a hike down from the property- it's not as if you can easily go from pool to beach (something we enjoy with little kids). One disappointment was the lack of any water sports. No paddle boards, kayaks or boogie boards. They had just severed ties with their outside provider of this and apparently he was the only game in town. Wish the hotel offered these things on their own. We went into town and bought a couple boogie boards for the kids.

Snorkeling- EXCELLENT and easy to do from the beach. Water was clear and an abundance of fish. Several days the spinner dolphins were just playing in the bay a few feet from the beach. Also saw whales daily right from the pool or beach.

Rooms- beautiful, state of the art, 70" flat screens, beautiful bathroom finishes (some needed minor repairs already- loose cabinets, cracked counter tops). We had a first floor ocean view so our lanai was larger than upper levels. Heavy doors, windows, etc so room was quiet.

Kid stuff- although the Kids Club was temporarily relocated into a hospitality room (can't wait to see if after the renovations) they made the best of it and the staff (Blair!) was great. My kids also loved the 3 birds they keep on property and bring down to the pool area daily (Bruno is amazing!!!) They also have a gorgeous Koi pond in a beautiful and quiet area of the hotel.

Fitness- again this will be redone but it was spacious and equipment was high end and well maintained.

Spa- service was great but needs major overhaul- this will be amazing too after they're done.

Due to the hotel being at 50%, it was relaxing, quiet and we have amazing service. Very pleased the hotel didn't cut back on restaurants, service or staff. We stayed on property most nights but did take the shuttle into town a couple times.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    10
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
55
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Casper, Wyoming
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We just returned. The rooms are first rate and service was excellent.

We had 2 major complaints:
The shuttle to downtown was infrequent. When we were there the shuttle was at 9AM 3PM 5PM and 8 PM. The times really did not allow us to go to town as much as we wanted. There is taxi but it is erratic. I wanted to swim in Lanai in the morning because they had a nice lap pool. I made a reservation for the taxi and waited 30 minutes and finally gave up. We also wanted to see a movie in town but the times did not match up and we gave up on that as well.

From talking to previous guests, it seems the shuttle ran more frequently in the past. It was really inconvenient for lunch and it was difficult to time dinner reservations since the shuttle was either too late or excessively early.

The other complaint is we did the horse back riding and the horses and trails were fine. The guide was fine. However, it was 500 dollars for 3 people for 1 hour 15 minutes. I think for the price there should have been something else lunch? or maybe a walking tour in conjunction. I understand that it is expensive to take care of horses on an isolated island but the price seemed to be high for what we got.

We enjoyed the trip and when we went it wasn't crowded which was great.

We like to go into towns and go to local restaurants and had trouble doing that.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate your honest feedback regarding the shuttle service and horseback riding - we've shared this with the appropriate team members. We are glad you enjoyed your visit to Lana’i and hope to welcome you back in the future. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Charles.fisher@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

WOW--completely caught me by surprise with the fabulous new features and designs. The new rooms are unbelievable in every way, and I cannot think of one thing I did not like (and I'm picky). The culinary and wine experiences were also delightful and memorable in every way...every dish! The staff are all incredible...love hearing "Aloha" with a smile from every person I passed...every! Have thought of everything, and at the same time retained the beautiful Aloha spirit of the people, community and culture.

Room Tip: ocean front rooms have great access to hiking trails
See more room tips
Green Features: automatic features in the bathroom conserve water; and great technology in the rooms conserves energy (open patio door and a/c shuts off), sensors that know if you are in the room or not and automatically shut temp down if you are not, etc.
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This place is right out of a travel magazine! The hotel, staff, services, was outstanding! The beautiful grounds the landscaping was so beautiful and kept immaculate. The ocean view, complete with spinner dolphins and whales, WOW!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha,

Thank you for reviewing our property. We are so glad you enjoyed your time here on Lana’i – from the service to the landscaping. It sure is very special when you get to see the dolphins and whales, two of our favorite things! We look forward to welcoming you back to the property in the future.

A Hui Hou,

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Charles.Fisher@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Even though the resort is 1/2 way complete in their renovation, you would never know by how great the new rooms, eager and extremely helpful staff, and wonderful golf/beach/hiking options there are to take advantage.
It is a very costly getaway, but well worth the experience!
The resort/island needs a scuba alternative to "Trilogy" that requires you to purchase the entire boat to go scuba diving. Snorkeling is just as good around the Manele Bay Resort.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I have been to the four seasons lanai two times. The first time was amazing the beach was wonderful the water was amazing and there were Dolphins that you could swim with in the ocean if you get tired of the beach than you can drive about five minutes on a road with no traffic lights to the other four seasons and do archery horseback riding and shooting guns, if you love secluded quiet vacations this used to be the place for you. Ok, the second time I went they had started construction on the hotel, one whole half of the hotel was closed and it was very loud and hard to have peace when there is so much construction and noise. Also the hotel update brought a lot of people to the hotel which made it crowded and just not the same. Despite the construction this resort is AMAZING and I would recommend going there.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We were disappointed to hear that your second visit to Lana’i is not what you had remembered. We hope you were able to enjoy the new room product and facilities, and look forward to welcoming you back to see the enhancements in the future. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Charles.Fisher@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife & I enjoyed three amazing nights February 21-24 at this fabulous property. The secluded location coupled with incredible rooms, service and amenities provide an experience of a lifetime!

The beds, bathrooms, pools, beach and dining options were excellent. If there could be an ultimate three days this is it! I wish everyone could be as lucky as we were to spend three days of perfection

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Address: One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lanai at Manele Bay is located on a pristine island a few miles west of Maui reflecting a simpler pace of life and the spirit of old Hawaii. Guests can enjoy an exclusive island getaway offering unique cultural adventures, myriad water and land activities and world-class tennis and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Manele Bay
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i At Manele Bay Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.