We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Resort is gorgeous but the drinks are not. ” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$2000 Resort Credit!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“The Resort is gorgeous but the drinks are not. ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The resort is great. I made the mistake of ordering drinks at the pool bar. They were awful. They really shouldnt be advertising they sell smoothies because that is syrup water and it tastes disgusting. The coconut mint refresher was mainly club soda and melted ice :(. The female bartender was unfriendly to top it off. The view was great though. I live on Maui so it's a nice change.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    8
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
53
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our third stay at this property, and it is better than ever. So unbelievably gorgeous- and staff is uniformly superb. They constantly went above and beyond to make our stay magnificent.

No desire was too big or too small for them to accommodate. For example, at check in we received a great room upgrade for the length of our stay. Then later, we were told our whale watching boat excursion had been cancelled because my husband and I were the only ones registered for it, and a minimum of six passenger bookings were required. When we expressed our disappointment, the hotel bought out the excursion, just so we could go.

Even though renovations were ongoing and the sister Four Seasons resort on the Island was closed, our stay was a dream. The renovated rooms make every room a fantasy suite!

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Spent 4 days here in newly remodeled wing. Asian theme with stunning grounds and walkways. Koi ponds and indoor/outdoor seating areas elegant yet casual, throughout. Magical at night when grounds are lit up! Spacious ocean front king room with dark walnut flooring, 72" tv, IPad, window shade/ lightswitch touch pad wall mounted control panel, very nice wet bar, Nespresso, bottled waters daily, beautifu dual bathroom sinks in natural stone. TV in one mirror-never seen that before. Glass enclosed rain shower with river rock pebbled flooring. Toilet lid lifts on it's own as you enter, has it's own control panel. Orchids in little glass vases around room. 3 excellent restaurants and a sports bar all with dining views of the ocean. The bay for swimming and snorkeling is wonderful. Short hike to the tide pool and cliffs for beautiful views. Beach chairs, umbrellas, towels, water, lemonade are provided. Complimentary shuttle to town.
This is our second stay and will
come back again.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
1,370 reviews 1,370 reviews
103 hotel reviews
Reviews in 285 cities Reviews in 285 cities
730 helpful votes 730 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My wife and I spent quite a bit of time here during a recent visit to Lanai. The entrance to this place is beautiful and breathtaking....the grounds are green and lush with local plants and beautiful flowers. It must take millions of gallons of precious water to keep it all going. For an island that is struggling with its water supply (Lanai is building desalination plants to mitigate the lack of fresh water) this seems irresponsible. But also unnecessary. The landscape designers could have embraced the dry, desert-like microclimate and run with it, creating an equally enticing and beautiful environment.

There are many strolling places around the hotel with Manele Bay, Puu Pehe and Fisherman's trail all near the hotel. There is a public beach less than a five minute walk form the pool. It is swimmable but has a wicked shore break that can be dangerous unless one is familiar with these sort of conditions.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I cannot say enough about this resort. Absolutely the best that I've stayed at by far. The staff is impeccable, the rooms spectacular, food unbelievable, views to die for! We were completely spoiled!! If I have anything bad to say - it would be if your visiting other islands - do this one last because you won't enjoy the other islands after being so spoiled on this one!

Room Tip: There really isn't a bad room... any of them are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Aloha,

Wow, thank you for your review. We truly appreciate you sharing your experience with us and are delighted that you enjoyed everything from our team to your room and dining. We completely agree that Lanai is the perfect island to end your stay in Hawaii! Mahalo again and we look forward to welcoming you back.

A Hui Hou,

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Charles.Fisher@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

If you're seeking peace and quiet in a secluded Hawaiian location, this is it. The Four Seasons Resort, Manele Bay offers spectacular views with easy access to the beach. The pool is positioned for terrific ocean views from above. The island offers two world-class golf courses with including the one next-door to the hotel. The restaurants are excellent and the service, as you can imagine, is great.

This is Hawaii without the tourists and chaos. However if you're looking for even a sliver of nightlife, you won't find it on Lana'i.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malibu
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The resort is a lovely physical plant and the people on the island are very nice.Yet a new
owner took over and raised prices double what they use to be .Therefore the resort we feel is not worth the entry price of a 900 dollar price tag .We have the freedom to travel and can afford beautiful resorts but recognize the limitations of this island and resort. Even if they do outstanding renovations: the hotel is so isolated ,,no resturants outside the few at hotel. Also the resort allows so many outside guests who are members of the hotel and home owners to use the gym and pool you do not feel it is an exclusive private resort . Additionally the beach is a public beach that many locals and campers come to swim. In Maui and Kona you can get a variety of beautiful resorts with variety of dining options at half the price with great golf with something for everyone.Most of my friends who have gone booked 1 or two nights to try out 4 seasons lanai because they were golfers.They now stay on Maui for a week when they vacation and take the ferry over and golf one day which they enjoy.The other days there are other great options for golf in Maui.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property and for recognizing our team. We hope on your next visit that you have the chance to visit Lana’i City, which has a few great dining options, Lana’i City Grille, Peles other Garden and Blue Ginger - just to name a few of our favorite local spots. We also look forward to welcoming back you to the property to see the enhancements. If you would like to discuss your stay further please feel free to contact me directly.

Warm Regards,

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Charles.Fisher@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Address: One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lanai at Manele Bay is located on a pristine island a few miles west of Maui reflecting a simpler pace of life and the spirit of old Hawaii. Guests can enjoy an exclusive island getaway offering unique cultural adventures, myriad water and land activities and world-class tennis and golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Manele Bay
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i At Manele Bay Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.