We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1000 Resort Credit!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
GreenLeadersBronze level
TN
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

I have always wanted to stay at his location, primarily because I had heard the views were beyond compare. Guess, what...it lived to up to the hype. Breath taking views in all directions. Perfect weather. Service is absolutely perfect. The rooms have some wear. Beds are soft. The transportation system has some glitches. These are small distractions to a wonderful property.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily L, Guest Relations Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Aloha JCFFB,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent stay. We are so glad you finally discovered our little piece of paradise. As you mentioned, the views of Hulopo’e Bay are quite spectacular. Thank you for your kind words regarding the service, our team is always striving for excellence. I appreciate your honest remarks regarding the rooms and transportation and I have addressed this with our Executive Team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Warmest Aloha,

Emily Littlepage
Director of Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    160
    60
    32
    19
See reviews for
220
615
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

After celebrating our honeymoon a year ago my wife and I knew we just had to come back for our first anniversary. We could not ask for more from the four seasons staff that always go above and beyond to spoil us with personal touches and a bottle of champagne. Hulopo'e bay is paradise and the four seasons at manele takes full advantage of this blissful location. We will be coming back for years to come.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua, Hawaii
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Every aspect of this hotel was excellent.......(all but the One Forty restaurant). It was beautiful decorated and landscaped, quiet, peaceful and relaxing. Service was impeccable! So many things to see and do with no was to do everything! I will definitely return, but I will be taking the shuttle into Lanai City for my steak dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Stayed 8 nights with my wife in early September. The setting is beautiful and the grounds are in great shape. The rooms are large but little worn around the edges. We stayed in two different rooms (upgraded to ocean front the last two nights) and the air conditioner in our second room barely worked. The bed in our first room was ridiculously soft.

Having said that we loved almost everything else. The staff are fantastic and so friendly. We were a little spoiled because Monday-Thursday of our stay the hotel felt almost empty and the staff looked like they had trouble staying busy. It probably helped that we were there after Labor Day when kids are back in school. The weekends felt crowded in comparison but we never had trouble getting a chair at the pool or the beach. The food for the most part was very good but had prices to go along with it.

The beach is great and never felt too crowded. They occasionally bring you cool towels, drinks and appetizers while you're relaxing.

We did a couples massage (a first for me) overlooking the ocean and then got a pool side massage a few days later. Everyone at the spa was fantastic.

My only other complaint is that I would have liked to dive more. You need a minimum of 3-4 people and only one of the 3 days that I signed up did the boat go out. That's a real shame because the dive crew was one of the best I've been out with and the location is spectacular.

Quick note on restaurants here since Lanai is a fairly closed environment:
Nobu - Expensive but our favorite. A nice mix of sushi with some spice.
Sports Bar - Good for a burger, drink or a late dessert but no bargain.
Pool Bar - Nice when you just want a quick bite without getting cleaned up.
The Dining Room at the Lodge - Romantic, rustic setting. Only 3 tables were set when we were there. Expensive but great food.
Lanai City Grill - Easily the best value for the money for a nice dinner.
The Challenge and Manele Club House - Good food and the best view.
One Forty - Only ate breakfast here. Buffet had everything we wanted but again, expensive.

It was definitely one of the more relaxing vacations we've taken.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha Mdkirkpatrick

Thank you for taking the time to give us your detailed feedback on your experience here on Lana’i. We are delighted to read that you had a memorable time among us and appreciated the service! Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectation on that manner.

We are also delighted to see that you were able to visit Lana’i city and our sister property, The Lodge at Koele.

We hope to welcome you back to Lana’i in the near future.

Kind Regards

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel has a wonderful location overlooking Hulopoe Bay which is marine reserve where you can snorkel with all sorts of marine fish. The beach is wide and safe for swimming/snorkelling.

the buts ...
- the rooms are badly in need of a refresh/refurb. Beds are tired and uncomfortable. Bathrooms are tired and outdated. Bedding and furniture, carpets etc are worm and tired.
- the single pool is overcrowded and they need to invest in another pool for adults and redesign the existing pool.
- food choices are not great and when the hotel is full service can be problematic. For example the buffet breakfast is not up to usual Four Seasons standards.
- staff at this hotel are very helpful and friendly but lacking in training.

It will be interesting to see how the change in ownership pans out as the hotel needs major investment.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms look over Hulopoe Bay and are much better than the Garden view ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Incredible service, from the lei greeting to the cold towel and drinks at check in. The staff was very attentive... at the pool, they come around with cold water and fruit on a stick. They watch you as you approach the pool and are right there to set up your chairs for you. The ultimate customer service is when the staff can anticipate your needs before you even know you need something. The Four Seasons staff at Manele Bay did just that at every turn. The rooms are beautiful... we were in a 1BR suite overlooking the ocean. One small nit, the sofa in the living room wasn't that comfortable but who spends time on a sofa in Hawaii anyway? If we were in the room we were mostly on the lanai or sleeping!

Room Tip: We were in Suite 2555 (ginger wing) overlooking the ocean, Beautiful view of the bay while lying in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha etokyo

We would like to thank you very much for your comment on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at the Four Seasons Resort Manele Bay! We are delighted to read that you had a memorable time among us and appreciated the service!

Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectation on that manner. Thank you for sharing your pictures with us.

We hope to see you again soon at the Four Seasons Resort Manele Bay

Kind Regards

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte Nido, CA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Staff is very friendly here, very accommodating, a great crew.
The beach is very nice, although sometimes a little choppy for snorkeling.
Sweetheart Rock is not to be missed, it's just beautiful and breath-taking.
Spa is nice, though a little small.
The rooms however, are starting to show their age. They are in good condition, it's just that for a 5 star hotel they look dated.

Overall very nice. If you don't need beach and prefer a more classic, quiet Lanai experience then you might try the Lodge at Koele.

Finally, Island Air delayed us 3 hours which put us on a red-eye to LAX. I'm told the airline is fairly unreliable, so you might consider other options getting to and from Lanai.

Room Tip: closer to the beach and pool will make your journeys shorter, of course a far room will mean you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Aloha Wayne_son_of_Murray

Thank you for taking the time to fill out our TripAdvisor page. We are delighted to read that you had a memorable time among us and appreciated the service! Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectation on that manner.

We hope to welcome you back to Lana’I in the near future.

Kind Regards

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Address: One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay is the quintessential Hawaiian beach resort. Overlooking a protected marine preserve, Manele Bay is a romantic retreat with championship golf and some of the finest offerings of water sports in the world. Al fresco dining options abound, from Pacific Rim to Italian cuisine, while spinner dolphins and whale watching are sights to behold. Pampering spa treatments and pool and beach side amenities make for a perfect day under the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Manele Bay
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i At Manele Bay Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.