We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maholo for a wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Maholo for a wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I was looking for a week away as a solo traveller with enough to do to keep me occupied, yet plenty of time for relaxing as well. Manele Bay Four Seasons met these expectations and then some! The staff were warm and obliging, the food amazing, the weather was beautiful and I saw spinner dolphins and green sea turtles in the wild. A special call out to Bruce from Rabaca Limousines for the cultural tour, and to Dennis from Western Adventures for the clay target shooting lesson. And to Tag for the trail-ride - such a great way to see more of the countryside. All-in-all a 'goldilocks' holiday ... just right :)

Room Tip: The oceanfront rooms have great views over Hulopo'e Beach, and if you're lucky you will see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charles F, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Aloha Melsword,

I would like to thank you very much for your comments on Tripadvisor. We're delighted that you had a wonderful visit and were able to experience the unique "Lana'i" hospitality, vast activities and amenities the resort and island have to offer.

It is always terrific to hear that so many of our employees were warm and obligind. All of our employees customer service and dedication shines which other guests have also encountered. You will always see a smile on their face which will brighten up anyone's day. Our employees truly love to share the "Aloha Spirit" with all visitors.

Please accept our "Aloha" in hopes that we may once again serve you on the island of Lana'i. Please feel free to contact us again if we may be of service again.

Warmest Aloha

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
charles.fisher@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    813
    160
    58
    32
    19
See reviews for
217
609
15
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
N. California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

the only reason i gave this hotel 4 stars out of 5 is because there were way too many kids here, and there is only one pool. If you are a couple that wants to be away from kids do not go here. Instead go to the four seasons kona on the big island where there are multiple pools with a no kids option.

the service at this hotel is amazing. all of the staff treat you so well. They are friendly, respectful, and courteous and always want to make sure that you are comfortable and have everything you need. the guys that work the towels and umbrellas at the pool work very hard. they are there to adjust your umbrella every time you just start to think about wanting to move it. They beat you to it, and often will move your umbrella or chair into the perfect position. they do this even if you don't want to get up!

the hotel has good restaurants as well. we enjoyed both nobu and 140, which you can read my reviews. we did not eat at the italian restaurant. We ate breakfast and lunch at the pool. the service was good every time.

the hotel offers a shuttle service to take you from the pier to the hotel, or the hotel to up country where the lodge and the town is. this is very easy to use and somewhat convenient as it runs every 30 or 60 minutes depending on the time and day. its nice to check out the other hotel as well as the town. you can charge items at the lodge to your room at manele bay which is convenient.

the room was large and had a great oceanview. however the room was a little far from the pool area. it was a long walk which isn't a big deal, but a little inconvenient if you forgot something. however, given the service, i'm sure someone would have walked to my room to get whatever i wanted, if i had asked.

overall, i recommend if you don't mind a bunch of kids at the pool / beach. it is vey nice and very relaxing.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Beautiful hotel with wonderful, caring staff. Large property that never felt crowded, even though a big group was there. Spacious beach with terrific snorkeling. Trail along the beach cove that leads to breathtaking views of Sweetheart rock. Every photo we took on the island could be a postcard. Whole site situated to take advantage of the natural beauty of Lenai. This is paradise.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is my favorite hotel on the planet. The place is beautiful. I think it might be impossible to get a bad room, though they do vary in terms of how much ocean you get to see. The staff is wonderful and make you feel special the minute you get off the shuttle. We are particularly fond of Karen at the front desk who walked us all over this place, Ahmed in housekeeping who may come to regret giving us his cell phone number but has already gone out of his way to do basically anything we want, and Anthony at the pool who cleaned all our grimy electronics and eye wear. I am adapting quickly to being treated this way and I may be unfit for civilization outside this hotel in short order.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This FS is outstanding and may now be our favorite in Hawaii. It is isolated and outside of the resorts there is little to do other than explore and relax. The hotel is undergoing a makeover and so far so good. We enjoyed everything from Nobu, the spa to the perfect beach. I cannot speak highly enough about the beach and we enjoyed snorkeling and general relaxation at this scenic property. A must if you want to get away from it all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I dream about this hotel. We spent 3 nights in late November 2012 and it was simply amazing. The views are incredible and the service...wow. Waitstaff constantly offering water, evian spritzes, appetizers - I was even served a crab wonton while in the hot tub and that requires walking across the steps within the pool! The food was awesome, a quick walk down to the beautiful beach and a short hike to Sweetheart Rock. The town center has cute shops for trinkets and local craftsmanship. If you are going to Maui and would like a night or two to experience this island, it is easy to get there and so worth it. If it was good enough for Tom and Giselle...:)

Room Tip: Upgrade at Check In - cheaper that what we were offered online and some upgrades are comp'd
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

As my shuttle from the airport pulled in I was greeted by a blowing conch, flower lei, and papaya juice... It just got better from there. This resort offers so much from the upcountry lodge, "the challenge" at Manale with it clubhouse and "the experience" at koelegolf course and clubhouse, easy and quick access the the marina for fishing and various water excursions and the ferry to Maui , it's fabulous beach and hiking... I could go on and on. A great getaway location ! I felt the staff was very attentive to all our needs!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Address: One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay is the quintessential Hawaiian beach resort. Overlooking a protected marine preserve, Manele Bay is a romantic retreat with championship golf and some of the finest offerings of water sports in the world. Al fresco dining options abound, from Pacific Rim to Italian cuisine, while spinner dolphins and whale watching are sights to behold. Pampering spa treatments and pool and beach side amenities make for a perfect day under the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay Hotel Lanai City
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay
Four Seasons Manele Bay
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i At Manele Bay Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.