We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lanai City
GreenLeadersBronze level
Arlington, VA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Great Place to Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

While this hotel is not as fancy as the Four Seasons in Maui, I probably enjoyed our stay here more. It was very uncrowded and there was a very laid back vibe.

Room- the room was comfortable, although it was very humid in the room and the bed was comfortable, but very loud—every time I turned over it would squeak. The bathroom was spacious and I enjoyed the bath products. We were in an oceanfront room on the first floor and the view from the terrace was amazing. I had booked a garden terrace room and we were upgraded to an ocean terrace room for free. We decided to pay a small upgrade fee to the ocean front room and I think the view was worth it.

Service- service was great, although a bit more understated than in Maui (I can’t help but to compare the two resorts). We still received great service from the wait staff and pool employees.

Pool- the pool was not very large, but it was not crowded at all. We spent more time at the pool than I expected because the ocean was rough when we were there. We enjoyed the treats that were provided throughout the day.

Beach- Hulopoe Bay- the most stunning beach we saw on our trip to Hawaii! But the main reason I wanted to visit was for the snorkeling and a swell was in for our entire stay so we missed out on that. I did enjoy watching the dolphins in the bay our first morning and also watching the large waves and surfers.

Food- generally the food was good, but not on par with what we had on the resort on Maui. We had the buffet breakfast included in our rate and it was quite good, but not as much selection as in Maui. The one real miss was the brownie I had at the sportsbar—it was just plain bad! We mostly ate at the resort but did have one meal at the Lodge (quite delicious, at their more casual restaurant). We also ate in town one day at Blue Ginger. Great food and large portions, big enough to share the meal. I’d also recommend having a meal at Hotel Lanai—a nice restaurant with great food and better prices than the resort.

Hike- my husband did the Sweetheart Rock Hike and it afforded more beautiful views.

We did a half day island tour with Rabacca's. This was arranged by the concierge. The tour was 4 hours in a suburban. I highly recommend this. We went through town, to the Lodge, Garden of the Gods, Shipwreck beach where we spotted turtles and also did a hike to some petroglyphs. Our guide was very friendly and knowledgeable.

I would love to come back here—the town is so charming and the beach and resort are beautiful. But I would want to make it a last minute trip so I can make sure to take advantage of the snorkeling.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,037 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    775
    156
    57
    31
    18
See reviews for
213
574
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

The island of Lanai is epic, the hotel capitalizes on Lanai's scenery, and is well built. The service and rooms are less than you'd expect when paying a pile of money to stay here, but you don't have many options. You only have the two Four Season resorts, Hotel Lanai, or camping. The hotel has sweet ocean views, cool breezes, a nice pool that overlooks the beach, and a free shuttle to town. The food in the hotel is overpriced, but again, you do not have many options. If you are looking for a cheap meal take the shuttle into Lanai City, and eat at one of the tiny local restaurants there. Otherwise, it's five star, expensive dining for you. The food was descent, but expensive. Make sure you leave the hotel, as the best stuff takes place outside. Good snorkeling in Hulepo Bay, spinner dolphins come into the bay often, fun coastal hiking, epic tidepools, etc. Don't forget to ride the shuttle up to the Koele Lodge and play their miniature golf course and/or crochet. The mini golf course is on manicured, real grass, and is rarely busy. Lanai is a hidden Hawaii gem, and the Manele Bay Hotel is in a great location, which is why it gets four stars from me. If you don't want to spend a ton of money, camp on Lanai and access all of the great activities for a 1/10 of the cost.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We visited Lana’i to relax and after staying at the Four Seasons Maui, the bar was set higher then imaginable for Four Seasons Manele Bay. Turn down the volume, hit the breaks, and understand what serenity is by staying at this property. We arrived via the ferry and our bags were immediately taken by a bellman and we were driven to the resort on a separate shuttle. With a three-minute ride, we arrived at the resort, to be greeted by Ian, the Rooms Division Manager. Ian not only escorted us to our room, but was extremely informative and accommodating. He truly started the second leg to our trip off right. Also, within minutes, our bags arrived to our suite. We were here for our 5-year anniversary trip, and here are the details:

We had a corner ocean view suite with almost a 270-degree panoramic ocean view. Housekeeping was impeccable. From the cleanliness of the room, to the service, to the warm greetings, we truly appreciated everything they did for us.

For Dining, there was Kailani, One Forty, Nobu, the restaurants at the Lodge and the local restaurants in Lana’i City. We spent our lunches daily at Kailani with the best Margaritas imaginable (spicy with foam toppings). For dinner we ate at Nobu, One Forty and the Dining Room at the Lodge. One Forty was a good traditional steak and seafood restaurant, with great service. Breakfast offers a fantastic buffet, which was too much for us, and a great a la carte menu. However, the highlight was the One Forty after dinner drink. It is big enough for two and the presentation is second to none. Cognac lovers will truly enjoy.

Nobu, was fantastic. We ate there twice and would have been there every night if we knew how great it was. The most challenging part of this restaurant is deciding what to order since everything is great. Sushi is good, but only a side show compared to the other dishes. I hope you like spicy, because the best dishes have a kick and their chef’s creativity is driven with a spice. You do have the option of dining at a sofa table or standard dining room table. The sofa tables have a great view and seem nice, but the dining tables are more practical.

The Dining Room at the Lodge was pleasant, and very quiet. The lobby’s live music kept the restaurant from playing their own. The Hawaiian Snapper was the best of the dishes, but Nobu’s creativity made it hard to compete with.

The pool was nice and relaxing, but the chairs on the lawn (steps from the pool), overlooked the ocean and were the best view in the resort. Drink and food service were available to this location. We did however, spend most of our time at the beach. Unfortunately, state law prohibited liquor at the beach, however a short walk back to the pool bar provided all the food and drinks needed. Additionally, it was such a safe and friendly feeling island, we left all of our belongings at the beach during our back and forth trips with no issues. Also, make sure to say hi to Winnie, the security officer along the way to the beach. She appeared to be more of a fantastic greeter to the resort and was so kind we talked forever.

Some of us have had the opportunity to swim with dolphins in a lagoon or in a controlled environment, but how about in the ocean, uncontrolled? Lana’i is famous for their spinner dolphins, which we saw two times in five days. Once while I was swimming in the ocean, I had twenty dolphins swim below me, within arms length. I watched as they spun out of the water around me. It was amazing. The second time I was on a paddle board and they swam up to me, this time double the amount of dolphins. Because they are protected, the beach can’t rent out snorkeling gear while the dolphins are visible. So make sure you reserve ahead of time and if they come out you can visit. However, as requested and advised, do not chase the dolphins. If you are out there, they will likely come to you.

As for the beach rentals, I wished Four Seasons rented more. In order to rent a paddleboard or surfboard (I rented both) you had to go through an outside source (Nick). Nick was nice, but seemed to be on Hawaii time, regardless of how many times the four seasons contacted him. So if you are interested, reserve days ahead of time.

Another great service is the shuttle, which takes you into town (two streets of local shops and restaurants) and to the Lodge. We played the executive putting course (sand traps and creeks), which was fantastic. We also played croquette, with a few rules skipped. The grounds are fantastic.

Finally, my wife and I had the luxury of renewing out vows here. Rosalynn was a sweetheart and was so accommodating. From the moment I emailed the group sales team to the moment we renewed our vows, it was perfect. The local officiant was amazing and the site, on the lawn overlooking the ocean, was exceptional. It was a moment we will never forget. Afterwards, we had dinner on the balcony of our suite – can’t beat it!

Overall, this vacation provided memories of a lifetime and we are already planning on how we will make it back. The Four Seasons Lana’i team felt like family and we couldn’t imagine not returning. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSLanai, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Aloha ThePerfectCritic,

Greetings from paradise! Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay in May. Congratulations as well for celebrating your fifth anniversary. We are honored that you selected our resort to not only celebrate, but also renew your vows. I will share your praise with Rosalynn for coordinating such a special and flawless occasion. Thank you as well for the wonderful feedback regarding the dining outlets. As you noted, there are a variety of options each with a distinct menu - from Nobu and One Forty to Kailani and The Dining Room, there's something for everyone. Your review truly captured the spirit and genuine warmth of the island, as well as the impeccable service. I believe you summed it up perfectly with "the team felt like family." On behalf of the entire team, thank you again for such a sincere review and we look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come.

Warmest aloha,

Charles Fisher
Resort Manager
charles.fisher@fourseasons.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Everything about this resort is perfect. The staff is wonderful. The people in the city are wonderful. Had an amazing time shopping and meeting people. The food, drinks, even the sunscreen was exquisite. So much to do, you never want to leave.

Room Tip: Ocean front view room a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My wife and I planned our first trip to HI as a way to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. The personal service and attentiveness of the staff were extraordinary. The setting was sublime and the food was excellent. The best and relaxing vacation we have had in our lives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haiku, Hawaii
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We enjoyed our short getaway to Manele Bay from our home on Maui. "Where do people who live in Maui go for vacation?" We get asked that and our answer for a short staycation The Four Seasons at Manele Bay is great. Pricy but excellent value. So nice to take the ferry over and not have to go thru an airport. We are already planning our return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This island was recently bought by Larry Ellison and he is upgrading the facility and bringing a more modern flair and style to the island and the resort. It is a very special hotel and place to find yourself by listening to the quiet.

Go there to be awed by the beauty of nature, the dolphins and the landscape. A good hike along the Fisherman's trail will give you access to some of the most beautiful coastline in the world.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room to the west for excellent and romantic sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Address: One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay is the quintessential Hawaiian beach resort. Overlooking a protected marine preserve, Manele Bay is a romantic retreat with championship golf and some of the finest offerings of water sports in the world. Al fresco dining options abound, from Pacific Rim to Italian cuisine, while spinner dolphins and whale watching are sights to behold. Pampering spa treatments and pool and beach side amenities make for a perfect day under the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay Hotel Lanai City
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay
Four Seasons Manele Bay
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i At Manele Bay Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.