We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1000 Resort Credit!
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Diego,CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

After spending one week being treated like royalties in this absolutely beautiful place, it was hard to tear ourselves away and return to reality, even though our reality is in "America's Finest City" San Diego. The service was outstanding in every respect and the grounds and the hotel were gorgeous and beautifully maintained. We tried all the restaurants and were never disappointed. We did not hesitate giving this hotel 5 stars!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,095 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    824
    160
    60
    32
    19
See reviews for
220
615
16
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Perfect!!! Nothing could of been improved upon. Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts never disappoints! Lanai was paradise as was the Four Seasons. We just arrived home on April 17th from a 4 night stay. We were upgraded to an Ocean Front room which was spectacular. The room was extremely clean, spacious and offered a balcony with a view that was full view of the ocean! We watched spinner dolphins from our balcony each morning which was so cool!

The ocean was beautiful and we enjoyed having our chairs/umbrella's set up for us in our own space away from others. The staff frequently came by offereing us cold towels for our faces, ice water and smoothies - all complimentary along with the chairs and umbrella's. There were washroom facilities at the beach along with complimentary jugs of lemonade and water for guests.

The staff were exceptional from the restaurants to the pool/beach area to the spa. Staff always aimed to please guests and really couldn't do enough to ensure guests were happy.

We went into Lanai city shopping one day which was fun and very interesting. Little boutiques and art galleries with some local restaurants.

As well we had dinner one night at the sister property Four Seasons, the Lodge at Koele, which we enjoyed. There was a live band the night we went which was entertaining.

Four Seasons Lanai is a special place and we are so glad we split up our holiday by staying in Maui for 4 nights and then at the Four Seasons Lanai for 4 nights and not staying the full 8 nights in Maui as it was so busy. Lanai was quiet and you felt like you were on your own little island! A perfect 4 days! Four Seasons Hotels and Resorts are simply the best!!!

Room Tip: All rooms looked lovely, even garden view. The gardens were beautiful! Ocean Front though is worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSLanai, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Aloha 8885,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay with us, we truly appreciate the wonderful highlights of your visit. Thank you as well for noting the exceptional service from our team. Between the pool staff, spa and restaurants, we are so fortunate to have such warm and generous employees who truly share the aloha spirit. Glad to hear you enjoyed dinner at our sister property, The Lodge at Koele. With two Four Seasons on one island, guests enjoy the "island hop" experience without having to leave the island, plus full access to each property. Makes for a relaxing and luxurious stay in paradise. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

George Tanzman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suburban Chicago
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

We spent 4 nights at Manele Bay and 3 at the Lodge at Koele (will review that separately). It was our first experience with a high-end resort vacationing, so we are perhaps easily impressed. We are truly impressed. It is a beautiful location, beautifully developed and maintained, with gracious staff across the board. We wanted remote and Lanai fits that bill. It's a bit hard and perplexing to get to (we flew Island Air from Honolulu, booked as part of a United trip from Chicago). As I have read elsewhere, it's not the prettiest Hawaiian island, but it has a genuine beauty and feels special.

The Four Seasons and its related luxury homes are about all there is on the only developed part of the coastline. It shares a most beautiful beach with the public park, which is nice - the crowd at the beach is diverse and everyone seemed to be having fun. If you plan to snorkel, you might want to bring your own gear. The hotel supplies the gear, which is very convenient most of the time, but they do not hand it out when there are dolphins in the bay (to discourage people from playing with the dolphins), which disappointed us for most of a morning when we had to wait to snorkel. The snorkeling is awesome. The beach staff, like all the staff, is wonderful.

We reserved and received a "partial ocean view" room, which had a beautiful view of the ocean in the distance and the lovely gardens in the foreground. The lanai was inviting and relaxing. The only problem was that noise bounced around the courtyard, so some kids woke us up a couple mornings (we liked to leave the doors open for fresh air at night). The room design is a little dated, especially the bathroom - rather 1990's - but high quality, well maintained, clean, elegant and comfortable. The facility is sprawling and we enjoyed the long, covered outdoor walks between the room and the rest of the facility and down to the beach; folks with mobility concerns should consider this.

We enjoyed the beach, the views, the meals at Hulopo'e Court and Fresco (reviewed separately), Happy Hour cocktails, music & hula dancing at Fresco, after dinner drinks and a game of pool in the Hale Ahe Ahe lounge. Also, it is wonderful the way the Four Seasons provides bus service every 30 minutes between Manele, Lanai City and the Lodge. You do not need a car unless you want to explore the roads beyond, in which case you need a jeep. The one time charge for using the bus covered the whole week at both lodges. Everything is very expensive, but it all seems worth it. A wonderful experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Let me start by saying that I think most 5 star reviews on Trip Advisor are way over rated. I've stayed in a lot of nice hotels and eaten at some great restaurants over the years so to me a five star review should be rare and reserved for something really special.

The Four Seasons at Manele Bay is the definition of a 5 star hotel. It's exquisite! Staff, facilities, activities, location, rooms are were as close to perfect as you can find, especially in warmer climates.. Whether you are looking for a great beach, golf, romance or just chilling, it's perfect. The golf was hard but excellent. The dolphins hang out by the beach(we were able to swim with them twice). We got great photos of whales from the beach along with other beautiful shots. You will also get the benefit of their sister resort on top of Lanai. Staff were all more than competent and friendly. The grounds were amazing. The rooms big. We were traveling with our teenage son and a buddy of his and they both loved it too. Truly, it was all excellent!

The only things I saw that they could improve upon were their restaurant wait service (hostesses were wonderful) for lunch and dinner and their work out facility was pretty small.

I would highly recommend this resort for anyone who really wants to get away for a week or so!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 5 days. Nice property and service was great but the rooms are old and smelled of mildew and mould. Love that they use l'Occitane toiletry. You need to rent a car to get around and there is only one car rental place in Lanai which can be found in town about 30 mins (driving) from the hotel. Lana'i 'Ohana Poke Market was our favourite spot for lunch. A shack of a place but the Poke (Japanese style ceviche) was incredible. Must visit Garden of the Gods.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSLanai, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Aloha HelloMister,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the property and our service, we are fortunate to have such an amazing team in place. My sincere apologies that we did not meet your expectations with the overall room decor and ambiance. I have shared your concerns with our Director of Housekeeping and our management team is currently reviewing our guest rooms to ensure other guests do not experience this. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Thank you again for visiting the island and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

George Tanzman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This place just pulls us back year after year. Even though it is remote we flew into Maui and took the ferry over. The ferry feels so much like part of the vacation with watching the whales,dolphins and scenery. Our stay was perfect. From the moment we were greeted at the ferry dock to the amazing views from the rooms to the food-- simply perfection..

One of our favorite things to do is to get up early and admire the sunrise from the top of the fisherman's trail as the sun rises over Maui. A lovely hike before breakfast and truly amazing views. We generally get to see wild turkeys as well as many other birds along the way including the gorgeous cardinals who serenade us as we walk along.

The beach is the jewel. As others have mentioned the snorkeling is first rate but watching the baby spinners jump out of the water has to be my favorite. My husband went scuba diving twice and says it is world class with the sights and the service on the boat.

I took a garden tour with the horticultural manager. This is not advertised but it is available if you ask. I learned so much about the planning of the landscape and it enhanced my appreciation of the fine details such as the plantings of orchids on the trees at eye level to provide interest as one walks along the paths.

This is one of the most magical, relaxing and beautiful places. Thankfully the Four Seasons staff makes it special for guests... We'll be back..

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSLanai, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, April 16, 2012
Aloha Lauretta,

Greetings from Lanai! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. It's wonderful to hear that this was your eighth trip to the island, we look forward to welcoming you back for many more stays ahead. I'm glad you and your husband were able to take advantage of the islands' many offerings such as hiking, scuba diving and touring our exquisite gardens. Lanai is truly a magical island and we are so pleased you have discovered the beauty and tranquility that our staff and resort offers guests.

Warmest aloha,

George Tanzman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

Everything about our 11 day stay was flawless. From the extra attention at the pool area, the graciousness & likeability of the staff, the special treats left in our room - what more does a person need!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Address: One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay is the quintessential Hawaiian beach resort. Overlooking a protected marine preserve, Manele Bay is a romantic retreat with championship golf and some of the finest offerings of water sports in the world. Al fresco dining options abound, from Pacific Rim to Italian cuisine, while spinner dolphins and whale watching are sights to behold. Pampering spa treatments and pool and beach side amenities make for a perfect day under the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Manele Bay
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i At Manele Bay Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.