We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to relax. We were able to swim with wild dolphins right from the shore. Unforgettable vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lanai City
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Jose, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place to relax. We were able to swim with wild dolphins right from the shore. Unforgettable vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Amazing place to relax. We were able to swim with wild dolphins right from the shore. I preferred the rooms of the Four Seasons on the Big Island but this location and beach was way better. This was an unforgettable vacation.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    761
    154
    57
    31
    17
See reviews for
205
567
15
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (247)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Our first visit to Lanai and the Four Seasons Manele Bay was in October of 2007 to scout a location for our wedding. Because we were also visiting Maui and the big island of Hawaii, we only had a day/night on Lanai. It was not near enough time, but gave us just enough of itself to literally count the days until we returned.

That time came for our second trip in October 2008 with about 30 of our closest friends and family for our wedding. On this trip we stayed a couple of nights at the Lodge at Koele and played golf at the Experience. We really enjoyed our time there as it offers a completely different experience than at the beach, all within a few minutes of each other. We then headed down to Manele Bay for our wedding, which was featured on WE TV's Top 10 Wedding Destinations show. We married on the Tee Box at the Challenge overlooking the bay, beach and Sweetheart Rock. Akiko, the wedding coordinator made things so easy. I literally sent her a couple of pictures of table settings and a cake that I liked and she took my vision and made it better than I could have expected. It was nothing short of amazing and all of our family and guests still talk about how wonderful the entire experience was. The show was right to show this to be a top wedding destination, as the service, food, rooms, really everything was amazing!

We just returned home from another week spent on Lanai with all of our stay at Manele Bay. We learned from previous trips to Hawaii the best plan was to go straight to Lanai and stay there as long as possible! We were met with a private check-in and a bottle of champagne, a note from the resort manager congratulating us on our 3rd anniversary and welcoming us back to the Four Seasons, as well as an upgraded ocean view room. This time we brought my mother in law, who roomed next door also with an ocean view and a couple that are two of our closest friends, one of whom was in our wedding. Being that we had perfect experiences in our previous trips, I am sure our expectations were more than extremely high, however I know and understand things happen and sometimes people slip up. We had a couple of hiccups this time, however management was informed quickly by the staff and they went above and beyond, which was so greatly appreciated. We spent most of our trip sleeping in, eating the amazing breakfast buffet, laying by the pool and beach and playing golf. The Experience offers cool temps and great views of the island and Maui across the way. The Challenge overlooks breath-taking views of the bay, as well as dramatic cliff views of the waves crashing against them. We had dinner at the Terrace this visit and enjoyed both the food and the ambiance of the Lodge with the fireplace crackling in the background.

Three employees of the Four Seasons whom I cannot say enough great things about are Eunice (pool side waitress), Elliott (pool side concierge) and Jun (front desk staff). These three in particular exude Four Seasons with excellent attitudes, attention to detail and overall excellent customer service. We also met Phil the F&B manager and George the Resort Manager and both of them are so down to earth, very hands-on and incredibly capable of keeping this resort the top notch, heaven on earth that we know it to be.

Room Tip: The best value seems to be when the hotel offers the "Buy 3 get 1 night free" promotion wh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSLanai, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Aloha Kylie and Jason,

Mahalo for sharing your wonderful experience on Lanai. It was my pleasure to meet you both during your stay and welcome you back to the island. We truly appreciate your thoughtful comments about our staff and incredible service. I will make sure to share your compliments with Eunice, Elliott and Jun - they will all be very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

Lanai is a magical destination for weddings, especially at The Challenge at Manele's Tee Box. No other location in Hawaii can compete with the spectacular view and privacy for a ceremony - good choice! Thank you for choosing to celebrate your anniversary with us and we are honored Lanai holds such a special place in your memories. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more years to come.

A hui hou,

George Tanzman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

If you are needing a place that pays attention to details , personalized service and a gorgeous property- this is the spot. It was an easy ferry ride from Maui. Everything was top notch, a little pricey but definitely worth every penny!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This was our first stay at a Four Seasons resort, as the final 2 nights of a 17 day, 4 island Hawaiian celebration of our 25th wedding anniversary. Our only disappointment was not having stayed for a week, instead of 2 nights. From the time we arrived at the airport, the Four Seasons greeted, spoiled and pampered us as if we were the King and Queen of Lanai. Met at the airport desk after an early morning flight, our luggage was taken to the hotel, while we made our way to pick up our rental Jeep and tour the island (Garden of the Gods, Shipwreck Beach where we pulled another unfortunate rental Jeep out of the deep sand, etc.). Upon check-in, we received an upgrade for our anniversary from garden view to a “garden-ocean view”. Honestly, the view of the garden was fascinating and a nice section of the ocean was indeed visible from the lanai, albeit over the lovely green roof of another building. Throughout our stay, the staff impressed us by constantly addressing us as “Mr. and Mrs. Trump”. OK, granted that’s not really our name, but they always used “Mr. and Mrs.”, so you get the idea of how welcome and appreciated we were made to feel. Following our first evening at the resort, we quickly realized that we could easily become accustomed to the pampering at this incredible tropical paradise. Therefore, we returned the rental Jeep the next morning (2 days early), deciding that being spoiled at the resort was a better alternative than bumping around in a dusty Jeep for 2 more days.

At the pool, one could quickly forget the existence of a real life back home, looking out at the beach and the ocean from the shade of an umbrella or cabana, setup especially for you by the pool staff. The friendly attendants lay out towels for you nicely on the lounge chair in front of your eyes, then open the umbrella and place it perfectly to your liking. Fighting for shade at other island resorts rapidly fades into the past, as the unlimited opportunities for sun shelter present themselves at Four Seasons. No sooner has your rear quarter hit the chair, when you are forced to suffer through periodic rounds of complimentary ice water, cold, wet washcloths to cool your body, sprays from refreshing sprits bottles, exotic juices delivered in cute little cone shaped glasses, even cleaning of your sunglasses so your view of heaven is not clouded with sunscreen smudges. One of the very friendly pool attendants called himself Dr. Shade, because of his commitment to cleaning and even repairing guest’s sunglasses. He informed us that he was very competent using his repair kit to do surgery and heal the casualties from the pool and beach.

Like all the upscale Hawaiian resorts, the restaurants are very good, but rather pricey. The only alternative would be to drive or take the resort shuttle about 20 minutes into Lanai City, where several less costly eateries are available. Of course, since we saved $300 by deserting our junky rental Jeep for 2 days, the price of a few Pina Coladas and savory dinner entrees was not a concern.

The beach is quite a hike from the resort, which is perched perhaps 75 feet above sea level on the hillside. However, once there you can enjoy the same exquisite service that is offered at the pool (minus the tasty pina coladas), with comfortable loungers and umbrellas arranged to your preference on the beach. The surf is relatively calm and on the left (East) side of the bay is a coral reef with a remarkable quantity of fish, if you enjoy snorkeling. In fact, about 75 yards from the beach, I was stunned to see a large school of yellow tang fish (30-50), more than I have ever seen during many years of snorkeling on all the Hawaiian islands, the Caribbean, Bermuda and Mexico. The fish in this spot even beat Molokini crater on a good day.

On the last day, we arranged (for a nominal fee) a late checkout at 5:30 PM and enjoyed the pool one more time. As we were leaving, we mentioned sadly to Dr. Shade that our flight departed in a couple of hours. With the utmost sincerity, he told us emphatically “It has been a true honor to be able to serve you. I hope you enjoyed your stay and come back to see us soon”.

Regarding waiters, Arnel always offered pleasant service and great conversation to start our day at breakfast. I have no idea why, but he received a big hug from my wife as we left the restaurant on the last day. I guess that is her way of saying “thanks for showing such genuine friendship”, or more likely “I am going to miss this place and your service so much”.
So to summarize, stay away from this resort, unless you wish to endure severe pampering, disgustingly beautiful surroundings and horrendously tantalizing ambiance. The service that the hotel staff provides is undoubtedly the best we have ever experienced.

Thank you Four Seasons for the perfect finale to our Hawaiian vacation!

Room Tip: Requesting a room close to the pool will significantly reduce the amount of walking required.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FSLanai, Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, responded to this review, October 21, 2011
Aloha,

Mahalo for the wonderful comments about the Resort and exceptional service, we truly appreciate your positive feedback. We're thrilled that you choose our property as your first Four Seasons experience. I will pass along your comments to Arnel, the pool & beach attendants, and of course Dr. Shades - they will all be very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. Snorkeling in Hulopo`e Bay is one of my favorite ocean activities, as there's such an abundance of colorful fish swimming around you, and you can't beat the warm Hawaiian water. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Mahalo,

George Tanzman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mililani, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We came for a wedding and it was an awesome experience. I live on Oahu and the ratrace has gotten to me. I forgot till I got to Lanai about what aloha was. It was like how Oahu was 40 yrs ago . The overall feel of the island and the first class care of manele bay and koele lodge transformed me if even for a couple of days . I came away changed , more relaxed and appreciative of what hospitality and aloha is. Our whole family will remember this trip for a very very long time.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor on the wing furthest away from the beach(highest on the mountain) on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We spent a portion of our honeymoon at the Manele Bay resort. What an experience! It was, most definitely, the best hotel stay of our lives. Be sure to talk to the local employees on what to do in Hawaii. Their friendliness is unmatched and they provided us with ideas that made our overall trip unforgettable. And, the snorkeling in the bay was the best we've ever seen. Thank you, thank you, Four Seasons Manele Bay for everything!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

The hotel is extremely kid friendly and service is exceptional.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay

Address: One Manele Bay Road, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay is the quintessential Hawaiian beach resort. Overlooking a protected marine preserve, Manele Bay is a romantic retreat with championship golf and some of the finest offerings of water sports in the world. Al fresco dining options abound, from Pacific Rim to Italian cuisine, while spinner dolphins and whale watching are sights to behold. Pampering spa treatments and pool and beach side amenities make for a perfect day under the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay Hotel Lanai City
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i At Manele Bay
Four Seasons Manele Bay
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i At Manele Bay Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.