We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mike Carroll Gallery” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mike Carroll Gallery

Mike Carroll Gallery
443 7th St., Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
808 565 7122
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 10 Attractions in Lanai City
Type: Art Galleries, Cultural
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: You'll find the Mike Carroll Gallery nestled among the towering Cook Pines of Dole Park in historic Lana'i City. Featuring original paintings by Mike and his fellow award-winning guest artists, fine art photography, handcrafted jewelry, bowls turned from local woods, and a surprising collection of Asian antiques. See why we've been called "One of Hawaii's most beautiful galleries!" Open 7 days a week (Mon-Sat 10Am-5:30PM, Sun 10AM-2PM)
Oak Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Mike Carroll Gallery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

As a native Lanaian I enjoy visiting Mike's gallery whenever I return to the islands. We picked up a few more prints to add to our collection as we "talked story" with Mary. Mike and Mary are warm and accomodating and we will definitely stop by when visit Lanai again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaimike, Owner at Mike Carroll Gallery, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Aloha NadineM,

How wonderful of you to write a review! Because you are from Lana'i, it really means a lot to me that you appreciate the "sense of place" in my work. Thanks so much for adding to your collection; we'll look forward to seeing you back on Lana'i one day soon!

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    13
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Visit with Mike Carroll”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were on our honeymoon on Lana'i and had the good fortune to visit Mike Carroll Gallery where we met the artist. He took the time to show us his art work and to answer all of our questions. In addition he was a wonderful person. He has beautiful work and we asked him to create us a painting. He was very helpful and polite; a great ambassador for Lana'i. Please stop in the gallery when visiting this wonderful island.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaimike, Owner at Mike Carroll Gallery, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Aloha EddieLamesa,

Thanks for taking the time to visit our gallery--and many thanks for your kind words! I am so honored that you selected me to create a painting to commemorate your honeymoon--I hope it brings back wonderful memories of your visit. (I know some artists shy away from commissions, but i really enjoy creating personalized paintings for our guests!) Here's wishing you two well, and hoping that you'll return to Lana'i soon-- Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hawaiian Art at its finest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

A trip to Hawaii is incomplete until you experience the tiny island of Lanai. It harkens back to old Hawaii and still has a small town feel. While there you must see Mike Carroll's Gallery. He will likely either be there, or at one of the local hotel/resorts painting, as you watch. With a warm smile, he will stop what he is doing and talk "story" with you as long as you want. We had already purchased on an earlier visit 3 small prints that hang in our entry. This time we were taken with "Three Pineapples", which we already knew as my aunt had previously purchased a print about 3 years ago. This time we made the leap and bought our own print. You must check out his work as it typifies what it must have been like in Hawaii over the years. We are so happy with our painting and will enjoy it the rest of our lives.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaimike, Owner at Mike Carroll Gallery, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Aloha TeenaS,

What a kind review...mahalo! We were guilty of visiting Lana'i only after vacationing on the larger islands over the years, but within 5 days of landing, we made an offer on a "fixer-upper" plantation house in Lana'i City...that's how impressive the Old Hawaii feel is here.

It was so much fun to embellish your limited edition "Three Pineapples"--I was very happy with the way the light caught the paint edges! And while other reviewers have mentioned it, I truly like being able to greet visitors personally in Lanai's laid-back atmosphere. This interaction is often missing in high-pressure galleries on other islands (by the way, we avoid galleries like that, too!)

Again, mahalo--we look forward to seeing you on Lana'i again soon,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Gallery in Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My wife and I happened to wander in Mike's gallery one afternoon while in Lanai. We had a fantastic time visiting with Mike and his wife. The gallery has a fantastic atmosphere. We bought two prints that were featured in the hotel we were staying at. Mike and his wife embody the Mahalo spirit. His gallery is a must!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaimike, Owner at Mike Carroll Gallery, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Aloha Hill2727,

Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review of your visit to our gallery. I'm especially happy that, even though you visited in February, the experience stuck with you! Thanks also for mentioning that you picked up a couple of prints as a memory of Lana'i--I'm honored that guests enjoy these as souvenirs of their vacation.

Here's hoping you visit us again soon,

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Stopped by gallery after seeing Mr Carrol's working at our hotel

Enjoyed visiting the gallery and buying three paintings to have in our house

Shipping home was free when buying three

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lanaimike, Owner at Mike Carroll Gallery, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Aloha Parcapecod,

I enjoyed reading your review--especially about your experiences on our golf courses. Don't know of too many places where you have a seaside course and a mountain course just 15 minutes from each other. Glad you two had a good time!

Many thanks for stopping by our gallery and taking advantage of our free shipping offer--we hope that the art will bring back great memories of your honeymoon. Here's hoping we see you back on Lana'i for your anniversaries! --Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mike Carroll Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Mike Carroll Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mike Carroll Gallery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.