We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Fine Dining!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dining Room

Dining Room
Four Seasons Resort Lanai, The Lodge at Koele, One Keomoku Highway, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
808 565 4000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Dining Room is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Lanai City
Price range: $30 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
indianapolis
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Wonderful Fine Dining!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

This is a first class place to enjoy dinner! There is a great menu selection ranging from fresh local fish to quail and venison. We particularly enjoyed the chief's special four course dinner selection with the wine pairing - simply fabulous!! Also, the service is absolutely superb!!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    26
    8
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Lovely formal dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Delicious meal. Wonderful atmosphere. Attentive staff. We enjoyed the quieter atmosphere in the Dining Room.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Good, but a real come down with new tasting menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We dined at the Dining Room two years ago and were exceedingly impressed-- the food was wonderful, the wine list extensive, and the service impeccable. With a change from an a la carte menu to a tasting menu (fixed price of $99; with wine pairing $140) the service has remained excellent, but the wine list has been significantly downgraded (gutted of most fine or interesting wines) and the food has become unimaginative and less interesting than when the restaurant received a certificate of excellence from Trip Advisor.

Management at the hotel say the changes reflect enhancements to improve the guest experience. Part of the enhancement is to vacate the wine list of finer wines (limited selection and what is there is mediocre if you are a oenophile). I was told that the wine list here is the same as at all other Four Seasons' properties, but when I visited the neighbouring Four Seasons at Manele Bay (under the same management team) I found a wine list that was what one would expect from a Four Seasons. Go figure -- there's no explanation for why the fine dining restaurant at the Lodge at Koele would have an inferior wine list.

The food choices on the tasting menu were acceptable (the menu has four courses; does not include dessert), and the presentation pleasing, but the food lacked sophistication or complexity. It isn't that anything wasn't good, but it missed the mark (e.g., the lobster had a thin sauce without flavour intensity or interesting overtones; the quail was listed on the menu as including black truffle brioche, but no brioche included; dressings and sauces were heavily salted). On my previous visit, my impression was the restaurant approached what would warrant one Michelin star. Based on this visit, the impression left is that it doesn't even approach a quality that would suggest one make an effort to visit.

I would have preferred that the restaurant retained its previous excellence. But I also feel that previous patrons should be forewarned that the restaurant is not what it used to be.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Volcano Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food and Setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We celebrated my husband's B'Day and were delighted by the tasting menu with the delicious selection of beautifully prepared food, efficiently served meal and intimate setting, which beautifully contrasted the large warm and charming Great Room.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodinville, Washington
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“A great choice for a special occasion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

My wife and I celebrated an early anniversary here. I'm not sure if it was because of the slow season or not but only two other tables were occupied while we were there. The dinner was very expensive but memorable. They had a special menu, not the items on it but the presentation of the menu itself, with our names, date and the occasion. Since we'd already had so much seafood during our stay we opted for the earthier choices like venison and were glad we did.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsLanai, Manager at Dining Room, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Mdkirkpatrick,

Thank you so much for celebrating your anniversary with us and for writing such a thoughtful review. We appreciate your kind words regarding the service and terrific food. I'm thrilled that you enjoyed your recent trip. Please let me know if you would like the recipe for any of the menu items that you enjoyed and I would be happy to send it to you.

Mahalo,
Mohzani Mokhtar
Director of Restaurants
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dining Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.