We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personalized service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of One Forty

One Forty
1 Manele Bay Road, Four Seasons Lanai at Manele Bay, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
+1 808-565-2000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
One Forty is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $35 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Manele Bay
Description: ONE FORTY's name pays homage to Lanai's beautiful 140 square miles and a steak prepared at 140 degrees. At Manele Bay, enjoy traditional breakfast fare with an island influence and dinner featuring hand cut steaks and fish caught just off shore. With an emphasis on local ingredients, our Chef showcases the flavors native to Hawaii. Choose a wine from our accomplished 300 bottle selection and enjoy the picturesque view of Hulopoe Bay.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Personalized service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We visited the restaurant during the morning to see the menu and were offered coffee, which was very good and we liked the selection on the menu so we came back for dinner.
We were asked for our name as we were shown to our table and were addressed so, for the rest of the evening. Nice touch! The view was beautiful looking across the pool and out to sea especially as the sun set.
The menu and wine cellar is comprehensive. The food was delicious and the service perfect. We were not rushed, yet advised if we would like the soufflé, it would take twenty minutes to prepare. We did not order it when suggested, but waited until we had finished our entree. It did take twenty minutes, but was well worth the wait. Meantime, we just relaxed and enjoyed our wine and the changing view.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    17
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good service and tasty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We had dinner at One Forty twice while staying at the Four Seasons Manele Bay. The food was good but we wished the menu was lighter, more inventive and featured more local flavors.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“Rocky start but turned out to be very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant without a reservation and even though there were vacant tables (that had not been reserved) were turned away. The excuse, "we have two large parties." We explained that all we wanted was a bottle of wine and a couple of appetizers and we were in no rush. The staff was emphatic that they would not accommodate us. I went to the hotel concierge which led to intervention by the Front Desk Manager. We were seated (with totally unnecessary effort and power games).

The service was attentive and the food was excellent. We'd have happily had a full meal, but weren't that hungry after a large lunch. However, based on what we were served, we would recommend the restaurant as a good choice (just be sure to make a reservation given they don't like walk-ins, even if they have the space. Go figure). I'd return here before returning to Kailani (although Kailani was also very good).

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chocolate souffle is a must!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Customer service at a Four Seasons restaurant is always top-notch. Flat iron steak with garlic and blue cheese butter was very good. The chocolate souffle for dessert is a must! Possibly the best I've had!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great Service and Views, but expected more from the meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We visited this restaurant in July with some good friends. The restaurant and views are both beautiful. The service is also very good! I do have to say though, that we were a little disappointed in the meal. The meal itself was fine and artistically presented, but fell short of our expectations. A restaurant of this stature should offer a memorable experience, not just an acceptable dinner. Our group had the fresh Ono, mahi-mahi, the lobster & filet, and the ribeye. The ribeye was apparently the best of the four. The seafood was a little over cooked making the lobster a little tough and the Ono and mahi dry. While the One Forty is pricey, it is still worth it for the view and service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed One Forty also viewed

Lanai City, Lanai
Lanai City, Lanai
 

Been to One Forty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage One Forty, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.