We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not just the pool bar.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kailani

Kailani
1 Manele Bay Rd, Four Seasons Resort Lanai at Manele Bay, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
808 565 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Kailani is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 17 Restaurants in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Manele Bay Road
Description: Perched above Hulopo"e Bay, Kailani specialises in contemporary Italian cuisine made from the freshest local and organic ingredients, sourced directly from Hawaii’s fishers and farmers. Served alfresco for lunch and dinner, innovative menus incorporate seasonal offerings that are proudly showcased in Chef Dario Montelvere’s daily specials. Dinner choices include lobster ravioli with local seasonal vegetables and vanilla butter sauce; locally caught smoked ono accompanied by rainbow carrots, baby artichokes and salsa verde; and cappesante e pancetta with scallops and pork belly, candy apple purée and micro celery.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not just the pool bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stopped for a drink after snorkeling thinking we would eat elsewhere. So glad we stayed and dined there with the live music and the sun setting and the bay view. Our server was very helpful in explaining the menu and how to order so that we could eat light but get more than one dish. The food was very good. The overall experience was excellent.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    30
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
“A welcome alternative from Lodge at Koele”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We dined at Kailani for dinner on Saturday. The setting is outdoors and quite comfortable. We began, before we order, telling the waiter that we were not in a rush, so please take it slow. It took awhile for our wine to be poured because the bottle had to be retrieved from the cellar -- no prob!. He poured our wine and we placed our order. Within 3 minutes (maybe 4 or 5) our appetizers were served. We'd had two sips of wine and had no time to just "be". We reminded the waiter that we wanted to take it slow -- he said he'd check back with us every five minutes or so so we could tell him when we were ready (I prefer unobtrusive service; this is not unobtrusive).

The appetizers were good (I was disappointed to see that the salad caprese had only three thin slices of heirloom tomatoes (one green, one red, and one yellow), two dollops of what appeared to be a slightly stringy ricotta cheese, and several small basil leaves). But it was OK. The entrees were also fine -- tasty and fresh, but unimaginative.

We would return, but with revised expectations. The setting is perfect!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
245 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Beautiful View But Food Leaves You Wanting More”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

Kailani is located at the Four Seasons at Manele Bay. It overlooks the Hulopo'e Bay and provides a very romantic view for dinner. They even had live Hawaiian music for all the guests which was very enjoyable. The staff was incredibly friendly and very accommodating.

We were super excited for a quality Italian meal. I had the Bucatini which features a three meat sauce (veal, chicken, pork, and fennel sausage) and my wife had the Branzino (local sea bass with potato gnocchi). We both found our meals delicious but our only complaint would be the size of the portions. I was still hungry after finishing my meal. Considering the expensive nature of these meals, I would have expected larger portions.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food with an ocean view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

The chef made pasta carbonara for me even though the menu has just recently changed from the once I saw before. Excellent customer service and excellent food!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We ate here a few times during honeymoon. Ambiance is one-of-a-kind with live Hawaiian music and outdoor setting overlooking the bay. Food and drink were great - especially the sea bass with gnocchi.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourSeasonsLanai, Manager at Kailani, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Aloha BosGirl2013

Congratulations on your recent wedding and I hope you had a fantastic honeymoon. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our restaurant. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed our Branzino. Here at the Resort, we have great relationship with local fishermen on Lanai ensuring that we serve the freshest seafood available. Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.


Mahalo,

Frankie Netherwood
Food and Beverage Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kailani also viewed

 
Lanai City, Lanai
 

Been to Kailani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kailani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.