We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel right in "town"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Lanai

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Lanai to your Saves list
Hotel Lanai
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   828 Lanai Avenue, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Coppell, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel right in "town"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was our third trip to Lanai, and second stay at Hotel Lanai. We love watching the town go by from our lanai. The members of the staff and management are all very welcoming. Continental breakfast was a great way to start our day. Dinner at the restaurant onsite is not to be missed; plan to have part of it for lunch the next day!

Room Tip: We love the lanai rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    46
    15
    2
    7
See reviews for
14
82
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hawaii
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

An older building but fairly well maintained surrounded by Norfolk pines. Located a few steps from "Lanai city" which is really only encompasses about three square blocks. Our room was simple with not a lot of amenities. Shower leaked on to floor. Personally, we can live without TV for a while so it's not a big thing for us. Walls are paper thin. A honeymooning couple in the room next to us kept us up most of the night. Thank god they were there for only one night! As I said the walls are thin; doors opening/closing, people coming and going,etc. You can't beat the location though. Very expensive restaurant within the building with average food. Nice staff who are willing to go out of their way to help you. Shuttle at your front door. Lanai is a unique place worth exploring. Would stay here again but request room with private balcony next time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

As a result of an awesome deal on Hawaiian Air, my boyfriend and I found ourselves forced to go to Maui during a lovely winter on the mainland...it was a great decision!! We decided to explore the nearby island of Lana'i and we were not disappointed. The other lodging options are both Four Seasons resorts, so if you want to spend a night or two on this beautiful little island, then definitely book a room at Hotel Lanai. The hotel is small (only about 10-12 rooms) but comfortable. Our room was right by the lobby, so you could hear the music at night, but it never really got loud or disruptive. Of course there was no TV to drown everything night, but that was actually a draw for us.

The hotel offers a continental breakfast in their lobby, which you can eat on the porch or back in your room. The front desk helped with everything from arranging a Jeep rental, and providing beach/snorkel equipment, to calling up the Four Seasons on the beach to find out the weather! The island does have varying climates, so this was especially helpful! All of the staff members were friendly and nice.

The hotel is right in front of the "main town" which is about 4 blocks! A bit shocking for a city kid, but a welcomed, refreshing experience. The town has a grocery store with numerous supplies and snack options (perfect for a beach picnic), as well as some cute stores, local art, and food options. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was excellent, definitely the best on the island. We also visited some of the local places, which were generally good. The free shuttle bus to either Four Seasons hotel stops right in front of the hotel, and ran from early in the morning to late night, with hours posted in the lobby. It was a great option for the beach, as well as checking out parts of the island, and hopping over to the other hotels for a late night drink.

To really get around to some of the other beaches and amazing landscapes, definitely rent a Jeep! It was worth it to have it for just a day, and the staff at the front desk was able to give us recommendations based on the weather to pick which day to rent.

All in all, it was a great stay and we had an amazing time on our own little private island.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great little property located right in the heart of Lana'i town. Although there are two Four Seasons hotels located on the island, this is the place to stay to really get the true Lana'i island experience. Rooms were very comfortable and well-appointed and they have the best restaurant on the island by far, the Lana'i City Grille.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl City, Hawaii, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Hotel Lanai is truly your home away from home. Even prior to entering the building, we could sense the feeling of Ohana (family) surrounding the hotel. The entire staff was gracious and truly treated us like we were part of their family, staying at their home. The rooms were excellent and the restaurant was incredible. The hotel was conveniently located in walking distance to the shops & restaurants in the heart of Lanai city. I would definitely recommend the Hotel Lanai over the other two hotels on the island.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

We stayed at this property for 3 nights and it was a delight. No TV, telephone and no hassles. The restaurant was nice, but try the local eateries around the park for a great local flavor. Be sure to rent a 4 wheel drive vehicle and go to some of the isolated beaches. It is a rough long ride to get to them but well worth it. If you like fancy or glitz this is NOT your place. If slow and easy is the pace you want Hotel Lanai is it.

Room Tip: Grab a room with a shared porch overlooking the town center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

The island of Lanai is a hidden Hawaiian paradise and Hotel Lanai is the charming center. My husband and I and two mainland friends decided to celebrate a big birthday by exploring the beauty of Lanai. we chose to stay at Hotel Lanai rather than one of the two Four Season resorts on the island because we wanted something more personal and we were not disappointed.

The rooms are small but very well appointed with comfortable beds and bathrooms. The best rooms are the two pairs at the front of the hotel with a private lanai ( porch ) overlooking the lovely town square. Everything is in walking distance or by free shuttle.

The hotel has the best restaurant and bar in town with fabulous local entertainment nightly. we ate there every night ! Continental breakfast of fresh Hawaiian coffee, pastries and fresh juice welcomes you every morning.

I wouldn't stay anywhere else on Lanai !

Room Tip: The front two with the private Lanais ( porch )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lanai

Address: 828 Lanai Avenue, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lanai 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amongst the towering Cook pines is a small country inn with ten plantation-style rooms and a private cottage called Hotel Lanai. It is a historic landmark, built in 1923 by James Dole as lodging for his pineapple plantation executives. Inside Hotel Lanai is a beautiful restaurant and bar, the Lanai City Grille, with award-winning cuisine. Tourists can relax in the cool breezes, enjoy the quiet atmosphere, and appreciate affordable accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Lanai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Lanai City
Hotel Lanai Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Lanai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.