We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed, private, gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Shrewsbury, MA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Relaxed, private, gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

Simply put, The Lodge at Koele is exceptional.

My wife and I return to Four Seasons resorts because we love the intimate scale of the properties, which offer a combination of privacy, comfort and luxury. We stayed for four nights at the start of May and it was wonderful. This hotel's unique character (an English country lodge), upland setting (in the cool hills of Lanai City) and immaculately-kept grounds immediately strike you as something different. The grounds of this hotel are quite large but the number of rooms is relatively small, so you feel like you are all alone. On those occasions we went to the pool, we'd be the only ones there. We took strolls along the paths through the gardens and woods, played croquet, and took advantage of the 18-hole putting green.

The room was nicely decorated and spacious, with a window seat, access to the garden level lanai, and a well-appointed bathroom. We dined in the hotel at Terrace one evening (they brought a special order dessert that my wife had seen on the Four Seasons web site that was not listed on the menu – major brownie points for them!) and also enjoyed afternoon tea with champagne in the lounge. We ordered drinks and lite fare one evening in the main lobby, and the other nights enjoyed very affordable dinners in downtown Lanai City, which is a short ride on the shuttle that runs between The Lodge, town, and the Four Seasons Manele Bay. This shuttle also allowed us to spend some days by the pool at Manele Bay, where Lodge guests enjoy full reciprocal privileges. We got an outdoor couples massage at Manele Bay and did some snorkeling with equipment the hotel provides at the beach.

Back at The Lodge, the bellman knew my name after one day and would greet us by name. Kemo, the entertainer in the lounge, played some great piano standards as well as Hawaiian songs and even played our wedding song for my wife and I to enjoy a romantic dance. Experiences like this, coupled with the beautiful decor and ambiance, really made our stay memorable.

Here’s a short list of pros/cons:

PROS
- Beautiful grounds, secluded setting
- Spacious rooms
- Infinity pool and two infinity whirlpools in the pool area

CONS (minor)
-No spa at The Lodge (but you can use Manele Bay)
-This sounds stupid – but the alarm clocks in both The Lodge and Manele Bay cast a lot of light at night, making the room brighter than I find comfortable

This was our second trip to Lanai - we previously stayed at Manele Bay shortly after Four Seasons began managing that property. We plan to return to these properties because of the beautiful settings, the Four Seasons service, and the relaxed, private atmosphere.

  • Liked — Location, peaceful ambiance
  • Disliked — Wish they had an on-site spa
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    599
    69
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
127
426
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2007

A very unique resort. Magnificent rooms, delicious food, extraordinary lodge atmosphere, silence, intimacy, quietness, some original leisure offered (mini golf, croquet, shuffle-board, ...): one of the best hotels I have stayed in and the best we have found in Hawai (Oahu, Kauai, Maui, Molokai, Lanai, Big island).

Lanai quietness is much appreciated compared to other Hawaian islands and the Lodge is built as so other guests never disturb you. A place I highly recommend, and that seems quieter than the Manele Bay resort.

As nobody is perfect, we experienced a few minor flaws: maintenance had to show up three times in our room on arrival (door knob + toilet flush + flashlight), room service staff on phone had difficulty understanding some orders ("foie gras" for instance, which is funny since we are native French speakers), the "full breakfast buffet "included in room rate turned to be a "one meal free on breakfast menu, taxes and gratuity to be paid", etc.

But this does not alter the most excellent level of this resort.

  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kauai, hi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2007

The Lodge at Koele is amazing. When my husband and I were planning a trip to Lanai, we couldn't decide whether to stay at The Lodge or Manele Bay. So, we decided to stay at The Lodge for 2 days and at Manele Bay for 2 days. From the moment we stepped foot off the bus, we felt so welcome at The Lodge. The staff is great. The grounds are so different than you would find in Hawaii. This hotel is very unique. And let me tell you about the food...initially, we were going to go into town, as we thought the menu was a bit pricey. but the food is impeccable. From The Lodge, we looked forward to going to The Manele Bay. As soon as we got to The Manele Bay, we decided to go back to The Lodge. The Manele Bay is nice, but we prefer The Lodge. We live in Hawaii and so when we went to The Lodge, we felt like we were on a true vacation.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2007

My husband and I and our two teenagers stayed at the Lodge for the first 4 days of our Spring Break, the remainder on Maui at the Kea Lani. We absolutely LOVED the Lodge and our stay at Lanai. My husband and I had been to Manele Bay about 10 years ago and always wanted to return with the kids. We were afraid they might be bored but we had lots of fun, even though it rained all over the island. The Lodge was recently renovated and our adjoining garden deluxe rooms were fabulous, large and comfortable. We were pampered from the moment we arrived with fresh pineapple juice, washcloths and leis, and were called by name throughout our stay. We enjoyed croquet, short golf game, working out, snorkeling and beach at Manele, pool at Manele, the game room at both hotels, the town of Lanai. ATV tour was the best. We even had fun on the shuttle and were truly sad to leave. I wouldn't have thought teenagers would enjoy Lanai but we prefered it to the hustle of Maui. Food was great. Service was great. Vacation was great.

  • Liked — Rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2007

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Lodge at Koele in 1994 and have been back several times since. We have stayed in beautiful resorts all over the world but the Koele Lodge continues to remain our favorite. It is the place to go if you want to unwind and relax. The rooms have an understated elegance and the grounds lovely. The staff have always gone above and beyond - for example, on our first visit, a passenger on our flight to Lanai spilled beer on my husband's dinner jacket. The Lodge had it dry cleaned, complimentary, in time for dinner that evening. We were touched as this was no fault of theirs. On another visit, a small fire shut the kitchen down briefly. None of the guests seemed to mind as the staff brought out the bar and we were treated to a Gatsby-like happy hour on their beautiful grounds. All guests received a free breakfast the next morning.
This is the place to go if you want a relaxing lodge experience. Those guests wanting an ocean view should stay at Manele Bay, their sister resort. The resort shuttle goes to both resorts allowing for a diverse Hawaii vacation. We love the Lodge at Koele.

Stayed April 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manitoba canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2007

We stayed at the Lodge for seven nights. It was very comfortable,classy. Our 2nd floor garden view room felt like we were at home, not at a resort. The small town of lanai is about a 20 minute walk or about 3/4 of a mile.We took the ferry from Maui,it's a 45 minute ride from lahina. The four seasons rep was there to greet us and help with our bags.The room was perfect, great new bed,down comforter,comfy window seat, 40"plasma.
The resort has the highest point rating on Conde nast for North America period.Our food was very good but not exceptional. A full course breakfast with tip ran $60.00usd for two. It was very quiet when we were there, half the lodge was close for renovations. It's open now.Very few children were seen, this was not the case for Manele bay, (sister resort on lanai) too many children at the pool.The Lodge also has exceptional grounds and the staff were effcient ,personable and warm.Can't wait to return!

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
105 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We spent 2 nights here for a wedding last month and found the place to be wonderful. Despite some construction going on by the pond and in the other wing of the hotel, we never heard any noise from it and were not bothered by it. In fact, the construction was probably a factor in getting an exceptional rate of $199/nt, so we had no complaints. The grounds are beautiful, the lobby is incredible, our room was outstanding in every way, and the service was perfect. This is the only hotel that I've ever been to where I was greeted at the door, handed a drink, and led to a couch where the check-in paperwork was brought to me!

We took the shuttle to town a few times to get a cheap meal and also took it down to the other 4 Seasons hotel hang out at the beach and at their much better pool. Being allowed to use that resort's facilities as well was a great benefit. In fact after we checked out and waited for our late evening flight, we took the shuttle to the beach for the rest of the day and then were allowed to use the spa facilities to shower and change.

After 2 nights we did start to recognize that maybe one more night would be just about our maximum before starting to get bored, so a 3 night stay would have been the perfect length for us. So if you're looking for a secluded, romantic, and quiet getaway, this is the place. And now (summer 2006) might be a good time to score a great rate while the renovations are going on.

  • Liked — secluded mountain location
  • Disliked — nothing within walking distance
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.