We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Getaway to "The Mountains" in Hawaii” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lanai City
Los Angeles
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Getaway to "The Mountains" in Hawaii”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Talk about perfection - we were in awe from the second we arrived. We didn't quite expect The Lodge to feel as cozy and cabin-ey as it did but loved it. The fireplaces are always burning and even though you're in Hawaii, you almost feel like you're in a huge, upscale ski lodge. The grounds are breathtaking and they have gorgeous walks/hiking around and activities such as croquet, putting green, game room........we were totally impressed. The fitness center was very nice as well and the pool was clean and service was good - pool wasn't gorgeous or the most happening place but it was very nice. We got the feeling that the majority of people use the Manele Bay pool and ocean as it's much larger and nicer - and the transportation between the two resorts couldn't be more convenient. We stayed in the presidential suite and it was just that - presidential. The room was enormous with a fireplace, wrapping balcony, huge bathroom....we were so pleased. The service and staff was amazing and we were pleased to notice complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby in the mornings for guests to take on their way with them. We can't wait to come back and have truly fallen in love with Lanai - it is now our absolutel favorite island on Hawaii!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

642 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    64
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
112
390
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

My wife and I arrived on an evening Island Air flight from Honolulu for an exceptional 3-night stay at The Lodge.

We were met at the Lana'i City Airport baggage claim by our shuttle bus driver, who tagged our bags and loaded them onto the bus. We arrived at The Lodge just after sunset and were immediately offered sparking juice and hot towels while the front desk went through the paperwork for check-in.

We booked through American Express's Platinum Travel Service, so we received an upgrade to a garden deluxe room, free breakfast each morning, a free lunch, and a guaranteed 4:00 checkout on our last day. We also took advantage of the resort's 3rd night free offer. Between the PTS amenities and the free night, we feel like we received a good value (especially for a Four Seasons property).

Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated. The bathroom was large and well appointed. Everything was spotless.

The service was very attentive and staff members went out of their way to address us by name. Everyone was exceptionally friendly and clearly the service issues noted in the previous reviews have been resolved.

As you might guess, food is expensive. Breakfast at The Terrace (in The Lodge) will easily cost $25-$30 per person. Our free breakfast amenity turned out to be a very good deal! Dinner in the Lodge's dining room (or at the more casual Terrace for that matter) will be about $75-100 per person.

The grounds of The Lodge are stunning. As noted in other reviews, it doesn't feel like a traditional Hawaiian resort, but as long as you aren't expecting beachfront rooms, I can't see how you'll be disappointed. Towering pines frame the property, which contains an 18-hole executive putting course (no additional charge), a nice pool area with a separate fitness building, walking and hiking trails, multiple streams and water features, and lawns reserved for croquet and lawn bowling (no additional charge).

You can (and should) spend some time in Lana'i City. There are several casual restaurants for lunch or dinner as well as two grocery stores for stocking up on some essentials for your room. (Our room had a mini-fridge, which was useful for storing cheese, beer, and other treats purchased in town.) Lunch at Pele's and comparable locations will run about $10-$15 per person.

Shuttle service to the Manele Bay property and Lana'i City runs every hour or 1/2 hour depending on hotel occupancy levels. Lana'i City is an easy 15 minute walk from the hotel.

We booked a beginner's sporting clays lesson through the hotel. It was well worth the cost and was one of the highlights of our time on the island. The 14-station course is immaculately maintained and the instructors are excellent. No experience is required.

We had full use of the amenities at the Manele Bay property (oceanfront) about a 25-minute shuttle ride. The beach at Hulopoe Bay (fronting the hotel) is gorgeous. Attendants will set up your chairs and umbrellas and offer water and cold towels throughout the day. It's a public beach, so alcohol is prohibited. Rest assured the bar service at the pool is attentive and the drinks, while expensive, are delicious (beer is $7-8, cocktails are $12+). The pool bar hosts a happy hour everyday from 4-5 pm -- 1/2 price drinks and appetizers.

The front desk will call the day before your departure to confirm your itinerary and to arrange shuttle transportation to the airport.

We returned to Honolulu to round out our vacation, and we immediately wanted to go back to Lana'i!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2010

It goes without saying that Four Seasons Lodge at Koele was a tremendous visit, a luxurious getaway from civilization on the beautiful island of Lanai. While the sister resort at Manele Bay is also wonderful, the Lodge is a unique experience and more indicative, I think, of the island itself.

Our garden view accommodations were wonderful, with a large fluffy bed and homey furnishings. The balcony, which overlooked the grounds, provided a private place to relax but the resort itself was very quiet (it's worth noting that we were there in the week preceding Memorial Day weekend....starting on Friday the place was a bit of a mad house).

There are only a couple of very small opportunities for improvement: given that you're paying a premium for the room, complimentary internet access would be appreciated. Additionally, the hotel was a little lean with the toiletries and water (limiting the room to two small bottles of water for the duration for our 5-night stay).

Otherwise the Lodge was filled with the spirit of aloha and an ideal vacation getaway. Go for the peace and tranquility. Enjoy the grounds (even the pool!), the amazing golf course and the lush landscape. We're very excited to go back soon!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2010

I have been going to various Hawaiian islands for over 42 years and decided that on this next trip I would try Lana'i for the first time since I feel the other islands have become just like LA with traffic, paid parking, wall to wall bodies on the beaches and no0 longer charming and relaxing. . Since you must either fly there from Honolulu or take the ferry from Lahaina, Maui, we rested in Kahala ( suburb of Honolulu for 4 nites) and flew to Lana'i for 6 nites. My husband plays golf and I drive the cart. We wanted to relax in luxury without screaming kids around. We chose the Lodge instead of the Four Seasons at Manele Bay because that hotel looks like every other Four Seasons at a beach only a bit smaller (200 rooms). We had all the advantages of that resort, playing golf, eating at the restaurants, renting a cabana at the beach without actually staying there since both hotels have the same ownership. We made the right choice. The Lodge does not feel or look like a typical Hawaiian hotel except for an aboundance of orchids everywhere. It is in the mountains, near Lanai City, and about 15 degrees cooler than the ocean. It gets humid and hot lower down, but not at the Lodge. It reminds me of an English manor home with high tea service on the veranda, soft Hawaiian music at night and two restaurants to choose from during the day. The grounds are lush, Asian inspired and feature an orchid house with blooms from everywhere. Porches abound and rooms are very individual with fireplaces, separate living/bedroom arrangements or regular rooms that are still very large. Each room has a coffee maker and refrigerator. Service is fabulous with most everyone native to the island. We took the shuttle into the City , ate dinner at the Grill at the Lanai Hotel, which was excellent, and bought some breakfast foods to keep in the room since the food costs are exorbitant...everything has to come over on the barge...breakfast was $60, so we saved our dollars for dinner. Had lunch several times at the golf club restaurants which were more informal but still offered good choices. It was the most restful vacation we have had in a long time. Saw lots of newylweds and mothers-to-be vacationing there, but most people are golfers. This place is for rest, not action, so be advised .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

This place is straight out of a dream. Up in the "mountains" yet manages to feel like Hawaii. Like no place you've ever been.

Most noteworthy...

ARRIVING - Take the ferry from Maui. Don't fly. It's much less expensive and it also serves as a whale watching excursion (in season).

SERVICE - As is usually the case with Four Seasons, the service is incredible. Gracious, sincere but not over the top.

DUAL EXPERIENCE - While this resort is located away from the beach, the partnership with the "sister" Four Season's property allows you to easily travel back and forth. The shuttle service is convenient, frequent and reliable. You can be doing a hike in the morning and down on the beach in the afternoon.

ROOMS - Our room was especially spacious and comfortable for a standard room. Quiet, fantastic bed, amazing view and lots of nice little touches.

THE GROUNDS - The entire property will knock your socks off. It is beyond gorgeous. So peaceful and calming.

WHAT'S UP WITH - When are hotels going to stop charging for the Internet. It was about 15 bucks a day, which should be slid into what's included as a standard amenity. Anymore, it's like charging for pillows. While we're on the slightly irritating topic of costs, be sure you plan to head into the adorable little city for a few meals or to pick up some munchies for the refrigerator you have in your room. The cost and limited selection at the 2 Four Season properties can get tiresome.

Overall, you'll love it!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2010

This is not your typical Hawaiian resort... On a hilltop and often cool and misty this time of year, it is more like staying at an old English stately home. There is a large central room with fireplaces and music in the evenings, surrounded by library, game room, music room and dining. The grounds are immaculately landscaped and surrounded by the world-class golf course, and croquet, lawn bowling and an 18 hole putting green. The island is privately owned and not commercial so borrow a putter, a walking stick or curl up by the fire with a book for a completely relaxing vacation.

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

This was our second visit to Lanai and The Lodge at Koele. Lanai provides the perfect escape from the stresses of a busy life. Although we prefer staying at the lodge and taking early morning strolls in the beautiful upland country side, we also spent many day-light hours at Manele Bay. Which you would prefer depends on your personal asthetic. We preferred the intimacy that the smaller property offered and didn't mind taking the 20 minute shuttle to the sister property to snorkel and spend time on the beach.

The staff at The Lodge was very warm and welcoming. We were travelling with our 9 year old son and the staff had a small robe, stuffed pony and sponges that spelled out his name in the bathtub when we arrived in our room. Shortly after our arrival a large chocolate chip cookie and milk were delivered for our son and a box of petit fours for us. A very lovely touch that made us feel welcome and indicated that our return visit was appreciated.

We hope to make this an annual trip! An amazing comment from someone who rarely wants to go to the same place twice, as there is so much to see in the world, but this hotel and this island are special and rejuvinating.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.