We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and secluded” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Romantic and secluded”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2006

We spent 2 nights here for a wedding last month and found the place to be wonderful. Despite some construction going on by the pond and in the other wing of the hotel, we never heard any noise from it and were not bothered by it. In fact, the construction was probably a factor in getting an exceptional rate of $199/nt, so we had no complaints. The grounds are beautiful, the lobby is incredible, our room was outstanding in every way, and the service was perfect. This is the only hotel that I've ever been to where I was greeted at the door, handed a drink, and led to a couch where the check-in paperwork was brought to me!

We took the shuttle to town a few times to get a cheap meal and also took it down to the other 4 Seasons hotel hang out at the beach and at their much better pool. Being allowed to use that resort's facilities as well was a great benefit. In fact after we checked out and waited for our late evening flight, we took the shuttle to the beach for the rest of the day and then were allowed to use the spa facilities to shower and change.

After 2 nights we did start to recognize that maybe one more night would be just about our maximum before starting to get bored, so a 3 night stay would have been the perfect length for us. So if you're looking for a secluded, romantic, and quiet getaway, this is the place. And now (summer 2006) might be a good time to score a great rate while the renovations are going on.

  • Liked — secluded mountain location
  • Disliked — nothing within walking distance
  • Stayed July 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    610
    69
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
131
429
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

This is a very special property--you've probably already heard about the "Grand Hunting Lodge" description. The best thing it has going for it (other than location) are the people who service the hotel. All wonderful, kind, gracious and accomodating. I can understand, however, why they are about to renovate it (supposed to happen in August of this year). There are little things, like peeling paint on the decks, brass handles that need polishing, a bit of lawn work. Yes, this is picky, perhaps, but it IS a highly rated hotel and the little things are noticeable when not kept up.

This is an observation, but not necessarily a criticism: given the "hunting lodge" theme, there wasn't much that reminded me I was in Hawaii. This may be fine for people, given the uniqueness of this resort experience. I am born and raised in Hawaii, and I like to see visitors to the islands get more of a cultural/historical experience beyond macadamia nuts on their pancakes--especially when the hotel brochure boasts about its cultural awareness. But lots of folks don't care, and that's fine, too. Just know that this property is about lawn bowling, croquet and clay pigeons, not lauhala hat weaving, feather lei making and nightly hula dancing. Even the music played in the Grand Hall was 50s and 60s standards, not contemporary Hawaiian or local music. Again, part of the theme of a country estate, rather than a tropical resort.

But it IS gorgeous and unique. Dining options are--as you would expect in a secluded resort--limited and expensive, but absolutely delicious. We tried the picnic lunches one day and were astounded at the spread. The entire atmosphere manages to be both elegant and casual. They treated my 6 year old daughter especially well. There was a time, not too long ago, when such resorts not only didn't cater to kids, but they didn't even really want them around! I guess the best resorts have figured out that more and more parents are traveling with their kids, and the little touches are appreciated. My daughter got a gift pack and a stuffed animal upon arrival, and there were colorful cut-out sponges spelling her name in the bath tub. Not to mention the milk and giant cookie!

In summary, this resort is a truly unique experience for Hawaii, as is the island of Lanai. I hope the renovations touch up the weathered fixtures and paint without losing the ambience. There aren't many special properties like the Lodge (and Kona Village Resort on the Big Island) left, it seems.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2006

We have stayed at the Lodge 10 times since 1995. We have read the St. Louis comment and must note some things that were not quite right in it. The charge for airport transportation has been made for some years and is always noted in the reservation as well as the request to call and tell about your arrival flight (at which time they have always asked whether the charge should be put on the room or otherwise handled. Yes, originally, and for some years it was complimentary, but economics changed. This is not the only way to get to and from the airport. Just like on the other islands you can rent a car which we don't do unless we go to an area where 4-wheel drive is necessary, because the shuttle bus to Manele and Lanai City truly is about all one needs. If you go to archery, etc. they will take you there without charge.One can also get a taxi. We have been Platinum members of Starwood, since it began and as long as it managed the Lanai properties, therefore have not had to pay $450 for an upgraded room. We have found that almost any room at the Lodge is a very nice one, in fact, other than some in the main building above the great hall (which already have ac) they're all the same except for view. We do understand the advice in respect to going to a place while under renovation. However, if you call directly to make your reservation and tell them of your qualms, we are sure they will give you the straight answers. Call the lady that is the property manager rather than the general manager for both properties to see what can be done on the rate for the time you're going. When they are down they have been very good at working something out.

Stayed September 2005
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2006

The kindness and compassion extended to me were simply astounding, from the resort managers, the wellness therapist, the drivers, every single staff member. I transfered to the Lodge at Koele from Manela Bay on a whim, arrived in a waterfall of tears, was greeted like a returning guest, escorted to my fireplace garden suite, gifted flowers and friendships. The exquisite service never ceased. The total attention during my overdue nervous breakdown due to the end of a twenty-five year marriage because of infidelity (Mister's not this Texas woman's) was unending. The Four Seasons as a whole was exceptional, including my two day sojourn in Wailea, where I was introduced to the capable Dr. Richard Sword, a psychiatrist I desperately needed. He will be a friend for life. Until the end on Friday St. Patrick's Day, when I returned to say a special evening 'Thank You' to Tuma, who had departed for R&R. My heart was broken to have missed a final face to face visit with Tuma. I will wait for another opportunity to extend my undying gratitute.

Karen S. Malone, CPA

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lanai City
19.9 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 176 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Lanai
Hotel Lanai
#3 of 3 in Lanai City
4.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
15.4 mi away
Kaanapali Alii
Kaanapali Alii
#2 of 31 in Lahaina
4.5 of 5 stars 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i at Manele Bay
20.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
17.6 mi away
Hotel Molokai
Hotel Molokai
#2 of 5 in Kaunakakai
3.5 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.