We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

This place is on the top of Lanai. There are several things to do in the area if the resort. They including yard games, a nice putting green with sand and water, pool and a library and game room inside. You can easily walk to Lanai City.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    553
    66
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
115
399
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

This resort is located in the middle of the island at higher elevation that provides cooler temperatures and an abundance of outdoor recreation. From the croquet to horse back riding and trail blazing, you can enjoy the best of what Lana'i has to offer. If it is the beach you desire, then take the 20 minute shuttle down to their sister resort at the beach. The customer service at this resort is remarkable. Everyone that works here is friendly and always asking if you need anything. The rooms are well kept and they really thought of everything to try and make your stay peaceful. Overall, if you want to relax with a friendly staff away from the hustle and bustle of Oahu and Maui, then this is the place to be.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This was our second trip to The Lodge and this time we had the most wonderful wedding there! The wonderful staff not only took care of all of the event planning, everyone seemed to share in the joy of our day! Customer service is exemplary and the hotel is so peaceful and quiet and just beautiful. We had a fireplace in our room and the staff came to build a fire for us whenever we wished. We wanted for nothing! Leaving this beautiful place after our wedding was very difficult! We will most certainly return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

What an experience! While we visit the islands almost every year, this is our first experience staying on Lanai and we are certainly awed by this hotel! This is by far the best hotel/lodge we've stayed at...period! About a week prior to arrival I received an email from the lodge asking for my flight details so they could be at the airport when we arrived. When flying in I read an article that stated that this is the #2 hotel in the world and it appears to be correct! After we landed we were immediately greeted and whisked away on the shuttle. After the brief ride to the hotel, we were greeted coming off the shuttle with leis and prior to entering the lobby received a hot towel to refresh our hands. Upon entering the lobby, we were asked to have a seat (in extremely comfortable surroundings) while they checked us in (no waiting in line). While waiting the couple of minutes, we were served pineapple juice. We were then escorted, given a brief tour of the hotel, and taken to our room. Immediately after that our luggage was brought in and then the housekeeper brought extra towels, water, etc. The room is extremely comfortable with a nice TV, DVD player, Nespresso machine and wireless Internet. They even keep a library of DVDs at the front desk for checkout and the list is quite extensive! There's additional complimentary water in the small refrigerator. We use Internet quite extensively while traveling so we opted for the high speed option at $20/day for up to 5 devices (the speed I measured was 18 Mbps download which is plenty fast for our needs). The free option is available but is for one device and much slower. Of course there's turndown service at night leaving glasses and water by the bedside, drawing the drapes, and a floor mat by each bed. The attention to detail is impeccable. Everyone addresses us by name.

I must say the pictures of the resort and the surrounding grounds when viewed on the Internet don't do it justice! It's much more spectacular in person! Even when taking my own pictures I can't seem to capture all the beauty. We'll definitely be back next year and stay longer. This was an enjoyable and relaxing experience!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Aloha Steven S,

Thank you for the glowing review of your recent stay! I believe you summed it up by stating "This is by far the best hotel/lodge we've stayed at...period!" This is truly the highest compliment our team can receive and I am thrilled at your account of your visit with us. From the arrival experience to the luxurious accommodations, our team goes above and beyond to ensure our guests comfort and expectations are exceeded. The colorful gardens, rolling countryside and warm lighting are truly magical in person. I have tried to capture the scene many times as well and my pictures aren't as vivid as the resort in person. Thank you for the thoughtful detail in your review and for discovering the island. I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

A hui hou!

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The 4 of us were in Maui for our Condominium Home Owners meetings and decided to make a side trip to Lanai. Since our condo in Maui is on the beach we decided to stay at the Lodge. Great decision! It is a whole different Hawaii, magical, relaxed, beautiful grounds, Koi Pond... Impeccable service too! As a belated birthday and a retirement celebration I let the Concierge know in advance and that I was hosting the weekend. I sent cards over ahead of time. When we arrived the cards were in our friends room with a bottle of champagne and birthday cake personalized. At dinner that night the menu had been personalized with Happy Birthday and our friends name on it...all very professionally and tastefully done. The rooms were great, warm and inviting. The lodge itself was like a more refined Ahwahnee Hotel in Yosemite Park. The side trips in the jeep were fun but it was the Lodge itself, the grounds and views, the staff and the food that made the trip perfect. We have decided that it will be an annual trip for the four of us every May...

Room Tip: We had rooms 224 and 225 at the end of the wing - great rooms with large lanais and great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

If you want customer service, this is the place to stay! If you prefer a quieter hotel, this is the place for you! We love sleeping with our windows open and the cool breezes coming in. The restaurant was great and we were celebrating our birthdays and even had menu's with Happy Birthday Mrs. and Mrs. Walker given to us....a real surprise! The beauty of staying here, is you get cool weather and if you want some sun, you can hop on the shuttle and go to the beach where again, you will be delighted with the service. I enjoyed my mini smoothies, crab on crackers, etc. What an amazing place to stay....If you haven't stayed here.....DO. We did the Ocean Hale and Lea Hennessy organized the private dinner overlooking the ocean. If you want a special night with someone.....this is the place to do it. My husband is not overly emotional, but I can say he talked about this night for days afterwards! Thanks Lea!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a great hotel and the golf course is really beautiful. It's quiet in the mountains, not as busy and touristy as Manele Bay. There's a game room w/pool tables, TVs, shuffleboard, and an orchid house. The grounds are very pretty. Within walking distance of town but not the beach. The rooms are very nice with window seats, windows that open, and expresso machines. The temperature in the mountains is cooler than at Manele Bay so air conditioning is not needed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT overlooking the parking lot!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.