We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The lodge is like no other resort in Hawai'i” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The lodge is like no other resort in Hawai'i”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

The climate at the lodge is always a few degrees cooler than most other locations in Hawai'i. Surrounded by beautiful landscape, the atmosphere of the grounds is very relaxing and secluded. The resort offers a free 18 hole miniature golf course complete with bunkers and water hazards, as well as a regular 18-hole course with stunning views. Just a 5 minute walk to town.

Room Tip: We stayed in a Koele Deluxe room which offers a spacious interior and nice views of the grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    590
    66
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
122
422
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

This place is magical. Grounds are impeccible. I love to relax and play the lawn games, enjoyed the live music. I can't think of any criticism of this place other than the pool area needs updating, but if I want a pool I ride the bus to Manele. Both the Lodge and the Bay are my Hawaii favorites. They just go the extra mile for you and it makes a huge difference. Don't go to Lanai looking for shopping or nightlife this is truly the place to unwind. I'm trying to come back sooner this time.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We celebrated our 31st anniversary at this marvelous property. Beauty every way we looked from the fountains to the orchad house to the fruit orchard to the meadows to the horses to the buildings and golf course. We have made a set of memories that will bring us joy for years to come. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.
There are loads of activities. We hiked and rented a jeep to see the island, What a fun adventure that was seeing the Garden of the Gods, The old church, the Shipwreck Beach and all the way to the old fish ponds with stops at beaches where we were the only people.

Room Tip: West facing rooms have a balcony with great sunset views overlooking the meadow and valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on the first part of our honeymoon, and had a wonderful and relaxing time. The restaurant in the hotel was amazing! We had complimentary breakfast included in our package, and it was incredible, their braised short rib hash was out of this world, along with the waffles and pineapple syrup, yum! The service was amazing, and the staff was so helpful. We were going back and forth as to which hotel to stay at on Lana'i, and made the right choice. It was great to be able to use the beach and facilities at the Four Seasons Resort at Manele Bay. The service and restaurants at that hotel were also amazing, and it is now one of my favorite places on earth, we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Aloha s k,

Greetings from Lanai! Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We appreciate you selecting our island paradise as your honeymoon destination, as it's an idyllic retreat that beckons romance. Great to learn you enjoyed all aspects - from the dining to the service, to our sister property at the beach. The braised short rib hash is one of my favorites as well, great choice! I look forward to welcoming you back to the Resort soon.

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I spent a few days at "The Lodge" as part of our honeymoon trip to Maui/Lanai and had a blast. If you are into more than just lounging around at the pool all day, this place has it all- hiking, horseback riding, tennis, golf, mini golf, clay shooting, ATV rides, etc. The grounds were beautiful and the staff was fantastic. Only drawback was the very expensive (and somewhat limited) food options. That aside, we had an amazing time and would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

The Lodge is a great hotel. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, clean and well lit rooms with large windows, free wi-fi, free printing, pool tables, fitness center, etc. You also get many perks associated with the Four Seasons Manele Bay (e.g. towels, poolside service, charging food/drinks to room, etc).

Lanai is a small island with a shuttle that runs between The Lodge, Hotel Lanai, and The Four Seasons at Manele Bay. By shuttle, Lanai City / Hotel Lanai are about 5 minutes away from The Lodge. Manele Bay is about 20 minutes away. So, unless you absolutely must be staying within spitting distance of the beach, you can save some money and stay at The Lodge.

If you are planning to rent a 4x4, The Lodge is also close to the trail entrance to Garden of the Gods, Shipwreck Beach, and Munro Trail. And, of course, they also link to many other locations. I believe parking is free or they never asked me if I had a car (note: I arrived by shuttle but rented a vehicle for 1 day in the middle of my stay).

As other have said, eating at the hotel is expensive. Even the juice during breakfast is expensive; so think twice or ask before you say "yes" to juice. Dinner at the terrace area is $25-$50 per entree + optional appetizers, wine, dessert, etc. Considering that you are on Lanai along with great service quality, and pretty good food quality, I don't think it's a bad deal. I can't comment on dining at the other area in The Lodge but it is pricier.

Room Tip: If you don't mind a 20 minute shuttle ride to Manele Bay, stay at the Lodge and save some money...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

One of my favorite hotels!!! I was pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel was. The grounds are amazing. It is a very secluded hotel. There are many things to do: hiking, biking, tennis, golf. etc. I loved this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.