We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Certificate of Excellence
Fair Oaks, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Amazing location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We stayed for only one night in May and it was an amazing stop. THe Keole is in a quiet, location where you feel as if you are truly well cared for. From the moment we walked through the door to when we left, we had a great experience and will return to this beautiful hotel for many more visits. We loved the bed as well and if you want the best sleep of your life, stay here! For us, we enjoyed having the opportunity to use the restaurants at both hotels, which makes you feel as if you are able to have two experiences, rather than one. Loved, loved this hotel!

Room Tip: I doubt any of the rooms are bad......most likely any choice is a good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    70
    24
    7
    5
See reviews for
131
427
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
nantucket
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We just spent a great weekend at the Lodge. The room was big and beautifully furnished. We ate there most of the time and the food was really good. Everyone comments on how expensive it is but everything has to be shipped in so you have to expect that. Our only negative comment is that the pool area furniture is very worn and tired looking and not up to Four Seasons standards and the pool itself could be emptied and painted . Other than that we will back soon as we live on Maui and really enjoyed how different Lani is. The staff were all great !!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights before moving to Manele. Service was superb from the second we arrived to the easy transfer to Manele. The hotel is up at elevation, and weather can be downright chilly even in June so bring sleeves-it was windy when we were there (25-30 mph). If doing both Koele and Manele, do Koele first as Manele sets a very high standard for what most folks think Hawaii should be. Food was great (try the venison chili). Great location to start the offroading tours. Suggest getting a Hummer (808hummers.com) as the Jeeps from Dollar can be real rough due to the shorter wheelbase. Kids had a blast with croquet, lawn bowling, and the pool, which is small but fits with the overall feel of Koele. Miniature golf course was a lot of fun. Rooms were beautiful and well appointed. Free coffee, tea and muffins in the a.m., but only if you go early before they run out. All in all a great start to a week on Lana'i.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, June 12, 2012
Aloha GeauxTiguhs,
Thanks for taking the time to write about your stay. We appreciate your great feedback regarding the superb service, cuisine and of course the adventure that the upcountry provides. With miles and miles of off-road trails and beaches, adventure enthusiasts and families have endless opportunities - from hiking and surfing, to croquet and sporting clays, there's something for every member of the family. In addition, many of our guests split their time between both properties to enjoy the ocean splendor and then retreat to the upcountry. Thank you again for taking the time. Hope to see you again soon on the island.
Warmest regards,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed three nights here and loved every minute of it.

Lanai: we took the Ferry from Lahaina, which was a pleasant 45 minute trip. Four Seasons staff met us the minute we got off the boat, took care of our bags, and the shuttle was there waiting to take us to the lodge. One warning about the Ferry, the trip back to Lahaina was calm until about 20 minutes into it when the waves got really large, and everyone sitting on the top open deck (including us) got soaked. I would ask boat staff if the waters are rough that day because you can sit in the covered part downstairs and avoid getting drenched. The island is quiet and beautiful. Lanai city is worth a visit.

The lodge: mirroring what everyone has said: beautiful grounds, peaceful, serene. It is frequently overcast / cool. My husband could get away with shorts most of the time, but I get cold easy so I usually needed pants and a light sweater. We took the shuttle to Manele one day, sat on the beach and by the pool, so it’s really easy to get warmer weather / beach experience if you want. We preferred the lodge because it felt more serene and peaceful. Our room (garden view) was perfect, had the most comfortable bed ever. The only complaint about the room was the water pressure in the shower was a little on the low side.

Service: Perfect. Always greeted by name, with a warm smile. We were celebrating an anniversary and a birthday and were surprised with a chocolate dessert and champagne in our room on arrival. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we felt like we were taken care of and didn’t have to worry about a thing.

Spa: My husband had an 80-minute massage in their spa suite at Koele and he said it was one of the best he's ever had. The only drawback is that the property does not have a "spa area" with showers, steam rooms, relaxation room, etc, but you can get most of that at Manele.

Food: breakfast at the lodge was wonderful. For example, one morning I just ordered fruit and yogurt, but it was by far the tastiest and most artfully displayed fruit and yogurt ever! Lunch at the lodge and Manele was heavenly, and we’d usually share a sandwich because it was so much food. We ate lunch once at the Blue Ginger Café in lanai city, huge tasty sandwich for cheap. We had dinner in the lodge main room twice, getting there early for happy hour and then staying for appetizers and music. We ate at Lanai City Grill once for dinner, and the food was awesome there as well, and the shuttle stops right in front of the restaurant.

Summary: We loved the Lodge at Koele, and definitely recommend it to anyone looking for peace, quiet, good service, and comfort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batavia, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Lodge at Koele has no downside, the only hotel we've ever been able to give that claim. Anyone who lands there will remember it equally positively, but for his or her own reasons. This is a place that can satisfy anyone's interests and needs from the moment you arrive to the final good-bye at the front door.

Room Tip: The views from most rooms are spectacular; enjoy the porch; walk the grounds; consider it "home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mirror Lake, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Pulling up to this Lodge, it initially looked like it could be located in Montana or the White Mountains of New Hampshire...sort of out of place for Hawaii. However, once the staff came out to greet us with the obligatory lei (Koele style), plus the moist cool towel, cold drink and warm smile, we knew we were in for a real Four Seasons treat. This place rocks...but it is a very different experience for someone who was looking for the Hawaiian sun and beach. There is very little sun as you are shrouded in these misty clouds, and the beach is miles away...but that didn't matter.
The grounds were stunning, the people were incredibly nice (albeit slow), and the golf course was amazing with virtually no one but us on a Saturday morning! All this in this zen like spiritual setting...I began to think this is what heaven must be like. However, the only thing that stands in the way of an EXCELLENT rating was the food...which I expect to be outstanding at a Four Seasons...and I'm sorry to say, but it did not meet that expectation.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This was our 2nd time at the Lodge at Koele this year and our 12th within the past 3 years. YES that's how much our family loves this resort mainly due to their excellent customer oriented staff. The grounds at Koele are spectacular. You will not find anywhere in Hawaii like the Lodge at Koele.

As much as we stopped by the front desk EVERY single concierge treated us like ROYALTY. Michiyo and Edith were lifesavers as we did have a few minor errors on our bill. They quickly took care of things for us and were constantly apologetic.

My husband's favorite place to hang out is at the bar and Jesse the bartender gave him such great service and was always on top of my husband's order no matter how busy it got.

Misa who is now in the management training program remembered our family from our previous visits and took the time to greet us with open arms.

We are non-Facebook users BUT we created an account just to get their great discounted deals on their food and drinks. 50% off all drinks and bar menu on Sunday starting at 5pm...BEST deal ever!

KIDS: I've read reviews that this hotel is not for kids BUT that is ABSOLUTELY NOT true. This is a very kid friendly hotel with lots of things to do. The best benefit is the Kids Camp is FREE!
When you enter your room there are robes, horse stuffed animals, cookies, and juice waiting for the children...unbelievable!

We enjoy and love The Lodge at Koele so much that we've already booked our next stay there during the Holiday Season.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.