We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and relaxing vacation for couples” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quiet and relaxing vacation for couples”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

For 8 years we have been traveling to the Big Island and Maui, and watched both islands get busier and busier. Longing for a quiet vacation, we finally "discovered" Lanai, and were very pleased. My husband and I spent 7 days at the Lodge at Koele, and were glad that we did because it is much more quiet, and the clientele appear to be more mature and low keyed than Manele. We did make one day trip to Manele Bay and true to most reviews, that is where the younger, more energetic crowd is. We had a flashback of Maui and quickly took the shuttle back to the mountains. The best thing about Koele is how quiet it is, and how time just seems to stop. We spent days just walking around the hotel grounds, lounging by the pool, and taking strolls through Lanai City.

On the first 6 nights we stayed in a Garden Deluxe Room. It was very comfortable, clean, and adequate. Guests at this hotel are early risers, and every morning we hear shuffling in adjacent rooms, starting at 6am. Not a problem, since the hotel is very quiet in the evenings, which allows us to get to sleep very early. It appears that the difference between the Garden Deluxe and the Garden is the location. The Garden faces outside the hotel, and the Deluxe faces inside. Both are the same size and layout and have good views. Both day and evening Housekeeping were polite and did a great job. We love the L'Occitane products.

On the 7th day, a wedding party checked in downstairs from us - it was a bridesmaid party that sounded like an entire sorority house. We asked the front desk if we could change rooms, and they moved us to a Koele Deluxe room. These are basically corner rooms that have panoramic windows. We got room 354, which had a nice view of the stables in front of the hotel, and the sunset. The view was amazing, but we had problems with ants and mosquitoes. There was a hole next to the mini bar where a trail of ants kept coming in, and there was an overhead flood light at the room entry way where the mosquitoes congregate. Every time the room door opened, the mosquitoes came rushing into the room. We spent our last night exterminating mosquitoes and ants and didn't get any sleep.

The breakfast at the Terrace was amazing every morning. The waitress Espe was a sweetheart and very nice to converse with. The food and service were excellent. Coffee and juice were $5 and $7. Basic items like fruit, cereal, and yogurt were $9-$14. Hot food entrees like omelets, eggs, and potatoes were $18-$25. We really enjoyed the Paniolo Breakfast, which is Kahlua Pork, rice, Portuguese sausage, and eggs. The Koele Loco Moco was also very good, which is made with local venison. During one of our breakfasts we met Chef Junior Ulep who was a cool young chap, friendly, talkative, and likable. During the weekend there was another chef with a French accent, who came out to say hi and was also very nice.

The pool was quiet, clean, and the service was extremely attentive. The pool attendants Heidi and Kevin set up our chairs and brought out ice water constantly. The complimentary sunscreen (SPF30) had a pleasant citrus smell and was very creamy and easy to apply. Pool food service is available from 11am-5pm, so you can order drinks and food to be brought from the kitchen to the pool.

If there is one aspect of this hotel that we had to pick on, it was the front desk and the concierge. A few of the front desk ladies did not seem very keen to help on occasions when we stopped by. One time we asked the concierge for a map of the hiking trail (a blonde, young lady). She handed us the map without saying a word, and we walked away dumbfounded. I guess we just sort of expected some interest, or questions, or at least a smile.
Another time I stopped by the front desk because I had a problem with a computer in the trophy room. There was one lady at the front desk, and she was on the phone. During the 5 minutes I stood in front of her, she made no acknowledgement of my existence and no effort to speed up the call. Finally two ladies emerged from the back office and proceeded to help the gentleman BEHIND me. I told them that I was there first, and they actually didn't even apologize. It was the gentleman behind me who apologized to me, saying that he thought I was already being helped by the lady on the phone (the same one who had ignored me). No problem, since this is just a small portion of the trip.

We will definitely return to Lanai, and stay at the Lodge. It's a great place for couples looking for a quiet retreat. Thanks again to Heidi, Kevin, Espe, Junior, and the entire housekeeping staff for the exceptional service.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the inside of the resort have a more enclosed feel. Rooms facing the outside have view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    66
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
115
400
10
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

What a beautiful place that is impecably maintained with a very attentive staff. Not for people who need to be entertained, great golf, horseback riding and nature walks. You can rent 4 wheel drive vechicles but this is really a small island that was made for relaxing. The beach which is about a 20 minute shuttle ride is beautiful and the Four Seasons Beach resort treats you as if you were in their rooms which they should. Would highly recommend either hotel and the island if you are seeking a peaceful, restful trip.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Aloha Leslie B,

Mahalo for taking the time to review the property and provide such positive feedback. With just 30 miles of paved roads, the 4x4 Jeep Rental is a great choice to really explore the island and come upon quiet and pristine beaches and miles of open road. Great to hear that made it to our sister property and spent some time relaxing seaside. Having access to two properties, on one island, within twenty-minutes apart, combines the best of the upcountry and seaside experiences. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffern, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This lovely spot can be a quiet old fashion relaxing read a book vacation, play lawn bowling, putt on the executive course or rent a jeep for the day and do semi-off road excursions. You can use the beach,pool and facilities of the Four Seasons Manele Bay it's just a 20 minute free shuttle all day long. The town is small good for a walk around, a few galleries, eateries and very friendly people! Dinner one night try the Hotel at Lanai, the shuttle makes a stop there, you won't be disappointed. We met people who live in Oahu and Maui who come here for relaxation and to get away. All in all, wonderful place to be!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu, hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Very beautiful place to relax and enjoy the beautiful grounds, landscape, turkeys, fish in the pond, minature golf, Koele has a beautiful golf course, and Manele Bay a well manicured course, if you play golf this is a must for you when visiting Lanai.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

Just returned from an EPIC 10 day stay! Everything was PERFECT and I cannot wait to return. The staff was AMAZING! The word "no" is just not in their vocabulary, and they seem to anticipate needs that you did not even know you had yet. I think this place is the best kept secret in Hawaii, if not in the entire country. If I had to find something to complain about, maybe the hot tub was about 2 degrees too cold (alas, the "problems" we had). We did a ton of activities and spent time at both the Koele Lodge and the Manele Bay -- the Lodge is certainly more intimate and charming, but both were terrific. Everyone on the island was so warm and helpful. We also had a great dinner one night at the Lanai City Grill. The rooms were VERY reasonably priced, but the food and beverages were certainly expensive (balances out). Just writing this review makes me reminisce about the trip. Go and enjoy -- you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the wings facing the reflecting pools or putting course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, February 2, 2012
Aloha BraunMincher,

Greetings from Lanai! Thank you for your wonderful and descriptive review. We appreciate the positive feedback, especially regarding the exceptional service you received. The Lodge was recently ranked among the top ten hotels in the United States by U.S. News & World Report and it would not have been possible with our amazing staff providing such fine service. Glad to hear you explored the island, including our sister property at Manele Bay. We hope to welcome you back to Lanai soon in the near future and we'll make sure to adjust the hot tub by a smidgin (two degrees)!

A hui hou!

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

If you are looking for relaxation and ALOHA.. THIS is the hotel to pick! When you want the beach..JUST ride the transport to the beach. I would NOT take kids here.. too little action for them.

Room Tip: All the rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

Lana'i is very quiet. If you want lots of commotion, this is absolutely not the place for you. The Lodge is even more quiet than Manele but truly a wonderful experience. Fires in huge fireplaces every night, just like an old hunting lodge experience. And music and hot chocolate to go with the evening ambience. Try the archery and clay shooting - it is such fun. Stay always within the marked areas - Lana'i is a hunting island so be careful to not venture into designated hunting areas. Perhaps the involvement of Castle and Cook in this Four Seasons makes it miss the high mark of other Four Seasons. The staff were standoffish when we first arrived in contrast to excellent service at other Four Seasons It did improve a bit once we suggested to the staff they needed to examine this aspect of their service. One detail is the morning coffee service - limited to 5-7 AM. You've got to be kidding - ridiculous place to cut costs. A small detail but important to the overall experience. We love early mornings, finding a comfortable spot (the lodge has many cozy places to relax) to read our paper or books and drink very good coffee. At 7 AM, they whisk away the coffee, sometimes while guests are still trying to grab a cup. Really poor. The entire facility is exceptional in every other way - a delightful array of activities gorgeous building and grounds. Our room - a corner deluxe - was one of those you hate to not spend more time in. Spotlessly clean. I do wonder why the attitude is different, as my moniker suggests, the details are everything and so many of them are not costly but management attitude toward service. If you like to hike and see a view to die for, take the hike behind the property that is about 1 1/2 miles one way that takes you through different elevations and microclimates along with differing vegetation and end up at an elevation from which you can see Molokai and Maui. Try to do it on a sunny day if you want to see Molokai and Maui clearly but it still is wonderful with clouds and mist flowing through the valley. Watch the markers to follow the path correctly. This hike - not difficult unless you are really out of shape -- was better than any of the jeep trips we took. Castle and Cook, if you are involved in the management of this hotel, get out of the way of the normally expert service of Four Seasons. We visited Manele only once, a beach resort full of self-important yuppies. The Lodge and Manele are two very different atmospheres. Don't miss the Hotel Lana'i for dinner - just as good and half the price of the Four Seasons. And, lots of local people. Band on Friday night was really good and loads of fun - everyone danced up a storm, young, mid-age, and older.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a corner room - exceptional if you like more space. We faced the front, over look...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Otel, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.