We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lanai City
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Mountain retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We split our stay between the Lodge and Manele Bay. While both resorts are fantastic, our next trip will be spent at the Lodge. The rooms are very cozy, colorful,and spacious with porches and rocking chairs. The main room has two tremendous fireplaces on either side with comfortable chairs so you can just sit and chat with friends or take a nap. Service is top notch and the restaurant and bar is excellent. If you want to lounge at the beach, a shuttle will take you to Manele Bay for the day.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

643 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    544
    64
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
113
390
10
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

The Lodge up in the hills of Lanai City is one of the most beautiful and tranquil places where we have ever stayed. We felt that four nights was about right. The rooms are beautifully appointed and are spacious. The decor is a Provencal theme. The L'Occitaine Lemon Verbain soap was a real treat. Our room was very close to the exercise room where you could get an apple-a-day and ice water. The grounds are beautiful, and you can walk a loop every day. Also, there is a hiking trail that leads up to some spectacular scenery. It is a hike uphill but is well worth it. So . . .take deep breaths as you enjoy the beauty of the highlands. If you want more hustle and bustle and sun and heat, just hop the shuttle to the other Four Seasons resort. I guarantee that you will want to return to The Lodge after a day in the sun.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms facing the interior of the property and on the first floor because you can go out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

Dreamlike beds, lovely grounds, seamless service and the freshest air you will ever breathe. Be sure to hike the trail. I was reluctant about being bored, and found I needed the serenity. The Lodge delivers just that. You get a change of pace and sunny beach at Manele...fabulous as well. Also thought it would be a pain to get to...not so. The Lodge delivers just that. I hope they don't change a thing. You don't have to break the bank either, they offer so many amenities right there. You can hike (free), snorkel, swim, lounge in the billiard room, play croquet...so much more than you'd think. You can eat in town, or take advantage of specials too.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LodgeatKoele, Resort Manager at Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, responded to this review, January 4, 2012
Aloha TuckandRoll,

Mahalo for your wonderful feedback about your recent stay with us. Between the abundance of upcountry activities (hiking, golf, horseback riding, UTV rides, croquet, etc.) there is plenty to do to stay active, or as you mentioned, you can relax and unwind at the beach or perhaps at The Spa. And the best part, getting a fabulous night's sleep on our signature beds. Thank you for recognizing our staff as well, they were recently recognized in Travel + Leisure for World's Best Service in Hawaii. We look forward to welcoming you back again to sunny Hawaii, especially during the cold winter months in Boston.

Warmest aloha,

Alice Bouman
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, Hawai'i
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

I had the privilege of staying at the Lodge at Ko'ele this past week and all of the reviews I have heard about leading up to my trip were confirmed. I feel that the best asset the Lodge has is the warm hospitality of its staff. Come to Lana'i and experience the hotel for yourself...you will not regret it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

This lodge is a real gem! We have been 10 times and have had a great experience every time. I bring my family but it is perfect for couples & even honeymooners. My kids love the very large grounds. There are walking paths, an orchid room, a game room with board games like chess, bikes for loan, etc. There is a free bus shuttle to take to the Sister Beach resort (which has a kids club) but we like to stay up at the Lodge and enjoy the cool air and beauty of the high-county. For a fee there are trail rides and skeet shooting. The horses and equipment are very nice quality. The Lodge is BEAUTIFUL and well maintained. The staff is friendly. The restaurants are excellent but service can be slow. Great place to relax.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

We are from Hawaii (Oahu) but Lanai is our favorite island. We usually travel there in November for our wedding anniversary but we decided to do it in December because we heard about how lovely the Christmas decorations were. The trees were beautiful and the fireplace just made it feel extra cozy, especially when you smell that wood burning. It truly feels like you're in another world. There are no noisy cars, buses, or airplanes. The staff is very friendly and will go out of their way to accommodate you. I usually have trouble sleeping in hotels, but the bed is so comfortable, you will drift off in no time. If you're not the type to enjoy the cold, all you need to do is catch the shuttle to the Manele Bay hotel and sit by the pool, or go for a swim in the ocean; two totally different climates on one island.

Room Tip: We stayed on both sides of the hotel, upstairs and down. Frankly, there is no tip to choose a good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011 via mobile

Everytime I go on vacation somewhere I unfairly compare it to the Lodge at Koele. I've never found matched tranquility and service since my stay in Lanai. :)

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Venere and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.