We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Reasons to Stay at the Four Seasons-Lodge at Koele” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Third Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Miami, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“4 Reasons to Stay at the Four Seasons-Lodge at Koele”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

I have to admit I was not sure what to expect from the Lodge on my beach & sand minded Hawaiian trip. Boy were we pleasantly surprised and found our new favorite stop while visiting HI. I was expecting to spend a lot of my time down at Manele Bay and the other resort left a lot to be desired. The one thing we did love about Manele was that every morning spinner dolphins would come to play in the shallows and you could see tons of them frolicing. We wanted to rush back up to the Lodge and spend our time there.

If you get a moment walk the grounds where there are beautiful gardens, trees, a green house with orchids, water falls, and so much beautiful lush greenery. The Lodge also offers afternoon tea, which we loved. You couldn't get us out of the game room (shuffle board) either. There are tons of activities such as horse back riding, horse drawn carriage, putt putt course, sporting clays, archery, hiking, off roading and many more fun things to choose from.

4 Reasons:
1. Gorgeous grounds and a peaceful place--totally serene.
2. Fantastic golfing where you can golf at Manele Bay and have spectacular views of the ocean and then golf the Experience at Koele and feel like you are in the mountains with pine trees and 20 degrees cooler.
3.Beautiful spacious rooms
4. Excellent value for a luxury stay.

The dining options not so great. Our favorite meal was at Lanai City Grill, so we kept going over and over. There is also a Poke market that was a great spot for lunch. The restaurant at 4S was not great. Don't waste your time or money there. Eat up at Lanai City Grill and try the kalua pork wontons, the fish dip, the fresh catch of the day and the yummy ribs. Oh and don't forget dessert...the made to order chocolate chip cookie--a la mode was divine.

Don't hesitate and book the Lodge today! You won't regret it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    575
    66
    23
    7
    5
See reviews for
118
413
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ramstein-Miesenbach, Germany
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

Traveling to Hawaii is always a magical experience. Each island offers its own beauty and unique characteristics. The island of Lanai is a "private" island, and is not overrun with tourists, the way that the other main islands are.

Lanai, in and of itself, is one of few isolated tropical paradises located within the United States.

Though this is a pricey place to play, Lanai has two main hotels worth every penny it costs to stay there. Be certain to play golf and relax at the beach, even though it is tempting to remain in your luxurious room the entire trip!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

We've stayed at so many wonderful Hawaiian resorts such as Kahala and Halekulani, but my sweetie and I both agree that the Lodge at Koele is our favorite Hawaiian getaway. Our suite was perfection in every way: spacious, perfectly laid out, sumptuous bathrooms, glorious views, window seat to dream upon, and so much more.
The restaurant offered delicious options, the pool setting was serene and calming, the front porch and Hawaiian pillows added a special touch, the golf course smashing, and the Hawaiian crafts offered as an activity were fun and unusual. We rode horses on the island and felt like the Hawaiian Cowboys (Paniolo)s of old. We even learned to lawn bowl. Great memories. Whole experience highly recommended by me!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

We just spent a week at this magnificent lodge and will absolutely be returning in the future. This was my family's first visit to Hawaii, and while we looked forward to some time in a tropical paradise, the standard tourist oriented mega-resorts did not appeal to us. The peacefulness and serenity of this magnificent English-manor styled resort was perfect. A tranquil setting amidst the towering Cook pines and banyan trees was further enhanced by the well-groomed and lovely grounds surrounding the Lodge. Our appetite for beach activities was easily sated with a quick trip down to Koele's sister property (Four Seasons at Manele Bay) aboard the shuttles provided by the resort. Our every need and desire were readily accommodated by staff. A wonderful experience!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

…yes this too is Hawaii. We really enjoyed this part of Lanai and this hotel. It showed us a side of Hawaii that we were not familiar with. The lodge reminds me of the American Club in Kholer Wisconsin a little; it has a stately feel to it. Along with that comes a slightly older crowd and a more peaceful atmosphere.
We enjoyed dinning there along with their tea service. We found the food to be very good, but expect to pay $20 for a burger and almost $60 for a steak. Its true tea is about $22 a person but that is line with what you pay in most large US cites and it was a true full tea service. The food was slightly better than their sister hotel at the beach (we also stayed there) and the wait staff was much better to be sure.
We had a junior suite that was very well maintained and nicely appointed. The hotel in general was very well maintained and had lovely public spaces.
Ask about the nature hike, you will be rewarded with a beautiful view of Maui. We had the chance to drive around the island which was very nice however you can have a perfectly wonderful time just relaxing at the lodge itself. The golf course is great and they offer other activities, some worth the price others not so much. If you are on the fence about this one I say, ’go for it’. We had a wonderful 20th anniversary there and would return.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
honolulu, hawaii
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2011

The staff at The Lodge At Koele is awesome, always greeting people with a smile, the rooms are very clean, a lot of activity's to do , two great golf courses , The Experience At Koele, and The Challenge At Manele Bay, My family of eight really enjoyed our stay, for my wife and i it was our third trip to Koele since June of 2009, first time for my daughter and four grandchildren and sister, which are already talking about returning. Michiyo did a wonderful job checking all of us in, and also checking us out, wonderful personality , all bellman took good care of us, Misa, Leo, Manny , outstanding workers, all our shuttle drivers were very nice. Adde the cart attendant at Koele golf course was very very nice and caring to my wife and me, she has a very nice personality. The residents of Lanai is so friendly, i must say it's the nicest people in all of hawaii, it's the most peaceful island that i have ever been on.

Room Tip: Garden view rooms facing the mtn very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
83 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

One of the other guests said it best, "This has got to be the most peaceful place on earth!" My wife and I would probably agree -- at least it's one of the most peaceful places that an ordinary person who doesn't own a yacht or your own private island can find that has comes with its own five star accommodations.

To catch the picture, remember that the Island of Lanai is almost entirely privately owned by Castle and Cooke who pretty much run the place. So, essentially, a visitor to Lanai is free to roam a 165 square mile island resort on which only a total of approximately 360 rooms are made available for overnight guests (in two resorts and one small hotel). Visitors to Lanai, in other words, pretty much have the run of the place. And because the 3000 permanent residents almost all are employed directly (some indirectly) in caring for the visitors, this is a true welcome place where you become part of their Ohana (family) during your stay.

We were pleased with the Lodge. It's certainly not beachfront Hawaii -- although you can see the ocean from the front yard. We've been told that the temperature drops a degree for every 100 foot change in elevation so be prepared for The Lodge to be close to 15 degrees cooler than the beach at Manele Bay. But every half hour there's a shuttle that will get you there for a meal, a walk on the beach, a romp in the surf, or a round of golf. So you really can have it all.

One advantage of The Lodge is that it is only a 3/4 mile walk from the center of town with local restaurants, gift shops, groceries (for your own in room snacks) and even a laundromat.

As noted by others, there are some lapses in the five star treatment due to the Four Seasons incredibly ambitious goal of running top notch resorts with a very small and limited employment base. For instance, we never did discover the arrival gift bag that others spoke about and newspaper delivery was hit and miss (mostly miss). And as for the climate control system, I think you had to remember that that for the Lanaians, an HVAC system consists mainly of opening or closing windows!

Yet overall we have never found staff more genuinely eager to assist and solve any problem. The fact that some of the younger employees seemed quickly out of their league in trying to help was both charming and, frankly, refreshing. And, despite what some others apparently observed, we never noticed that, apart from a couple of experienced waiters, anyone was hustling for tips. Indeed, a few seemed almost embarrassed when we did recognize them with a tip.

So for the opportunity to share in true Hawaiian local culture and hospitality and to experience a pace of life where people are literally walking only half as fast as they do on Waikiki, The Lodge at Koele seems pretty much unbeatable. (And that's without even mentioning the ubiquitous orchids, the charm of the great hall and the acres of manicured grounds.)

And , by the way, I never did figure how you develop a sustainable business plan out of running a town of 3000 people and an island of 165 square miles purely on the income generated by 350 hotel rooms and a few luxury condos and vacation homes. Indeed It's not surprising that Castle and Cooke seem to be trying to develop new revenue streams (aqua farming and wind generation being two current proposals that are stirring up considerable local objection.) So, if I were you, I'd take advantage of this amazing opportunity to visit Lanai in true style and splendor while it's still there. In the new economy that type of opportunity (unfortunately) may not last much longer!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele

Address: 1 Keomoku Hwy, Lanai City, Lanai, HI 96763
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Lanai > Lanai City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Lanai City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele is the essence of unexpected Hawaii. Set in the verdant upcountry, The Lodge is reminiscent of a country manor, surrounded by towering pines and offering estate activities such as championship golf, horseback riding and clay shooting. Residential style accommodations are surrounded by manicured gardens. The wrap-around verandah is ideal for relaxing, while inside, guests can sit fireside for afternoon tea or delight in live nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele
Four Seasons Resort Lana`i, The Lodge At Koele Hotel Lanai City
Four Seasons Koele
Four Seasons Lanai City
Lanai City Four Seasons
Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge At Koele Lanai, Hawaii

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Lana'i, The Lodge at Koele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.